We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Jain cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jhankar Choti Haveli

Jhankar Choti Haveli
Makarana Mohalla | Behind Clocktower, Jodhpur 342001, India
09828031291
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 178 Restaurants in Jodhpur
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Continental, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Jhankar' speaks itself for the impression of Indian ethnic design and great food restaurants in Jodhpur. In short span of time JHANKAR has claimed its presence as one of the best fine dining restaurants in Blue City and also in the well established market of Jodhpur restaurants with a bang. Ambience of JHANKAR is enlivened by rich Indian culture which is very strong and diversified all over the world. Our Indian restaurants in Blue City both open air restaurant and indoor also host a lounge bar in Jodhpur which offers complete range of beverages and cocktails and is one of the best bars in Jodhpur, Jhankar also has two banquet halls, party halls and open terrace restaurants in Jodhpur.We welcome you to "JHANKAR..Choti-haveli" RESTAURANT" for an unforgettable fine dining experience of great Indian food.Jodhpur based Jhankar restaurants also has a private dining space for families, corporates and private parties."JHANKAR..Choti-haveli" Restaurant at its peak of its credibility already established its credentials as the house of QUALITY FOOD and SERVICES, with the upcoming demand of Jodhpur restaurants under hospitality sector we guarantee you total SATISFACTION, QUALITY, PROFESSIONALISM and of course GREAT FOOD.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Good Jain cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

If you don't mind a vegetarian meal then pop here for dinner. Great food and a good view of the fort. The only think I'd suggest to the management is warm the plates and serving dishes. On a chilly January evening on the roof the food goes cold within minutes of putting it on your plate. Not a big issue, but would make dinner that bit more enjoyable.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    62
    15
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
3,126 reviews 3,126 reviews
1,100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
8,124 helpful votes 8,124 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and decor, not so great snack food and drinks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We made an afternoon stop at Jhanker Choti-Haveli Restaurant based on the positive reviews found by our fellow TA members unfortunately we didn't have as good a luck during our visit as others seemed to have had. While we found the ambiance quite nice, we didn't have as much luck with the food and drink orders, finding them to be either incorrectly made of poorer quality.

Upon walking into Jhanker Choti-Haveli, we found a nice outdoor arrangement of tables, a well decorated indoor dining area on the ground floor and two levels of upstairs dining with fews of the fort. Those this restaurant scored well on the ambiance factor and generally put their efforts into creating a nice atmosphere.

Unfortunately, the same efforts didn't seem to go into our food and drink orders. We started with a couple drinks, ordering a banana w/honey lassi (60 rupee) that turned out to be just a banana shake. There was no yoghurt, just blended milk - a bit of a shame. The drink wasn't bad but it also wasn't what we wanted (rating 2.5 of 5). We also ordered a Makhani w/honey lassi (60 rupee) that was very sweet w/ grains of raw sugar still in the drink and served very, very thick - similar to the famous Shri Mishrilal Hotel in Sardar Market. The drink tasted similar but not as nice a flavor. While some might enjoy this thick style of lassi, it wasn't something we particularly enjoyed that much (2.5 of 5). We did manage to find a great makhani lassi during our cooking lesson at Spice Paradise. We'd suggest trying this experience and enjoying the lassis here if you have time.

A bit worried about the food, based on our drink order, we just tried a single order of Veg Pokora (80 rupee). Our worries were confirmed. While this order came out as a generous serving size, it tasted very bland for Indian cuisine, lacking spice and flavor. It was served with a chili sauce that tasted of watered down ketchup, just not very nice. Overall, this was a poor dish that should have been given much more effort (2 of 5).

We ended our visit to Jhanker Choti-Haveli Restaurant with an order of Gulab Jaman (60 rupee), which was served as two medium sized balls with no syrup in the cup. The balls had a fair amount of juice inside and tasted ok (3 of 5). However, we enjoyed much better gulab jaman throughout our trip to India.

In the end, we simply didn't have as much luck at Jhanker Choti-Haveli Restaurant as other reviewers and felt they were not putting much care into the preparation of our food and drinks and the quality showed. Based on our experience, we found no reason to recommend this restaurant. There are better places to spend your time and money while in Jodhpur.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Atmospheric - loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We loved this place and its simple, but nice atmosphere! This old haveli has a little green garden and a rooftop terrace with beautiful views on the fort, nicely decorated and clean interiors. It is a place to go either for a drink, snack or lunch or for a dinner. Curries were good (nothing to die for, but ok), juices fresh, service was friendly, attentive and prices were average. Nice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Food's ok, shame about the mice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This has a nice view of the fort and upstairs seating. The service was average and people seem to be neglected once they have ordered.

The local Rajasthan food was ok but nothing to scream home about.

Beer is served in mugs but I think that this has more to do with the alcohol laws or whether they have a licence.

I sat outside and a little put off by the very large mice that are running around.

Unfortunately this is one of the beeter restaurants I went to.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India-advise, Owner at Jhankar Choti Haveli, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Greetings.
Thanks for your feed back and sorry for the problem you facing.
I will just check now, why you feel this and hope it will be not happend next time.
Due to mice,might be it came from out side due to open space on road side and we will try our best forever that this will not going to happend again at all.
I am again sorry for not offer you our best and try to do our best next time
Wish you merry christmas and happy new year
Manish jain
www.jhankarchotihaveli.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quaint & atmospheric.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Good to average food. We tried the Kersangri (average. watery) & the Rabori (good. watery). Started with soups - Cream of mushroom (average. heavy on garlic) and Veg Manchow (excellent). Got some hot chocolate (mild but they gave more cocoa powder) & tea.

Service was excellent. The waiter was very attentive and quick to serve; extremely apologetic too when one order got slightly delayed.

Prices are very reasonable! 50 Rs for a large cup of hot chocolate in Rajasthan is pretty good (given the prices we have been seeing in Jaisalmer)

And oh - great atmosphere! Great view of the fort from the top & second level. Decor is some weird fusion between rajasthani decor and a discotheque. The ground floor (1st level) is cozy and real nice - with distressed wood furniture and wot not.

28/Dec/12 Dinner

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jhankar Choti Haveli also viewed

 
Jodhpur, Rajasthan
Jodhpur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Jhankar Choti Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jhankar Choti Haveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.