We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicely welcomed; well interiored” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banar Road, Jodhpur 342027, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Jodhpur
Kathmandu, Nepal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nicely welcomed; well interiored”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Gateway welcomed us with drinks. The entrance of the hotel was awsome. The room and the bathroom was an average one. We used the pool there because it was close by the room. The pool is outdoors. The food of the hotel was very good. In the evening we took typical rajasthani dinner on the suggestion of one of the incharged person there. The food was made medium spicy on our request. The other day breakfast buffet was also filled with variety of food. We bought some jodhpuri jutis in the hotel itself and the sandles were reasonable. A musician was playing the Gadar tune and there was the katputali act also in the garden of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Madam,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.
While perusing through your review,we were extremely thrilled to note your kind words of appreciation pertaining to the warm welcome on arrival with the service of seasonal thirst quenchers and delicious Rajasthani thali, handcrafted to perfection by our masterchef specialising in regional homemaker's cuisine.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.
Kindest Regards,
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    108
    46
    14
    7
See reviews for
94
79
6
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nice hotel to stay. We have taken monsoon package in which 3rd night stay was free:)
As it was raining heavily they have assist us very nicely n they have given warm welcome. The staffs are very friendly. The food in restaurant was really good. So overall nice n relaxing stay:)

Room Tip: If possible take room on 1st floor garden view.:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.
While perusng through your review , we were extremely thrilled to note your kind words of appreciation pertaining to the warm welcome on arrival and the quality and tasteof cuisine served in therestaurant

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.
Kindest Regards
Indranil Ray
General manager







We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had opted for a off season package of this lovely place which although is away from the city as such is a perfect family getaway. The presentation of the staff, the elegant rooms and great food added to the usual Taj culture made this stay a perfect value for money package for me. An auto (10 seater) from the gate of this hotel hired for a day of sight seeing was available for less than Rs.1000 and an airport drop Rs 400. As the local sightseeing was taken care of in a day the next 2 days were spent by us enjoying the lawns and an auto upgraded suite.The Gym was good but the swimming pool put me off a little bit. All in all a great property with a wholehearted recommendation for a Gateway Taj experience..

Room Tip: cant comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Dr Pandit,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We are in receipt of your valuable feed back and review and are extremely thrilled with your kind words of appreciation especially pertaining to the warmth displayed by staff and signaure Ta hospitality extended by the team aprt from the comfort in the stay experiences
We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.
We have take cognizance of thepoints pertaining to the swimming pool and be rest assured, that this is being addressed with utmost urgency.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

kindest regards
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Even though property is 10 km+ distance from town, it is very good location, affordable in off season,good property to stay with family. Got an upgrade to suite.

Enjoyed calm location, very co-operative staffs, fast services, good swimming pool.

Play area.

enjoyed Rajasthani Thali in restaurant.

Room Tip: ground floor has direct view of garden, morning you can see peacock & other birds .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.
While perusing through your review, I did notice that you had mentioned the ten kms plus distance from the main city hub. This is true. However, the peace and quiet factor in the hotel is totally a plus point. In fact, we are located amidst an oasis of tranquility and thus, the hotel is an ideal getaway for a quick relaxed weekend and is an ideal spot to soothen the stress factor.
We were extremely thrilled to noteyour kind words of appreciation for the Rajasthani thali and shall convey your complimets to the chef.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.
Kindest Regards
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hotel completely lacks the vibrancy and warmth of other Taj hotels.

While we decided to take a stroll in the night around the pool, we walked through the dining corridors to reach there and found the place infested with insects of all kinds. It completely grossed me out and we rushed back to the room.

The plumbing in the bathroom was totally off and I was surprised to see such badly maintained showers in a Taj property!

One particular staff (whose name I didn't bother to note), deserves a special mention for his rudeness. I think his behavior soured up the experience in total for us.

The only feature that was up to mark was the housekeeping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Mr Kirsche,
We would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. At the outset please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

I was extremely perturbed to know about the points mentioned by you and have taken the matter very seriously with the concerned departmental heads especially pertaining to the insects by the poolside and the plumbing issues that affected the stay experience and have initiated corrective action. I have also commenced a revisit of our brand standards and checklists to ensure these lapses on our part do not occur again.
was aghast to note that there has been a behavorial issue that has come to light, irrespective
that as a hospitality major that emphasises greatly on courtesy , responsiveness and warmth amongst its training for the associates, especially thefront line team,this kind of an issue is simply unthinkable. owever, I would greatly obliged if you could elaborate a little more on thesubject especialy the interaction and the apearanceof the associate so that it could aid us in our quest to identify the root cause .
It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations and that this does not happen again.

Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur is extremely important to us and I request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration. I look forward to meeting up with you during your next stay with us and assure you of our finest services at all times.

kindest regards,
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinhal Novo, Portugal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A very good but light meal and a very polite employee in the restaurant is one of the best moments we've had in this hotel. After that, a nice walk in the gardens and a good night sleep gave us the relax we needed for the following day of journey in india. The hotel corridors also should be visited, since there are a couple of decoration items that worth being seen and eventually photographed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
DEAR MR NOVO PINHAL,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations. Your comment about the overall services and staff delights me and it gives me great pleasure to share your kind thoughts with the team members and I am sure they will be delighted to hear it.

It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations.
Your review does mention the grand coridors and the worksof at that can be photographed while ona walk through. we thank you once again for a most wonderful review.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assuring you the best attention and services at all times

kindest regards
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Gateway chain from Taj, gives you a higher bar to start with in expectations.
Well I walked into the Hotel with jackedup expectations, but to my pleasant surprise I was in for a much better experience.
The property although a new construction, is built in palatial style and it has achieved the desired effect.
The staff makes the real difference, sharp and courteous, ready to treat the guests like VIPs, is something which I shall remember for a long time.
Food was good and even made to order in the buffet.

Overall I would recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Go in off season
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mr Sanjeev,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations. Your comment about the overall services and staff delights me and it gives me great pleasure to share your kind thoughts with the team members and I am sure they will be delighted to hear it.

It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations.
I have noted your keen observations on the look and feel of the buiding and your appreciation onthe palatial concept of the architecture. In fact,the contruction of the bulding was done keping in mind the palatial monuments that were the hallmarks of the achitectural heritageof Rajasthan owned by the nobility in the era gone by. Hafeez Contractor, one of the legendary architects of modern India designed this building.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assuring you of the best attention at all times,
kindest regards

Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur

Address: Banar Road, Jodhpur 342027, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.