We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, nice and Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nomads Guest House to your Saves list
Nomads Guest House
Shiv Road | near Golden Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 117 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Jaipur
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing, nice and Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Since this wasn't our first visit to Jaisalmer, I first thought there would be problems when we got a nice clean double room for only 200rs. So we prepared our selves for hassle about camel safari. But we were totally wrong. Alex, Aladin, Fathan(?) and the rest of the staff were so nice to everyone and really seemed to like what they were doing.
Off course they have Camel Safaris, but you will have to ask them.


Also, a nice place attracts nice visitors, so thanx everybody for a really pleasant couple of days.
The food is quite good, but it is a good idea to order the food before you get hungry, cause you'll have to wait a while.

Ithink the rooms range between 200 and 600rs.

No problem with powerbreaks, nor do they turn off the electricity from the outside (like some other places do).

The onlything I can think of to complain about is the beds, wich are quite hard and a little uncomfy.
On the rooftop there is good space for the kids to play and to relax on. The whole place is quiet and cool.

If we ever make it back to Jaisalmer, there is no soubt about where we will stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Nomads is a superb little guesthouse with great views of Jaisalmer's sandstone fort. Aladin, Alex & team were incredibly welcoming and helpful from the moment they collected me at 5.30am from the train station. With only 7 rooms and a relaxing rooftop area there's a nice community vibe, and we all enjoyed a trip to the Desert Festival finale - 50km out of town in the Sam sand dunes - organised by the team. The Tibetan chef produces fresh and tasty Indian fare, but also some wonderful Tibetan specialities - try the momos and pasta soup! One of my most enjoyable stays in India thus far.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A great place to stay in Jaisalmer. Owners Alex & Aladdin are great people who care about their guests. Unlike many guest houses/hotels that push camel safaris, trips, etc, Nomad doesn't do any of that and instead encourages guests to relax and just do whatever they'd like in Jaisalmer. The Wifi was surprisingly fast too. Highly recommended...

Room Tip: The rooftop is a cozy place to relax and it has a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good clean room on the balcony for 500. Good view on the Fort. Guys were really helpful, pick us up at 5.30 in the morning from the bus and saved us from the paws of the touts. Also we bought safari from them, it was ok. Not far from the guesthouse is Radjastani dabha( chip Indian restaurant ) super tali is there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I travelled to Jaisalmer with my kids in January 2013, and from the moment we were picked up from the station by owners Alex and Aladin we were treated like family. Although basic, the rooms are clean, comfortable and functional. The balcony rooms are the best and the balcony seat is probably the best place for one or two people to chill and watch Jaisalmer from. The roof top is the highlight of Nomads. We spent many hours there with the owners, staff and other guests eating, drinking and chatting. The food was great and available at all hours, as was the beer. Both owners and staff went out of their way to meet all our needs. Great value and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony rooms, a little more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Nomads Guesthouse was reccommended by other travellers, because of their cheap rooms and great camel safari's. We decided to book a camel safari for new years eve. It was great to spend this night in the desert!! We had great food, stunning views and we really enjoyed the company of the funny camel mans!
After the safari we stayed a couple of days in Nomads. And we really enjoyed our stay there, because we could chill down and enjoy the sun at their rooftop. Alex & Alladin are the most friendly people who give honest and good information. They helped us with anything!
And they have a great cook! Try the curry's, homemade muesli and the mango jam!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Nomads is a great little guesthouse whose owners Aladdin and Alex make everything as easy as possible without ever trying to make decisions for you or push anything on you.

Wonderful location with a superb rooftop to relax on with endless pots of chai or a meal and soak up the views of the fort. Food is great and super cheap, a mix of Indian and Tibetan dishes, with a few western meals when you feel a little homesick.

Rooms are a bit basic (Nomads is only a few months old and still adding the finishing touches), but are nicely furnished and come with hot water and wifi so quickly start to feel like a second home.

Nomads was a big part of making Jaisalmer one of my favourite places in India so far.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are nice, but the real value is the rooftop which everyone has access to. You won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Guest House

Address: Shiv Road | near Golden Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Guest House is a simple family run guest house run in a fair way with an English partner. Only 10 minutes walk to the Fort Gate and market. It has a rooftop restaurant and balcony with fort views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Nomads Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.