We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great room, host with character and great rooftop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yogi's Paying Guest House

Save Saved
You added Yogi's Paying Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yogi's Paying Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Raj Purohit Ji Ki Haveli | Based on fort walls near clock tower Manak Chowk Naya Bas, Jodhpur 342001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 139 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, great room, host with character and great rooftop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in Jodhpur for a couple of nights and were very pleased with this guesthouse. Shop around within the guesthouse for the best value. We booked a room that was huge and had a big shower (with plenty of (hot) water). The neighbourhood is within a few minutes walking from the main square. There's a little shop very nearby (where you also book the Flight of the Gibbon, if you would like to. They offer a discount). The rooftop restaurant is not very speedy with their service. But the atmosphere is good and the view aswell. Food is ok, the standard travellers stuff. Yogi booked a camel safari for us in Osiyan. It was amazing. But more a homestay than a camelsafari. Apart from that detail: we had fun with the family, slept under the starts on the rooftop of their tiny house in the desert and helped out wherever we could around the house & with the camels. The actual safari was a 1-hour ride into the sanddunes. Overall a good stay and helpfull staff!

Room Tip: Shop around within the guesthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    84
    24
    14
    17
See reviews for
16
77
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Yogi's Guest House has an amazing rooftop bar with a view of the fort- always full in the evenings (something I was looking for, being a solo traveller). There are clean bedrooms (the more expensive ones are beautifully decorated), and friendly staff- especially charming Yogi who is keen to help with anything. The whole building is beautiful, definitely the best place I stayed at in Rajasthan. Great location close to the clock tower. Will definitely go back! Would recommend this place to anyone, loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibaba, Manager at Yogi's Paying Guest House, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear rehmat so many thanks that still you remembering us i guess you have a big photo show in London i and we all wish you the best for your photo show and hope you are the biggest photographer in England and thanks for your valuable time to writes for us regards and please visit us again ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent a couple days here in the shadow of the impressive fort of Jodhpur. The room was marginally good, but I think overpriced given the condition of things and the mediocre service (and higher than prices quoted here on Tripadvisor). There was hot water most of the time, but our request for room cleaning was not acknowledged. Still, it was a good location, within walking distance of everything a tourist might want to do in Jodhpur. The rooftop restaurant was perfect for views of the fort, both night and day. The food was not bad and reasonably priced. Some of the other comments here mentioned the warm service, etc., but I did not experience this. All in all, not a bad place. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibaba, Manager at Yogi's Paying Guest House, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear customer thanks for you time for writing for us in all you are right you get what you pay for thanks indeed to tells the truth anyway you didnt mentioned that i gives you a car to jaisalmer for 2000 rupees which is next to impossible but i dont understood why tourist dont writes what we hoteliers do for them whu>????? only bad part anyway i wish you a happy journey and hope next time you only write for some body thanks sir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A warm welcome from the staff who were helpful with the luggage. The guesthouse is full of character, the rooms have good hot water supply and are pleasantly decorated. plenty of blankets if you are cold and there is a lovely rooftop restaurant to sit and relax in. Terrific views of the Fort from here(about a15 minute walk) and a good place for the sunset. Extensive menu and the beer is cold! A great budget choice.

Room Tip: Cooler rooms on the eastern side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibaba, Manager at Yogi's Paying Guest House, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear madam thanks a lot for your precious time to writes for us we are great full to having a happy and nice customers likes you we wish you the best travell arround india and always hopes to see you again with our familly thanks regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The rooms are excellent, the food is veg but is fast and have a great quality. Yogui is crazy and funny and treat you with a lot of love! Good location and guests! He is always helpening you for what you need, arreging tuc tuc and keeping the luggage safe when you are not using the rooms more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibaba, Manager at Yogi's Paying Guest House, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear customer thanks a lot for your precious time to write for us on tripadvisor we are very thankfull of you that you likes to be here and we hope to see you again as always and we wish you a safe and very happy journey to india regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse is well located, has a spectacular view of the fort, the food is quite good on the rooftop, the rooms are good value and very nicely decorated. We bargained for our room and were happy with the final price, which was within our meagre backpacker budget. The room had lovely wooden furniture and a new bathroom (lacking a door but with a screen and curtain to make do).

The manager also booked us a car to udaipur via ranakpur, sharing the cost with 2 other travellers. The driver was excellent, the car was comfortable, and we were so pleased that we'd opened up our wallets a bit wider and chosen the car over the bus. The Ranakpur temples were brilliant and definitely worth the extra money for the car and driver, and the driver took us right to our hotels in udaipur.

We highly recommend Yogi's to other travellers and also the car instead of the bus if you're heading onward to Udaipur.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibaba, Manager at Yogi's Paying Guest House, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear friends thanks a lot for your valueable time for writing for us on trip advisor as this is the best way to know the others and also we are looking forward to see you again here this is your home always and wish you a very happy and fun travelling further on and yes thanks for writing for the car service as you know its the cheap and best really loves to see you both again and we wish you a safe journey regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarbes, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Really nice guesthouse with a lovely rooftop, amazing view on the fort and nice decorations... We wre a little worried when we arrived by night in this little street but at the end the guesthouse is very weel located in the old city, near the path to go to the fort. We stayed 3 nights and we would come back if we travel to Jodhpur again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibaba, Manager at Yogi's Paying Guest House, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear customer and familly thanks for your valueable time which you give us for writing such a wonderfull words we are really greatfull of you having us here as a guest thanks and we wish you a happy and safe journey and wish to see you again here regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yogi's Paying Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi's Paying Guest House

Address: Raj Purohit Ji Ki Haveli | Based on fort walls near clock tower Manak Chowk Naya Bas, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yogi's Paying Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yogi's Guest House is a Five Hundred year old Haveli (very old traditional courtyard) with fabulous Panaromic View of Mehrangarh Fort, Umaid Bhawan Palace, Clock Tower and Old Blue City. Yogi's guest house, a place in time and space in which traditional life style and hospitality meets modern amenities and an international perspective.Yogi's Guest House Located Centrally in heart of Jodhour on the way to the Fort. It is a living Heritage Project, a place in time and space in which traditional life style and hospitality meets modern amenities and an international perspective. The only “ living House " in Jodhpur the private apartments.Overlooking the seemingly invincible Mehrangarh Fort on one side and the gigantic Umaid Bhawan Palace on the other, Yogi's Guest House holds the lingering echoes of a bygone era, like no other placeYogi's Guest House, a place in time and space in which traditional life style and hospitality meets modern amenities and an international perspective. One of the prominent “ living House " hotel in Jodhpur.At Yogi's Guest House , the Family participates in every detail of management and hospitality the doors of this truly traditional yet subtlety contemporary life style is open to you. One of the prominent " living House" hotel in Jodhpur.Access: Ideally located at a convenient distance of 4 Kms. from Airport, 2 Kms. from Railway Station, 2.0 Kms from Bus Stand: barely minutes away from most major shopping, business or commercial, the hotel is located in the blue heart of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Yogi's Paying Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yogi`s Paying Guest House Hotel Jodhpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yogi's Paying Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.