We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shahi Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Shahi Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Shahi Palace
Near SBBJ Bank | shiv street, Jaisalmer 345001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 83 hotels in Jaisalmer
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had spent two nights at the Hotel Shahi Palace and thought it was a great place. The rooms were well appointed, clean, comfortable and quiet. The root top restaurant served good food and the service was quick, friendly and efficient - the view of the fort was great. The owners were very friendly and very helpful indeed.

They also ran camel tours and we took an afternoon trip, which also included some local sight seeing: it was just right for what we wanted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    430
    147
    47
    19
    12
See reviews for
60
238
88
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The stylish room. Clean bathroom. Hot shower. Nice view from the rooftop. Good food on it. And campfire in the evening, where the guests can get together and just seat around the fire, drink and talk.
We took desert safari and spent great time in the dunes. We were lucky - we've got a nice company. Safari it self was good.. A bit too much riding on a camel, a bit to simple food, but steel... It was good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for writing your experience of stay at shahi palace on TA , its great to read that you had great time enjoyed the stylish room,good view .Thanks again for highly recommending us and wish you will visit shahi palace, jaisalmer,india.
Kind regards, Dev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Its a modern and very well maintained hotel. Very nice decoration, many paintings and lovely details in the rooms and outside. Our rooms came without window and were quite small (no chair, nothing to put clothes in, not enough hooks to hang anything)
Rooftopterrace is great, food is good, service is fast and friendly. Although lodging and food are quite expensive (compared to other Indian hotels with that standard).
As we arrived late, tired of the long journey and wanted to do the camel safari the next day, the owner could convince us to book his offered trip. The owner is an eloquently good seller and knows what people want to hear. He charged us 1900 rs p.p. for 2 half days including an overnight in the desert, much more than says every guidebook.
The desert trip was wonderful, the place is wonderful by itself, camels are amazing animals and sleeping under the stars in the sanddunes is a beautiful experience.
For one of my friends it was the first time to be in the desert, to be on a camel. There was absolutely no information about the thar desert or about camels. No instruction about behaviour with and on camels. She nearly fell down, as the camel stood up. Afterwards she didnt feel confortable. But communication in english was not possible, one of the Indian travellers had to help as a translator.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were extremely glad to hear that you were pleased with the service on our rooftop restaurant and that you admired the paintings and decorations throughout the hotel. At Shahi Palace, we offer a variety of rooms ranging from different prices, including larger rooms which offer more storage space and include balcony windows or window seats. It is also fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the sand dunes and sleeping under the stars during the camel safari. As we mention to most of our customers, riding the camels can be quite tiring after some time and can cause a bit of soreness upon returning. We are sorry for the confusion when the camel stood up as there is usually a short instruction given before this happens. Also, the price is different for many different hotels & travel agencies based on there service and demand, location, quality and many more things. Thank you again for taking the time to review Hotel Shahi Palace on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
DEV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed one night in the hotel and one night in the desert. Looking back, we would have cut this entire stop out of our stay in Rajasthan. We asked for the best room Shahi had available, which was the most expensive room at a rate of Rs.2150 per night. The room was fine, it was clean and fairly comfortable, but when you are paying a higher rate than others, you should at least get what the room is advertised for. There was absolutely no hot water and no air conditioning in the room.

I would recommend that if someone wants to visit the desert, go just for a sunset trip out and not stay overnight. There are things that no one tells you, like the desert is infested with THOUSANDS of large black beetles that are very attracted to humans. Having to sleep out there with all those critters was definitely not my cup of tea. The camel driver said "nice beetles, only want to sleep next to you, but not poison." The beetles did bite, and no they were not poisonous, but it is not exactly fun to have to be flicking them away from your feet the entire time you are supposed to be enjoying the sunset, or your dinner, or the campfire, etc. Also, it gets VERY windy and cold overnight. While they provide thick quilts, they are filthy dirty. I inhaled so much sand overnight that I was sick for the next two days after being out there. Your mucous membranes just cannot take all that sand inhaled. While they do indeed take you away from the mass of people at Sam's, there was nothing extra that makes me think you would want to actually stay out there for the night....no dancers, no singing, just the crew changing ring tones on their cell phones, and lots of beetles. I didn't find it romantic in the least. Being out there for only 18 hours, we both still had to pay for two days of safari. We felt like it was a complete loss of Rs4000.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear jarezzo,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. At Hotel Shahi Palace we have working hot water in all our rooms. However, you first need to let the water run for 5 to 10 minutes. We are sorry that you had problems with the a\c. If you had made us aware of it then we could have show you how to switch on .In terms of the desert safari, we suggest to our customers that they take scarves, hats and warm clothes, etc to bring on the safari. We suggest these garments not only to keep you warm during the night but to also use them to protect yourself from the elements, such as the wind and sand storms. In regards to the beetles in the desert, this is something of nature and generally people come into the desert to experience nature so we are a bit surprised at your comments on this. As our guide mentioned, these beetles are harmless and found all over in the Thar desert. Shahi Palace has a range of different desert safaris to cater to everyone's needs and wants. While some enjoy the sunset safaris where they can see the traditional dancing and singing, others spend a night in the desert to enjoy the peace of the desert at night under the stars. .
Kind Regards,
Dev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Shahi Palace was a really good choice to stay. The rooms are clean and lovely decorated. The rooftop was great with really nice food and an perfect view to the fort. Being there in the evening was great. Really friendly owner, who helps you to make your trip as comftable as possible. We liked it to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for spending time to post your review on Trip Advisor. very pleased to find that you found the owners friendly. We always try to make our guest feel like home Shahi Palace . It is also great to read that you enjoyed the food served at our roof top restaurant and the views of the fort.
Thanks again for your kind comments and wish you will visit Shahi Palace again.
Kind Regards,
DEV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Shahi palace was a nice surprise. We stayed in oasis haveli rooms, which is a branch of the hotel. The room so nicely decorated, clean and the right size for a couple. The shower was great with hot water 24 hours. There are many power breaks in jaisalmer but the hotel had a backup so it wasn't noticed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
hi,
Thanks for visiting us for your holidays and writing the review on TA about your experience ,we are happy that you had great time here .
we wish you will make your home while you are here again.
DEV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Shahi Palace is not a luxury hotel but it offers nice room, very friendly owner and staff and a great rooftop with view to the fort. I really liked the food, it was always plentyful and tasty. In the evening the terrace is perfect for chilling out and enjoying the view of the fort. We got the bigger rooms which is preferable to the smaller room that don't have a window. The rooms are clean but I would have prefered if the duvet came with a cover since it the duvet itself looked a bit dirty. But otherwise the hotel was clean and prices are decent, also for the food and drinks. They also organise camel trips to the desert (although it's more like some dunes and not a full desert). Also be prepared for a sore behind :-) We have also organised a car for the onwards journey and the ride was really comfortable. We were driven by one of the owners, Jora, who was very friendly and even invited us to some delicious street food on the way.
Overall I really like Shahi Palace and would recommend it if you are looking for a laid-back place where you can hang out in the evening with other travellers.

Room Tip: try going for the bigger rooms since some of the rooms a squeezed in the middle and don't have d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Shahi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shahi Palace

Address: Near SBBJ Bank | shiv street, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Jaisalmer
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#9 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated outside the fort near the SBBJ bank and Shiva temple, Shahi Palace is a welcoming, family-run hotel, built entirely of local sandstone with classic Rajasthani decor throughout. It offers a range of comfortable, cool rooms and a relaxed rooftop terrace with magnificent views of the fort. The chilled rooftop restaurant offers a range of vegetarian and non-vegetarian options and is a great place to watch the sun set and meet fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Shahi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Palace Hotel
Shahi Palace Jaisalmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shahi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.