We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saji Sanwri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Saji Sanwri to your Saves list
Saji Sanwri
Gandhi Street, Jodhpur 342001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 151 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Creteil, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

Yes, this guest house is well situated, in the old city, within walking distance from clock tower.
Yes, it is very low priced.
Yes, the family is very friendly (we chose this place for the owner's hospitality).

BUT
In the most expensive room (5):
-the AC doesn't work
-the toilet flush doesn't work (a reviewer wrote that 1 year ago, I thought it was fixed)
-the wifi doesn't work.
-nights are very cold during winter time, even with their itching blankets we caught cold.
-it is very noisy, you are waken up at 6 am by the pigs, camels and cows noise.

All this may be ok to backpackers, but I don't recommend this place to anyone else.

Then, you may like or not the ultra kitch decoration, it's a matter of taste, but be warned, it's very... special.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

This was a great reasonably priced family run guest house. They were still in the middle of renovations, but really worked hard to make us feel at home. The accomodations are basic, but for just a place to sleep and relax it is perfect. The mother, Ms Bohra, made a great homemade meal one evening, it was like eating at grandma's as she kept refilling our plates. Big plus was they had a really nice internet cafe within the guest house. The connection was one of the best on the trip and they would bring us tea to enjoy while writing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We booked on the strength of the review in the LP, and after having viewed the website. Getting us from the train station to the hotel seemed excessively complex: a young man on a motorbike was dispatched to meet us, and then he negotiated a tuk-tuk for us while we waited at the side of the road with our heavy bags. We then had to pay for the tuk-tuk (though it was a fair price, this isn't the norm for hotels in India - usually they arrange the transfer free of charge). Ostensibly this is because the touts will tell you the Saji Sanwri is awful, and the owner doesn't want you to believe them. In this case, you should believe the touts.
So, we arrived, and we met a middle-aged woman who we assume was Indu. We were given a coke while we waited for our room (which was clearly not ready, despite us having booked weeks in advance and paid the first night by credit card up front). We waited around 20 minutes, at 7.30pm, when all we wanted to do was drop off our stuff and head out for food.
Eventually, she took us to the room we'd booked. We'd booked an air-conditioned room, though not the most expensive one. We'd booked at the rate Rs1600. But. Apparently, the airconditioning was 'not working' in the room we'd booked. We looked around, and there was absolutely no sign of air conditioning ever having been present. We were told we could have her most expensive room (with aircon) for Rs1750 instead (a discount of Rs150 off the normal price, we were told).
It was April, and forty degrees outside. We agreed, despite knowing we were being screwed.
The room itself was OK in terms of cleanliness, but the wiring looked like an electrician's nightmare, and the bed was only marginally more comfortable than the floor would have been.
The bathroom was foul. This is the first time we have been moved to put pictures on tripadvisor, but we wanted to show because we don't want anyone else to be conned by this woman. The toilet was dirty, had no seat, and was flushed by a bucket (filled from a floor tap next to the toilet). The sink taps didn't work, and the only way to turn on the water supply was to reach down behind the pedestal and use the master-valve. The ineffectual airconditioning unit drained across the floor of the bathroom. The down-pipe from the sink wasn't plumbed in, simply draining into a hairtrap. There was a dirty toilet-brush full of hair and god knows what else was simply left on the floor of the bathroom for us to find.
There was no lock on our room: fortunately we had a padlock we could use with the bolt, but we felt that it really wouldn't be too much to ask for, given that there was a giant hole in the outside of the building through which anyone could climb!
This, for Rs1750 per night! Having stayed in other places in India, we know this was a total screw. Other Indians we mentioned it to were appalled.
We checked out the next morning, despite having booked for three nights. We would have walked away immediately, but we'd paid in advance and didn't fancy a long argument and then not getting our money back anyway.
Interestingly, the proprietor seemed neither surprised that we were leaving early, nor particularly bothered. We got the distinct impression it happened to her alot.
Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

Very charming guest-house, with all different, beautifully decorated, clean rooms. Free and easy staff - it feels like you are a relative visiting the family. Splendid roof-top view of the blue city and the forth. Nice distance to/from the market/bazaar areas. A unique place - with the same intimate atmosphere as found in the narrow alleys of the surrounding blue city.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

We chose this place based on a good review in the Lonely Planet, a book that up until now has been very reliable.

It appears that since inclusion in the book this place has been allowed to decline. Our room was grubby and worn. The place was being run by two young brothers who although friendly, didn't appear to be able to cope.

To cap it off, the cost of the room was the same as some very comfortable places that we've stay in recently.

  • Liked — Historic building
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, cost
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Shropshire
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

Mrs Indu, the owner was overbearing and we overheard a row with another visitor who had not got a room that had been booked.
The toilet was not connected to the water supply and had to be flushed using a bucket of water, the sink leaked over the floor, the shower only worked at certain times of the day depending on when the power was on, and the location in a back street of a dirty overcrowded town was poor. The included breakfast was a piece of toast and a small plastic cup of coffee brought in from a street vendor.
Overall, a place to be avoided and will suggest removal from the Lonely Planet

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saji Sanwri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saji Sanwri

Address: Gandhi Street, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Saji Sanwri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saji Sanwri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.