We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Guest House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hem Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hem Guest House to your Saves list
Hem Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Near Keshariya Nath Jain Temple Daftariyon Ka Mohalla | Moti Chowk, Jodhpur 342001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 151 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Guest House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed here at the end of August and it was a truly wonderful experience. The family that owns and runs the B&B are very friendly and try very hard to make you feel right at home, which I did. The room was very comfortable as was the bed. The a/c worked very well and bathroom even though small had a good shower (there was no shelf to put your stuff on), and like the room, was very clean. They have a roof top area for dinning which had the best view of the fort. They are a Jain family so they are strict vegans, so don't expect even eggs for breakfast. I also had dinner there and it was very excellent and was a reasonable price. It is not a far walk to the clock tower/market area and to the Fort, however, it can be confusing as the streets are very winding with no street signs. I did walk to the Fort but took a tuk-tuk back to save time and it was hot. Bring water!! I highly recommend the guest house for either solo or couple, I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    43
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
75
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed at Hem in early March as a solo traveler on two separate occasions of a total of 2 nights. I greatly appreciated the very personal experience offered by the family and the location of the guesthouse. Needless to say, the view from the roof terrace of the Fort is magnificent. In a nice day, you could just seat up there marveling the view and watching the day go by through the change of shades over the Fort. But there is more, you can do so while sipping chai and ordering drinks and snack food from the kitchen. Yes, this is where you can enjoy three meals a day, cooked by Rishi's mom. The room may be basic but tastefully decorated and bed is very comfortable. The location is excellent, surrounded by shops and markets, and 10 minutes walk to the main market. I walked from the house to the Fort twice, going through narrow lanes and receiving VIP attention from local kids, all so beautiful inside out. The host family is a true embodiment of the lovely city of Jodhpur, simple, warm, unpretentious, proud, and full of energy. The stays at Hem Guest House made Jodhpur my favorite city in Rajasthan!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just a quick night here between Delhi and Jaisalmer, but we enjoyed every bit...Vipin and Rishi were such friendly hosts, whom we loved talking with. They helped us to make the most of our day in Jodhpur and then welcomed us back with a delicious dinner on the rooftop terrace, with beautiful views of the fort. We had a 5 am train the next morning, but they were up and had chai and a small breakfast ready for us. True hospitality!

Just an FYI if it's important: Wi-fi access was spotty but they did make an effort to get me connected.

Room Tip: Our room was very nice...they didn't have any rooms with two beds but it was fine for a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Hem Guesthouse for 3 nights in feb 2012. Rishi and Vishnu and their family made our stay wonderful.. Especially cute baby, Ladoo! We really liked the family run aspect of the guesthouse. The food made by Rishi's mother and wife was delicious and so was the chai which they gave you in nice big mugs! Rishi took us to his factory outlet stores and showed us where to buy good souvenirs. He even helped me with organizing shipping things home. I can't praise this family enough for running such a great guest house. I would go back to jodhpur just to stay there!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

i highly recommend this as a place to stay in Jodhpur. The family are so kind and helpful and will look after you really well! The roof terrace has probably best view of the fort and we ate at the guest house both nights of our stay and had delicious home cooked meals on both occasions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is one of those instances, where the business is dependent more on foreigners than locals as , although the hosts were very nice, but they did not deliver as promised.
First the good - room is excellent, bathroom very clean, you have some view of the fort from the tiny balcony.
The stay included breakfast, we explained to the family that we would be leaving at 8 AM to see the fort and needed the breakfast before 8 AM, the family went out for a wedding party the night before and did not come back until late,hence when we left the house in the morning, everyone was asleep and we had to buy our breakfast from elsewhere. They did not even apologize or make up for it in any way.
Second instance which bothers me still is, My trousers got wet, as their bathroom did not have a stopper for water and it can leak out of the door, I left the trousers on the suitcase to dry, in the afternoon when we came to pick the suitcase, the trousers were not there, probably moved by someone who came to clean the room etc. the owner promised to mail me the trousers to an address in Mumbai. but never actually sent them. I was really unhappy about it, but overall great place.

One more thing. Its very painful to get here, the house is in the middle of the old city, cars cannot come via the narrow lanes, so something to keep in mind when travelling with luggage.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Cozy and peaceful place in the middle of Jodhpur. Family is really helpful and nice, and they serve excellent & tasty home-made Indian food. Lot of choices even though everything is prepared from scratch by the family's mother when you make an order (might take a bit more time than in regular hotels of course), taste their home-made ice-creams, really good! Rooms are nicely decorated in Indian way and there is a quiet roof-top terrace in the building, from where you can see the beautiful panorama of this "blue city".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hem Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hem Guest House

Address: Near Keshariya Nath Jain Temple Daftariyon Ka Mohalla | Moti Chowk, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hem Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hem Guest House, a family owned-and-run guesthouse & roof-top restaurant, full of the love and welcome that makes India so wonderful and a trip here so unique. As an honored guest in their home you will be afforded every luxury, comfort and convenience needed or desired to make your stay in Jodhpur, Rajasthan and India an experience you will cherish for the rest of your long life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hem Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hem Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.