We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So quiet, so gentle, so fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chhotaram Prajapat's Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chhotaram Prajapat's Homestay to your Saves list
Chhotaram Prajapat's Homestay
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Village Salawas, Kumharon ki Dhani | Near Gosala., Jodhpur 342013, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 158 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So quiet, so gentle, so fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This has been the highlight of my trip to Jodphur so far. I was met at my hotel by Chhotaramm and he made me feel instantly comfortable, able to ask any question at all, he is incredibly knowledgeable and enthusiastic with an easy smile and excellent English.
We took his jeep (in the cold) firstly to a new temple that is being built, the stonework is amazing and Chhotta shared the stories of the Bishnoi people, and especially the tree huggers, onto a shepherds family where chappati and fresh milk were served, past lakes and wild life, which is clearly a passion, via another family where the opium ceremony was shown an and eventually to his family home. However don't expect to go to the same families as he regularly changes around to ensure tips are fairly shared into many families.
This is an entrepreneurial family with well deserved success for which they work hard. They are durry weavers and proud of their skills and traditions but also have created a co operative and good tourist business. However they take time to share and explain anything that is asked. There is no pressure to buy a durry....but almost impossible to resist (I failed)!! It was explained that they are part of a co operative of which Chhotorams Dad is the head and clearly the development of the whole community and the craft that they represent and still practice is really important to them.
Lunch was in te kitchen served by Mandaba and Durria, Chhotas Mum and wife. Not only was this veggie meal delicious and interesting but also generous. Durria allowed me to make a black flour chappati (badly) and also showed me a few cooking tips. It was incredibly relaxed. You certainly didn't feel you were a tourist, but for a short while a member of a family.
Towards the end of the visit I was shown the lovely guest accommodation and if I come back I will, without doubt, spend a couple of days there.
Our journey back included going past a pottery where the potter generously showed how he uses his skills.....again not a single question I posed was an issue and in fact I was reassured that the more I asked the better. If you are inquisitive, like me, then this is a perfect trip as it allows you to fill in the gaps of your understanding whilst at the same time having a completely new and inspiring experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    36
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
77
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Rural India and family life in the countryside are best experienced here. I felt much at home and ‘member of the family’ with the people who make this place tick. The day starts with breakfast with all the guests and family members in a routine any big family here starts the day with. The same goes for dinner. This is not a hotel; it is being guest in a family. I much enjoyed talking with the sons and their parents.

The rooms in traditional architecture are decorated with beautiful motifs, hand painted by mother and sons. To see this was the purpose of my visit. Father is director of a cooperative of carpet makers. The art of carpet making can be seen here, and in other locations you will be shown when you take a safari.

Expect amenities to be basic. Food is good. Prices for accommodation are fair considering the long list of what is included. Prices for trips/safaris are a different chapter. If you feel the urge to bargain, you can try your luck in the carpet shop.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the traditional huts, they're great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We had wonderful experience staying with this helpful and cheerful family. Our daughter like this place very much and we want to come back in future. We had our best meals in our one month long trip in India. Surprisingly the house and rooms are clean though located in a village. The hut is lovely decorated in Indian style. We watched the beautiful sunset and sunrise. We are also very impressed that everyone in this family is so gentleman and well mannered. A big thank you to this family! After one month trip in India , we still find this place our best stay in India! Keep your promise and never compromise on your service standard! Be proud of your tradition and bring true wellness to your village fellows!
Mr Huang and family from Singapore

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The people of the house are very helpful. If you are looking for a full fledged service as that of a hotel then this is not the place. If you need to go here you need to adjust. The basic necessities like towel, soap, dustbin, toilet role, mosquito coil, side table, drinking water
were not provided initially. We had to ask for this seperately. Even after that a unclean single towel was provided for two of us. The place is situated around 25 ikm from city so if u have plans to visit city and u dont have ur own vehicle then it is trouble to travel by local bus. Else be ready to spend 2000 rs per day for the cab. The hot water is not avaialble in the hut, again u have to ask seperately for this. Did not feel worth of paying 1400 for such stay 25km away from city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chhotaramp, Owner at Chhotaram Prajapat's Homestay, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guests
Greetings
Thank you for the feedback.
I am disappointed with the fact that you did not enjoy your stay at with us. Because we have traditional homestay where guest stay as part of family and they have traditional experience .

So I have looked into all the problems pointed out by you and doing my best to improve things as soon as possible.

Yours Sincerely
Chhotaram Prajapat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We visted Chhotaram for a short weekend and were blown away by the genuine service and friendliness of the whole family. It was a great expereince and we were very sorry to leave. From the time he picked us up to the point we left, there was nothing that was too much to ask from them... we felt as if we are staying with a distant relatives family.

Chottaram was accomodating even before we reached as we had to move our trip by two weeks, even though we let him know this just 6 days ahead (his policy is minimum 7 days notice) it was great to see that he was willing to move us to our alternative dates and waived his right to charge us full fare for it (this is great customer focus). We took the 1/2 day village safari which was worth it and then took his jeep for a city tour... he took us to all the sites, the best restaurant and shops. Just ask for his recommendation.

We bought some (good value and great quality) rugs from them as they head the local weavers co-operative and it was great to see the money going directly to the producers - again Chotta was fair and never put us under any pressure..

Overall, if you want to expereince real village life in Rajasthan - then this is the place to go!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I had read about this homestay on Tripadvisor but refrained from staying there as being an Indian I have experienced rural life and wanted to be in the heart of Jodhpur. However during our trip to Bishnoi village I was pleasantly surprised that our tour operator took us to this homestay for lunch. Hats off to Chhoturam for creating this wonderful and comfortable homestay. He showed us around and for tourists who want to be away from the bustle of big towns and experience rural India this is a great place to be.
Our lunch was simple and basic peasant fare. It was served with warmth and personal attention. Chhoturams entire family was very gracious and nice to talk to. They make great ambassadors of Indian tradition of treating guests with honour.

Room Tip: Experience village life in India
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We are travellers from Latvia, who had an oportunity to bet guests in Chhotaram Prajapat's Homestay in November 2012 on Diwali time. Actually for myself it was already second visit in his family during the year, so this time I took there a amall tourist group during our trip all around Rajasthan. India is so rich in cultural heritage and wonders of architecture, but after a week of geting known with busy cities people really need a little bit relax out of the hustle and bustle. So it was reaaly nice place for that right in the middle of our trip.
We enjoyed hospitablity of Chhotu family, jeep safari to bishnoi families and wildlife watching, tasting opium drink, climbed up the rock for sunset view, enjoyed food making in the village kitchen, after took dinner of course, tried our hand in painting of rangolas and rugs weaving, fitting up wedding saries. The yard between our huts was lightened in candle lights, so we took really romantic night sleep there and in the morning awaked with birds songs...
Thanks to Prajapat's family for taking care of us! I can advice this homestay for those travellers, who are interested to explore rural village life of Rajasthan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chhotaram Prajapat's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chhotaram Prajapat's Homestay

Address: Village Salawas, Kumharon ki Dhani | Near Gosala., Jodhpur 342013, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chhotaram Prajapat's Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anyone visiting India would be cheating himself or herself if they didn't get a taste of Indian countryside. It's not that difficult. Jodhpur is surrounded by natural beauty on all sides and within a few minutes, one can be up in the village, where peace reigns: the only sounds may be those of the birds or an occasional buffalo. From the aspects of proximity to the city as well as the countryside, access and utter, unspoiled beauty, staying at Chhotaram Prajapat's Homestay in Salawas is a good choice. The little village is just 20 Kms. from city center.For those who enjoy cycling, bird-watching or merely relaxing in the peace and quiet, this area is simply perfect. It moves at the typical slow pace of such villages, and you may remark that a lot of people seem to spend a lot of time just sitting around chatting. Well, they do. Nobody here seems to die of stress! Jodhpur is a fascinating city with much to recommend it, but as with all Indian cities, it is not peaceful, so even if you choose to spend the day shopping or sightseeing, its certainly recommended to travel the short distance to Chhotaram's homestay for a perfect evening and a peaceful night. Cmhomestay has a friendly, intimate atmosphere that will calm and relax you. We can provide lunchtime Tipical Rajasthani food, delicious evening meals. Bicycles available. Laundry service. Massage. Camel-riding and countryside trekking arranged.In the room rates traditional welcome with tica, chai/coffee, breakfast is inclusive. We arrange village safari formally known as a BISHNOI VILLAGE SAFARI at competitive rates.Except all this, you can enjoy shopping, trekking, village safari, visit to historical places, bird watching etc. There are many transport facilities which can make your trip enjoyable and comfortable too. To sum up, Chhotaram Prajapat’s homestay will be memory to cherish which you will never be able to forget for the whole of your life.So what are you waiting, start packing your bags and just land at this heavenly paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Chhotaram Prajapat's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chhotaram Prajapat's Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.