We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So - so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dhillon House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dhillon House to your Saves list
Dhillon House
3, Central School Scheme | Central School Road, Jodhpur 342011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 91 Hotels in Jodhpur
Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So - so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Pros:

1. Located at posh area away from mad city traffic
2. Neat and clean rooms
3. Decent room prices

Cons:

1. Lousy service - Requested for early tea and milk (for kid) because of early departure @ 6 AM but request was ignored.
2. No hot water in the morning as the service boys didn't care to run the boilers.

I stayed here for one night on 5th Nov 2013.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We lived here two nights. The room is nice, the people friendly and the yard very cozy for sitting outside in the evening. A little outside the city but with a tuk-tuk it's no problem. The breakfast is also nice. Feels like home :-) Thanks for a nice stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Thanks to tripadvisor, I settled upon Dhillon House for my stay in Jodhpur. Primarily because I liked how it sounded from reviews and it suited my budget of 1500-2000. I found two great rooms for a little less than my anticipated budget in a city where the hotel prices are on the higher side and a tad overrated. Like in any major city/town of India. But Dhillon House, a family run private, comfortable, homely niche from the usual hotel scene, is a relief. It is close to the airport and easily reached via road.

Since it is situated near the polo ground and airport, that part of Jodhpur is serene and uncluttered. The city itself is not to my taste...an overgrown town with all modern constructional liberties, eyesores and disturbances. So Dhillon House scores high in this regard.

The ambience is soothing...becalming...healing, the rooms are clean and large, almost like home...the bathrooms spotlessly clean and equipped, and a central lawn with gazebos to spend your evening restfully.

Vicky, the man who manages the day-to-day show along with other staff also is the cook, is courteous and helpful.

The food is freshly prepared as per your order...so your choice needs be told a little ahead so that appropriate raw material purchases can be made and prepared. And the food is excellent...totally fell in love with the home-cooked quality and gentle flavours. Looked smelt and tasted delicious. And was rather healthy...no extra oils, spices, overcooking-undercooking...great simple home food. For all the personalized effort and great quality, the price of food is reasonable. Vicky's the man behind it...the man for all seasons...the "Man Friday" for a tourist who might be getting travel weary. In fact Dhillon House is a quiet, serene, peaceful, clean, comfortable, unpretentious....just nine niche rooms...but high on quality of service at a great price.

Considering also the fact that it is so well connected with minimum driving fuss (till the confusion of Jodhpur's city centre consumes and peeves you) to the main attractions of the city and also to places like Dhawa Doli Wildlife Sanctuary etc., Dhillon House is my unreserved recommendation for Jodhpur.

I took two rooms here and if I return to visit Jodhpur again, as I plan to next summer to spend some time at Dhawa Doli Sanctuary, this is the place I'll be staying in again. Nothing else for me in Jodhpur on this trip. Jodhpur's attractions are outside the city. But don't forget the Mehrangarh fort and Flying Fox zipadventure there. Young Sam from England is running the Flying Fox show at the fort for the past two years. Pleasant chap too.

Room Tip: Ground floor around the central lawn are worthy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have stayed at multiple hotels and guest houses in Jodhpur. I have to admit that Dhillon House is the cleanest and most customer friendly place I have ever stayed in Jodhpur. I stayed at Dhillon house for 5 days, as part of my last visit in May 2013. I will be staying here in my future visits to Jodhpur and highly recommend this place for their cleanliness and hospitality.

Room Tip: If you have any special requirements/expectations, just drop a note to the guest house e-mail id in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I along with my family stayed here for 1 night.The Hotel Rooms are excellent.The Hotel is basically a residence extension of the Property Owner.The location is quite good.The hotel kitchen serves veg food but the food is quite pricey so we opted for dining at a nearby restaurant.The restaurant was very good and the tariff was very much affordable.Overall our stay at Dhillon House was excellent.
Regards

Joydip Majumder
Durgapur

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for a night and we really liked it. The owner's mum prepared the dinner (payable) and it was so delicious (since it is home cooked). We felt like we were right at home and even though it was cold, dining at the lawn made it like we are having a picnic. They are very generous with the dishes too and gave us more with no additional charges :)

The room which we got was on level 1 so it was very convenient especially when we needed something from the owner. It was a simple room but good enough for a night stay. They do not have a hair dryer though. Wifi is available and so is a tv with cable.

Overall, I wouldn't mind staying here again even if it was for a longer period.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The rooms were clean and vicky provided us good service whenever required. Apart from that, there is nothing to rave about. Since the food was a little pricey, we decided to explore restaurants outside but had a difficult time finding a suitable place. The guest house is a good place to relax with gardens and a good neighborhood, but is far from everything exciting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dhillon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhillon House

Address: 3, Central School Scheme | Central School Road, Jodhpur 342011, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 91 Hotels in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Dhillon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dhillon House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.