We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property to stay in Jaisalmer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer to your Saves list
Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jodhpur Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 88 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good property to stay in Jaisalmer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Its a great hotel around 3 kms from the railways station and 6 kms from the city. There's nice and clean swimming pool from where you can see the fort. Rooms are clean and service is very good.
There is 1 multi-cuisine restaurant with limited items (chinese food is not there) but the food was very good. Overall a very good place to stay is jaisalmer .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    101
    40
    4
    11
See reviews for
84
78
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The good things first : I really liked the architecture and lay out of the hotel, it is not your typical rooms lining a corridor hotel !
Good view since it is almost in the middle of nowhere and before the start of the actual town of Jasialmer.
Comfortable , well equipped rooms with a little private courtyard to each room and the typical Taj hospitality.
An absolutely wonderful pool , corridors lined with indoor/ board games and evening puppet shows that are organised by the hotel add to the stay experience. I think the best experience was the day of our early morning departure from the hotel - we stepped out from the lobby and in the absolute stillness of the morning, heard the beautiful sound of a flute . It was the guard of the hotel who plays this early morning and at dusk !
The food and spread of fare was average, given that you expect much more from a Taj group hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at the Taj, Jaisalmer in March 2011. One of the most memorable holidays on my life. I loved everything about the hotel. The warmth of the staff, the open courtyards outside the room, where birds wake you up early morning with their chirping. It was a rejuvenating experience for me. The food is nice, however I went our most of the time. The view of the Jaisalgarh Fort is breathtaking from the terrace of the hotel. My stay coincided with the holi celebrations and I participated with the staff and played holi. The hotel has various sit outs. Swings, gardens, where one can laze around and meditate and read. The entire place is such that there is a good cross ventilaltion and you experience fresh breeze. I will return to this place sometime again. Soon....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochrane, alberta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

A NOTE TO THE STAFF: we found that the food was better and cheaper next door at DESERT TULIP. even though we weren't paying guests, they let us use wi-fi FREE. they even offered us to relax by their pool!! if you rip off your guests, they will catch on and find other means. we did.

We paid full price to stay here in off season (first mistake, our bad). We were the ONLY guests here for 4 out of 6 days we stayed. You'd think they'd appreciate your business more! The food prices were outrageous, the Internet was most expensive in India so far ($14 USD/day), no breakfast buffet included. Which was odd, cause they made it even though we didn't want it cause it was too expensive, and we were the only ones there to possibly eat it!! Wasteful.
The one night there were two groups there, they had a BBQ set up for the groups. The hotel manager went out if his way to find us and tell us that since we were there for 5 nights, the BBQ we could enjoy with his compliments (free FINALLY A GOOD DEAL!)... should have known there was a catch! only the BBQ'd meat was free. The rest of the buffet was $20 per person!!! Our most expensive meal yet. Terrible idea to treat your only guests that way.
On the bright side, the location was good. Two minute rickshaw ride out of town, so nice and quiet. Good pool. Terrible staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We came here after a stay in Laxmi Niwas in Bikaner where the pool was really bad and the hotel staff said tough to maintain a pool in the desert. Gateway was a delight with crystal clear water and a great view of the fort. The staff is very helpful. Rooms are clean,

The car park is rocky and has no light. Something to improve.

Room Tip: All rooms are same, a few of them face the fort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This property is the perfect place to stay in Jaisalmer. Its about 5-7 mins car ride away from the Fort and the city center. The swimming pool, overlooking the Fort, is amazing. Many properties have pools in the center. I feel this one is better as it has great views. The rooms were decent and just what we expected. This is not a high end hotel - its more a value for money kind of property. The staff and service was exceptional. The best part was the quality of Food and the service by the restaurant staff and specially the chef. The overall experience is of quality and not of a chain hotel.

Highly recommended for everyone.

Regards,
Prit

Room Tip: take rooms overlooking the fort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel front office staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel rooms were very beautifully built, although, the ameneties were value for money. The garden and the swimming pool in the hotel are maintained well. The restaurant was a dampner and the food was not that great. The restaurant was running with skeleton staff and the service was not up to the mark. The Operations manager gave a wonderful hearing and a pleasing personality who has an eye for the minutest details. The city of Jaisalmer was wonderful and Taj added the pleasentness of the stay. The hotel was like our ancesteral home and neatly mainatined and the best available in Jaisalmer. Need to work on some areas such as restaurants, food quality and the service. The vivanta and other taj hotels are far away from this hotel...The fort view from the pool was wonderful and evenings especially was just awesome in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer

Address: Jodhpur Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jaisalmer
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
#11 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popularly known as the Golden City due to the colour the stone walls take on at sunset, Jaisalmer is a captivating destination. Historic Havelis, a vast desert landscape and picture-perfect sand dunes make Jaisalmer one of the most charming destinations in India. Modern comfort melds seamlessly with medieval charm at The Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer. The hotel is the perfect vantage point to watch the Jaisalmer Fort change colour from sunrise to sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawal Kot Hotel
Rawal Kot Jaisalmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.