We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Camps Sam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Camps Sam to your Saves list
Royal Camps Sam
Opposite Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ajmer
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best holiday destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

we had been to jaisalmer for the year 2013 the trip started with a bang.... It was amazing....the hotel n its services were fantastic. The major attraction was the visit to sand dunes and the folk programme held in the hotel. We stayed there for 2 nights its was a memorable stay .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

the stay here was amazing,we stayed here for 2 days the food quality was good,the cultural eve was a memorable one ,the services and staff were nice. they provided us with the best possible rates.this was the only hotel with a pool in the sand dunes!!!

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

best foods, friendly staff. i have done 05 groups of 200 pax . best camp in jaisalmer.
cultural program was too good.we 01 group in chokhi dhani but they don't give us good services but royal camp provide us best service .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The moment we entered with our booking details, manager asked for 2800/- for hut charges and 1500 per pax for dinner. Later we come to know that walk in can get the booking @3000 all inclusive. The food and breakfast provided is worst of all kind, there were only cold poha and dry breads. Also dinner is completly veg and even they dont have any provision for non veg people. These all things were not mentioned while booking. Overall worst camp to stay. The advertised swimming pool is nothing but a pool of mud, will be surprised even a catel will prefer to take bath in same.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The way to camp was an improper road, it took us 30 min to find camp. It was away from sand dunes.
from booking.com we booked the room for 6500 INR, but when we checked in, we came to know that room rate was 3500 INR for walk-in bookings. They asked us to pay the complete amount for 3 rooms in Cash
The staff was not at all cooperative, they even abused us when we told them our terrible camel safari experience which was arranged by them in additional 1000 INR.
The tent quality was too bad and felt quite cold at nite time.
They was no heater in room.
The breakfast was the WORST breakfast i had in my whole life travel experience. There was only COLD bread-jam, tea and COLD flat rice (Poha). The kitchen was stinking and dirty. we had a stomach upset the next day
They did not arrange bonfire for us. The swimming pool is just for a name, just a ground dug in center of camps, no tiles.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A really different experience to travel out to the desert and stay in one of the tents - these were in fact quite close to hotel rooms with full bed and en-suite complete with toilet, sink and shower which all functioned and there was hot water!
The entertainment in the evening was poor, however, in fairness to the dancers it was really cold (we were wrapped in a blanket outside to watch). Probably much more enjoyable on a warmer evening.
The food was acceptable but nothing special just not a patch on some of the other food I ate in India but there was plenty of it and some variety so all fine just not spectacular.
In the night there was a storm but I slept right through it and the tent kept us dry so no complaints there.
Most enjoyable was the camel ride to the desert with our guide and Rocket the camel for sunset and most disappointing was that the swimming pool was closed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Camps Sam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Camps Sam

Address: Opposite Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your Royal Camps Sam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Camps Sam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.