We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garh Jaisal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Garh Jaisal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Garh Jaisal
On Fort Kotari Para,, Jaisalmer 345001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 83 hotels in Jaisalmer
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We loved this place and will go back. hotel was clean and comfortable, received warm welcome from staff. really loved the breakfast. We were close to lots of places in the city and station was mile away from hotel. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance, we enjoyed our stay and had fun.
would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Garh Jaisal.
Thank you for sharing this and we hope to see you again very soon!
Best Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    50
    18
    11
    8
See reviews for
51
142
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
München, Deutschland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at Garh Jaisal!! The Haveli's location inside the old fort is close to the main gate and very appealing, so is its interiour style... very light, clean and lots of attention to detail. Very well managed and run. We were staying at the Opium Room which is furnished with traditional items, a large kingsize bed, lots of cushions and colorful mirror mosaics on the walls (quite similar to the other rooms we saw in this Haveli, but we especially liked the color theme of this room; see pictures attached) - you really feel like a Maharaja straight out of Thousands Night and a Night :-) We liked especially to sit on the window sill enjoying the incredible view from our room. I believe the rooftop terrace features one of the best views over Jaisalmer you could possibly have (great to have breakfast/lunch/dinner there!). The hotel doesn't seem to have an own restaurant, but caters excellent food from a restaurant closeby without any additional charges. At checkout we found out that water, coffee and tea was even included in the room charge. After all we felt incredibly comfortable and I want to say a big thank you to Tarun, who provided to us with (by far!) the most personal, most excellent hospitality and service we experienced during our 3,5 weeks of travelling throughout Rajasthan and Kashmir (staying in boutique guesthouses or upper class hotels). At some point I wondered whether we were wrongly assumed to be some travel book writers testing hotels ;-) Upon our request Tarun also organized a very nice private overnight camel safari for us - sleeping on the dunes, under the stars, no other tourists around. As romantic as it can get :-) Thank you again Tarun and also many thanks to your staff and hope to come back one day!

Room Tip: We loved the color theme and interior of the Opium room. There's no outside balcony in this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
It's wonderful to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed our proximity to room, City view and Camel Safari. We were honored to be a part of your trip, and are very pleased that you enjoyed the Safari, our decor, our breakfasts, and, of course, our City view and Hotel room! We look forward to your next visit to our Garh Jaisal hotel.
Have a wonderful Life !!
Best Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of days in August'13.
It was a bit pricey by our standards but what we loved about this hotel is the view of the city and look and feel of the hotel.
I preferred to stay in the "Opium Room" while making the reservation but instead we were upgraded to Purple Room which had a different feel.
We would have preferred to be informed earlier about the change.
The room was "richly" decorated in traditional Rajasthani Style and we truly felt like "Royals".
We went there during off peak and were the only ones staying in the hotel! So we felt all the more majestic!
Boys in the hotel were very helpful in every sense and made sure we got comfortable in the hotel.
Tarun, Manager of this hotel was very accommodating and even helped us plan our local sight seeing. Before you are booking tours with the hotel, make sure you enquire on the best deals around and pay for what you get!
Overall, it was an enjoyable experience and would recommend this hotel to anybody who would want to live like a "KING"!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Mam,

Thank you for taking your valuable time and a generous feedback about our property. If you had mention Opium room in mail, we would have shown you,
Our staff is happy to serve and help you in all your need to make your stay comfortable.
Wish to serve you better in future.
Best Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Amazing renovation of an old building inside the fort of Jaisalmer, good breakfast on the terrace, very nice rooms and a smart hotel manager who runs the hotel in an "international way". One of our best picks during the journey in India.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at Hotel Garh Jaisal, Jaisalmer. I am delighted to read that you had a good stay with us and found our accommodations quiet and comfortable. We try our best to keep a rhythm of service from your arrival up through your departure. We look forward to welcoming you back to Garh Jaisal on your next visit to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in red room which was fabulous authenticate room with nice decoration and unique style and magical balcony. Clean, quite, best atmosphere and family - friendly hotel with helpful staff and perfect service.
We got free pickup from train station.
I wish to stay longer but I couldn't change my itinerary.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mukeshkila, Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your service experience, our staff, and our location. At Garh Jaisal, we truly value our customer feedback, and our continuously looking for ways to improve our customer’s experience.
Again, thank you and we hope to see you in the future. We love having you here !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed with my family for two nights. Tarun – the new manager is really friendly and helpful. He arranged to pick us from Jodhpur Airport and arranged our entire local trip in Jaisalmer. The view from our room was great – felt like a Maharaja.
We felt at home all through our stay. Always ready to listen to us and arrange stuff as per our demand. I strongly recommend the hotel if you are travelling with family.

Room Tip: Please talk to Tarun before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mukeshkila, Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience here at Garh Jaisal.
I am happy to hear you found our hotel and location to your liking. I will be sure to share your comment with all of our staff members! We look forward to welcoming you back to our property. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to impress you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hi,

I stayed in the Opium Room for 2 nights and it was just perfect. The room was very nice decorated w fresh paints on the walls, window seat w sunrise views, and nice bathroom attached. The hotel is really nice, the decoration very "rajastani" and the rooftop has perfect views of the havelis, the city and the fort (the hotel is inside the fort itself and the rooftop is one of the towers of the fort!). The service was very good, and I would have stayed another 2 nights if it werent because I needed to catch a flight. Maybe little bit expensive for the average of the hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mukeshkila, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that your stay was great. Our proximity to the Hotel are one of our best amenities, but we work hard to provide a clean, comfortable, home away from home. We thank you for choosing Hotel Garh Jaisal. We look forward to your next visit.
With Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Garh Jaisal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garh Jaisal

Address: On Fort Kotari Para,, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#8 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven years in the making, Jaisalmer Fort’s newest abode is your home in the desert! Each of our seven rooms is built with the most thoughtful of appointments and comfort. Contemplate your moment in time overlooking this medieval city, sipping spiced chai from your window seat. All rooms feature a king size bed with quality linens, private bathroom with hot water shower, beautiful rich wood furniture and comfortable seat pillows to enjoy the view below your palatial retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and MakeMyTrip so you can book your Hotel Garh Jaisal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garh Jaisal Haveli Jaisalmer
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garh Jaisal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.