We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer to your Saves list
Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jodhpur Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent 4 days and three nights at the place. The property is very well maintained and designed, the staff is nice and freindly but lacks the star finesse, first night at buffet the muttoun dish was flagged as lal maans, but was a tame muttoun curry, we were told it was made less spicy due to foriegners also staying. Well we made a point which they seemed to have understood that name a dish with real name rather than excotic name. They did offer a real spicy rajasthani dish at the table which was excellent. Best thing is you can swim late evenings or literally 24 hours because the poolbis only 4 ft deep and attendant says people go out sightseeing during day so they should be given an oppurtunity to use the pool when they come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevendraRathore, Operations Manager at Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Goyal,

It was indeed a pleasure having you at The Gateway Hotel Rawalkot, Jaisalmer, we thank you for your generous comments about your stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, our aim is to provide our guest the best experience on their holidays. We have noted down your concern regarding Lal Maas, there are certain occasions when guest do complain that lal Maas is spicy and then there are guests who wants to have spicy Lal Maas therefore to balance both the concerns, we have opted for medium spicy Lal Maas, nevertheless as you have also mention, we do serve spicy dish on guest demand.

I look forward to your next visit to our hotel and once again thank you for your valuable comments.

Kindest Regards,
Devendra Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    87
    36
    2
    9
See reviews for
76
70
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jalandhar, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed at Gateway with my family for 3 nights .
Good Food ,Clean Rooms ,Good Hospitality ,Value for money and most important great place to stay.
Weather on terrace in the mornings and Evenings is awesome .
Recommend everyone for stay in Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevendraRathore, Operations Manager at Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Puneet,

Hope you are well !!

We are glad that you enjoyed your trip as much as we enjoyed having you stay with us, we thank you for your generous comments about your stay at our hotel. Comments such as these always encourages us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality & services.

Kindest Regards,
Devendra Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Gateway Rawalkot is a breathtakingly beautiful hotel. Built with the typical yellow Jaisalmer stone,it actually looks like a heritage hotel. The courtyard is filled with trees and flowering shrubs,almost like a mirage in the desert. The best part of the hotel is its open terrace ,that overlooks Jaisalmer town and the fort. Undoubtedly one of the best properties to stay in Jaisalmer.
We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The rooms were cozy and clean.
The reception staff was very courteous and helpful. They arranged sightseeing tours for us ,to the town, nearby places and the sand dunes at reasonable rates.They also helped to call for rickshaws to get to the town.

However, since I have stayed at other Taj hotels , it felt that this hotel needs improvement to match up with the standards set by TAj. 3 examples from our experience that speak for themselves..
1) We were booked under an offer ,whereby 2 meals and 3rd night stay was complimentary. But the reception staff seemed to be quite confused. They actually asked me if I was going to pay for 3rd day on day 3.
2) When we checked in, the reception staff had actually recommended that we enjoy our evening cup of tea at the terrace. However ,on contacting the restaurant ,the restaurant manager declined to serve on the terrace. A little wierd..isnt it ?
Surprisingly,the next day,I saw a group of people being served tea on the terrace.... now that did put us off..
3) On the same evening,We were snacking at the poolside. Even before we finished the snacks, the waiter got the bill. " I got the bill because my shift is getting over",this was his statement that left me wide eyed. Now now.... last time I heard such a statement was in my college canteen.

Except for these few wierd incidents ,our overall stay was pleasant.

Tips for the traveller:
1) Taxi fares displayed by the hotel for Jodhpur drop are almost double than that offered by local operators. Book your taxi from reliable travel agenies ,many of them can be found in the Jaisalmer market area.
2) For local Jaisalmer sightseeing , call for a rickshaw that a standard AC car. Its much more fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevendraRathore, Operations Manager at Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

It was indeed a pleasure having you at The Gateway Hotel Rawalkot, Jaisalmer. We thank you for your kind comments and encouraging feedback, comments & feedback such as these always encourages us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality & services. We have noted down your concerns regarding few points which you had mentioned and have taken necessary measures so that same is not repeated in future with other guest's.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kindest Regards,
Devendra Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

after a lot of misses we did manage to go to the gateway at jaisalmer
it is a beautiful property and as usual the staff is ever smiling and helpful
the view of the fort is nice and the swimming pool is maintained very well
the entrance lobby has some really great pieces of furniture but I wish some one could tell us more about them
the food as such requires some improvement and I know they can do it
one suggestion is that all frozen food must be thawed fully before being cooked as it will taste better and all the sauces cannot hide the rawness if not thawed properly
avoid putting soggy ;papad'' on the table as it is a no no
the bread rolls require to stand if fresh to eliminate the rawness after baking
the peas are to be cooked and not only decorate the dish with colour
a nice place to visit
the parking is limited inside so do go early

Room Tip: in the dining hall only one place with a view of the outside is worth it- rest are too inside to rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevendraRathore, Operations Manager at Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

It was indeed a pleasure having you at The Gateway Hotel Rawalkot, Jaisalmer. I thank you for your valuable comments, have passed your comments to the Chef for necessary corrective actions in this regard.

Kindest Regards,
Devendra Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We left Udaipur at around 9 AM in the morning of July 7, 2013 and reached the Taj Gateway Hotel Rawalkot, Jaisalmer at around 11 PM after visiting the divine Tanot in the far stretching Thar desert of Longewala and seeking blessing of Tanot Mata!

Needless to say, we were completely enervated and famished by that time!

On arrival we were directed to our room in this heritage property which inured me with the times of Zamindars and their lavish havelis and lifestyles which till then I'd only read about! The room was admirable with a traditional king size bed and a neat attached shower room. The gentleman at the reception upon my request sent someone to my room to take order of some sandwiches that they could prepare for us as their kitchen had closed by then. I liked that part a lot! We freshened up and just gobbled our food once it came enjoying watching some tennis on the idiot box! After finishing the satisfying dinner provided to us I dozed off as my friends enjoyed their drink.

We saw the true colors of the 'Golden City of India' when the sun started shining brightly the next morning. It looked awe inspiring! We quickly drove to Sam's sand dunes for some photography then but that experience wasn't that great since the locals there were pretty annoying and kept buzzing around us for a camel ride. Shortly when they realized that we were not at all interested they said fine, at least buy a bottle of water or some soft beverage from us! My God! They didn't quit till we inescapably purchased a bottle of soda from them!

At last we got back to our hotel completely suffused in sand! That condition was unbearable and we after ordering our breakfast headed straight to the pool. The view from the swimming pool was spine-tingling! Amazing it was! But the condition of the pool wasn't the same. It looked good from the outside and was also very well structured but we spotted algae at many places on the bottom of the plunge bath. We were taken aback and left the pool dejected afterwards.

After convincingly getting rid of the sand we carried after our little arts junket, we had a nice bath and got ready to break bread for the morning. Breakfast was served in our room as they had to close their restaurant for "cleaning". There was no one else in the hotel apart from us so if no soul had dined there, what was the need of cleaning it?! Anyway, hardly matters. The surprise came when we asked for water, which the polite waiter got WITH A BILL! IMAGINE! We were expected to have our breakfast sans any water! Water was chargeable at that time! The only Taj property that I have come across till date where I was charged for water at breakfast!

Well, these things here and there ruined my first impression of this Taj Gateway property. Although my stay for the night was quite comfortable.

To conclude, I'd say looking for a more hospitable and luxurious property if you're my kind of a traveler won't be a bad option otherwise you always have the Taj Gateway Hotel Rawalkot in one of the most magnificent cities of Rajasthan - Jaisalmer!

God bless! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevendraRathore, Operations Manager at Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Bhageria,

It was indeed a pleasure having you at The Gateway Hotel Rawalkot, Jaisalmer. Thank you very much for sparing time to give your valuable feedback. On the basis of same, the swimming pool is now shining and there is no trace of algae. Comments such as these always encourages us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality & services.
Look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards,
Devendra Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on the final leg of our tour of Northern India.

We had a very pleasant stay at the hotel. Rooms were spacious and air conditioned. Bathrooms were very clean. Restaurant served a decent dinner and breakfast.

I will recommend for a safe option. Was nice but was not blown away.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevendraRathore, Operations Manager at Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

It was indeed a pleasure having you at The Gateway Hotel Rawalkot, Jaisalmer. Thank you very much for your valuable positive feedback, comments such as these strive & motivate us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality & services.

Look forward to your next visit to The Gateway Hotel Rawalkot, Jaisalmer

Kindest Regards,
Devendra Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wouldn't put this top of a list of great stays but it was more than adequate for our two night group stay. Very nice rooms and an attractive location, the high spot was the view of the city, and the fort of course, from the pool. Disappointed a bit by the food; buffet dinner was quite average and breakfast disappointed a bit. That said, it met every need and we enjoyed warm friendly service.

Room Tip: From our group's experience, the rooms are all identical in small blocks. Tents are delightful b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer

Address: Jodhpur Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
#11 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popularly known as the Golden City due to the colour the stone walls take on at sunset, Jaisalmer is a captivating destination. Historic Havelis, a vast desert landscape and picture-perfect sand dunes make Jaisalmer one of the most charming destinations in India. Modern comfort melds seamlessly with medieval charm at The Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer. The hotel is the perfect vantage point to watch the Jaisalmer Fort change colour from sunrise to sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawal Kot Hotel
Rawal Kot Jaisalmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.