We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing retreat from the chaos of Indian cities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chandelao Garh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chandelao Garh to your Saves list
Chandelao Garh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   VPO Chandelao, Jodhpur 342027, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“An amazing retreat from the chaos of Indian cities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in September 2012. It was a really nice break from the chaos of Indian cities. I really appreciated Pradhuman's hospitality. He really made me feel welcome. The food was fantastic as was the value.

I highly suggest a brief respite at Chandelao Garh for any travelers tired of the noisy streets of India or being hassled to buy junk they don't want.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    34
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
51
77
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I can only partially agree with the other reviews given for Chandelao Garh. We have stayed two nights in Chandelao. The estate is impressive and it's certainly a peaceful escape from the hustle and bustle of the pulsating Indian cities. It was already stated that Chandelao is around 40 kms from Jodhpur and I just want to add for all those who are not so familiar with the Indian traffic and road conditions, that this equals to 45-60 mins drive. Please also try to arrive during daytime, we arrived in the dark and even for our experienced driver it was hard to find.
Having said all that, this was known to us before we decided for Chandelao Garh.

The reason for saying it could be managed better is a different one. Especially the bathrooms could be maintained better and could be kept cleaner. In our case we had a thin layer of black fungus spread over the bathroom tiles and the toilet was not 100% clean. The water jet in the shower was also not really good and the towels were pretty old.
Also, our room was not cleaned from one day to the next, which I can say from the fact that a rather big insect, that I had killed on the first evening was lying there until we left.

While I accept that you have to compromise a bit on the countryside, I believe the above could be easily fixed.

Additionally I have to say that unfortunately the food was also not really impressive. We had much much better food elsewhere during our India trip.

The main reason for the 2-star rating however is the indiscreetness of the so called "manager" of the place. I don't want to go into detail but the questions, that he asked my fiancé, are none of his business and very unprofessional.

Maybe we were just there at the wrong time and a bit unfortunate. The estate as such is very nice, it has a lot of antique furniture. If you are there, don't miss a stroll through the small village of Chandelao.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pradumanchandelao, Owner at Chandelao Garh, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could
have been.

I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.
Thankyou for liking Chandelao village.We have now started to work on providing green energy(solar) for the village household and are having sessions in the village school
on recycling the plastic waste.

We have looked into the cleanliness of the rooms and will now pay more attention to it.
also the manager and the staff has been briefed on way to behave with the guests.
Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that
the remainder of your travel to rajasthan was very good.
if you travel to rajasthan again please feel free to contact me.
regards

Praduman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have read the many positive reviews about this place, this was the primary reason for our staying their for 2 nights at the end of our 4 week Rajasthan trip. Let me confirm all the positive things are true. I don't need to reendorse the facilities, the rooms or the location, but I would like to comment about the service. Things were pretty quiet when we were there, early monsoon, and unfortunately we didn't get to experience the rooftop dinners, or buffet dinners. What we did get was meals prepared by Sajjan, (please let me have spelt that correctly), who is Pradumans mum, and the company of both when we were dining. Again I endorse the many positive things said about the willingness to embrace the tourist as part of the home, but I have to say that we have been to India a number of times now to many different regions and never, repeat never, have we had better food. Sajjan told us that it was her mother in law her that taught her all those years ago and she must have had the magic touch. Make the journey from Jodhpur for the food alone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Chandelau Garh certainly lived up to the excellent reviews we'd read. We were picked up as arranged at Jodhpur stations at 10 p.m. and enjoyed a very interesting journey to the village in the dark. On arrival, at about 11 p.m., we were welcomed by Praduman, the owner, and some of the other guests, who were sitting round an open fire, and immediately offered a drink and a meal. A great start, and things only got better. Great rooms, beautifully appointed, really nice meals taken in the open air dining room, attentive, friendly staff, and an unspoiled, uncommercial village to explore with really friendly locals, especially the children. Praduman will organise interesting trips into the desert, and you can watch the sun go down from the roof. If you like hustle and bustle,noise and crowds you'd better go somewhere else, but for chilling, it's perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agra
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Chandelaogarh is situated around 40 kms away from Jodhpur towards Ajmer. I stayed there with family for one night. I was driving in the late evening and couldn't easily locate it. In fact there are no signs or board near the place. It is a old haveli converted into a heritage hotel. The owner Mr Singh personally supervises everything. The rooms take you to life some 200 years back. Overall it was a great stay with a different kind of experience and quite economical also compared to what you might pay in Jodhpur.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

we stayed here for 4 nights, it was an experience I will never forget, Mr Singh was a wonderful host. The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for you, Mr Singh even took us in the jeep to visit a nearby village and let us experience it first hand.
The accommodation is first rate and the village children are a delight.
The roof top restaurant was splendid,
We would certainly stay here again if we visited again as it is far away from the busy bustle of Jodhpur and a lovely place.

Room Tip: All rooms are in the former stables and are very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were on a business trip to Jodhpur and decided to visit the Chandelao 40 Km away from main city. Away from city's hassle and in center of the country side.

What a treatment the hospitality was great. the food was yummy and authentic Jodhpuri food. they take care on cleanness and room service. Evening drink was accompanied by the owner himself.

We stayed for 1 night and lovely sky to watch in evening. Perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chandelao Garh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandelao Garh

Address: VPO Chandelao, Jodhpur 342027, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chandelao Garh 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the “real” India with a visit to Chandelao Garh. Only 40 km from bustling Jodhpur this highly rated hotel will enfold you in a different world – the world of the rulers of Rajasthan in a traditional village. Majestic Chandelao Garh is the ancestral home of the landowners of the area, and has been tastefully converted to a modern hotel. But do not expect telephones and televisions – the Garh will provide you with an authentic experience of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in a tranquil village setting. Rooms are tastefully decorated with period furniture, while providing 21st century comfort. The kitchen presents the flavours of traditional Rajasthani cuisine in impeccable style using local produce and spices. The well- kept hotel grounds are filled with flowers and the sounds of peacocks and parrots. Enjoy an evening on the terrace with a drink from the well-stocked bar.A stroll round the village will bring you face to face with the sights and sounds of village India – local craftsmen and women ply their trade, animals graze, women in colourful native dress fetch water from the wells and lakes, children play in the street and everyone welcomes visitors with a friendly greeting.Escape the hubbub of the cities and enjoy the tranquility of Indian village life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Chandelao Garh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandelao Garh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.