We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“george51” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Suraj

Save Saved
You added Hotel Suraj to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Suraj
Old City , Next to Jain Temple | we are close to local bazzars and monuments, Jaisalmer 345001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
peppard
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“george51”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Awful. Booked ahead and confirmed day before. Arrived late evening to find no room prepared and Chimmy (owner's son) rushed around putting us in spare room with mattress on concrete floor. Toilet filthy. No hot water. Blankets smelly and dusty. Chimmy does not care as there are always people looking for a room at short notice and he had obviously given away the room we had booked. Offerred us another room for next night but at twice the cost. We went elsewhere the following day.

Room Tip: If arrive early in Jaisalmer go around all the hotels and ask to see the available rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
23
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We previously stayed at this hotel 14 years ago and loved it. However, this time our experience was awful. Despite booking our room > 6 months in advance and re-confirming several times, when we arrived late at night, the owner Chimmy was taken by suprise. We had to hang around whilst they made up the room. When we saw it, my daughter likened it to a prison cell. As another reviewer has recently commented, the beds were rock hard - my hips felt bruised for sveral days after - and the blankets had obviously not been washed for a very long time (they smelled awful and were full of dust. The toilet and shower were disgusting. We were shown alternative rooms the following day - but were then told the price would be almost 2x as much. These rooms, whilst certainly having charachter, were filfthy.
We were lucky to come across the Mud Mirror Guesthouse which had a room spare - so we hastily packed our bags and spent a fantastic 2 nights there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Firstly, don't get confused like we did and think you are emailing hotel Surja which is higher in the rankings on here!
Once we realised our mistake we decided we'd go with hotel Suraj as we'd had prompt and friendly email replies from Chimi the owner.
He picked us up from the bus drop off point as promised, even after the bus had dropped us off at the wrong point so all started well.

We had confirmed with him we would like the larger room for 2 nights by email, so when we arrived and were shown that room which was very big, traditional and with window seats and a nice view, shabby chic lets say but definitely more shabby than chic, we were pleased. But then he told us that it was only available for one night and we'd have to move the second night to a much smaller room with very little light and rather dreary. The last thing you want when backpacking and constantly travelling is to move rooms after one night so we decided we would go for the cheaper smaller room for 2 nights or more as we planned to stay in Jaisalmer around 5 nights..
We checked in and went off for a walk and on our return, noticed that actually the bathroom in our small room was filthy, scum in the sink and the toilet was disgusting. On getting into bed my partner pulled the blanket - well actually it was more like a rug, heavy and itchy, up over himself and dust and dirt wafted out. And to say the bed was hard is an understatement. It was the worst nights sleep I've had after 1 month in India.
We checked out the next morning and realised that there was much more on offer and fortunately moved to the best hotel of the trip so far. Desert Boys.
To be fair to Chimi he was fine about us moving on and had told us about his camel safari but didn't go for the hard sell but he shouldn't have let us think the larger room was available before we arrived and the comfort and cleanliness of that particular room needs some real attention. It could be a really very beautiful hotel but seems to lack attention to detail.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spectacular building in the fort, very close to the Jain temples. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are amazing, and great value for money. In fact, ours was more like a suite with a bedroom, lounge, hallway, and shower/toilet room. The building is made from local stone, with beautiful intricate carvings. There is an associated restaurant across the road for meals, with free wi-fi. Also, tours can be arranged from here.

Room Tip: Take a look at all the free rooms before choosing the one you want. Some look out over the fort wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a very well run, friendly hotel. It's in an old haveli and has a great atmosphere. The rooms are well equipped and the bathrooms are fine. They have been tastefully decorated although thankfully they haven't gone overboard and taken away from the charm of staying in such an old building. It might not be to everybodys taste- the walls are crumbling and there's no a/c in the rooms but you have to remember where you are staying and appreciate it for what it is.
The staircases are winding and narrow and one leads up to the rooftop restaurant (it's just a few tables really) which has amazing views across the roofs on the Jain temples.
The staff are superb and probably the best that we came across whilst on our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Hotel Suraj is one of the most hospitable accommodations I experienced while in India for 3 months. My friend and I were lost wandering the old streets of Jaisalmer in the sand castle fort when we came across it and met the exceptionally welcoming manager Chimmy. He invited us up to the roof top patio where we could overlook the ancient Jain temples and desert surrounding and have a drink and when we saw the rooms, we had to stay. We had an excellent Rajasthani styled room with mirrored pillows and a window seat where we could watch the city life go by. The place has a lot of character and you have to climb the old narrow stone stairwells to get to the rooms. Our bed was fairly comfortable and they are environmentally friendly, using solar heating, which is great except sometimes there is no hot water. Chimmy can help arrange anything you need from buses to camel safaris and the boys working in the restaurant are uber friendly and helpful. Food is good too.

Room Tip: The room with a separate sitting area has a great view and even a little romeo and juliet balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I was really excited to stay at hotel Surja. The pictures looked lovely and my sister and I really enjoyed our first nights stay, however we moved chose to move on after a two nights. The room we had was right in the walls of the fort with a little window seat that you could gaze out at the moon from. This was great for the first night, but on the second night it rained and water started flowing down the inside walls and was getting near the electrics. Not a drip but gushing.

While Lucky the proprietor was really friendly and took my sister and I for a walking tour of the town we got the impression that Lucky and his friends were often quite friendly to young female travellers - hence how Lucky acquired his nickname. The other factor in switching lodgings was some strange going ons in another room. We are pretty liberal, but something seemed off.

You may love Hotel Suraj and it does have some good points, however the electrics and the strange vibes about what was going on next door prompted us to try somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Suraj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suraj

Address: Old City , Next to Jain Temple | we are close to local bazzars and monuments, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 81 Specialty lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Suraj is a 500 year old Haveli. There are some heritage suite rooms which take you back to the 15th century. It is totally a Haveli Home Stay and you can also relax on the rooftop enjoying sunset with a sip of homemade Masala Chai. Bathrooms provide great hot showers in winter. And also the cushioned balconies add 4 moons to the charming Haveli Hotel Suraj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Suraj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Suraj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.