We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dylan Cafe and Guest House

Save Saved
You added Dylan Cafe and Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dylan Cafe and Guest House
Opp. trio Restaurant ,Main Pura Street | , Gandhi chowk, Jaisalmer 345001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 105 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great room and quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had originally booked another guest house but were taken here at the knowledge of the original place by the tuk tuk driver. Our room was at the front with a fan, window and balcony it was very nice and spotlessly clean also the bathroom.The guest house had a roof terrace from which you could see the fort and meet other travellers. It was located in a nice quiet street away from hustle and bustle but only 10min walk to fort. Owner was friendly. I wouldn't bother with the food i think it was done by a separate enterprise and not up to much.Owner arranged us a good overnight camel safari.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Owner at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Friend , Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer. Best wishes, Rajiv Bor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
20
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Dylan Cafe and Guest house for 4 nights and would without a doubt return if we were to visit Jaisalmer again.
We had booked a double room with shared bathroom and were upgraded to an ensuite with a balcony for the same price of 250r a night because we were there during the quiet period and there were many rooms spare. On top of this the room was really nice and you can tell they get cleaned regularly, it was immaculate.
The rooftop restaurant is a great place to chill and you can get some great food up there, especially the special Rajasthani Thali.
The staff are also really nice, especially the manager who speaks great english and he really goes out of his way to make all the staff feel at home and that they enjoy themselves as much as possible.
We booked our camel safari through the guest house and it cost us 1450r each for a 1 night trip, leaving at 2pm on the first day and returning at around 9am on the next. We were even allowed to leave our stuff in our room and werent charged for the night we were on the safari.
You feel no obligation to book a safari through them and we never heard it mentioned once until we actually inquired ourselves.
Ann auto-rickshaw to the/from the station is 50r and you can walk to the fort in around 5 to 10mins where there are also many great places to eat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Owner at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Friend , Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer. Best wishes, Rajiv Bora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Dylan Cafe and guest house for four nights. It was excellent. We felt at home. The staff sat down with the guests at the lovely rooftop restaurant to chat. Rooms were clean and cosy - just like the rest of the hotel. The food on the rooftop restaurant was amazing and they did exactly what we asked for even though it wasn't on the menu. The chef Bariyam is an intelligent and talented man! Their camel safari was really amazing. Next time I go on a camel safari I want to stay in the desert more than two nights! Would highly recommend Dylan cafe and guest house - especially to younger travelers who want to chat with locals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Owner at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Friend , Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer. Best wishes, Rajiv Bora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I had a great time staying here! Clean simple rooms with VERY helpful staff! They will go out of their way to make your experience in Jaisalmer one you will not forget. I have lovely memories of this town and this guest house! Thanks - I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Owner at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Friend , Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer. Best wishes, Rajiv Bor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had a great time at the Dylan Café chatting with Rajiv and Om. They are true music connoisseurs and super hospitable. A true Jaisalmer gem that I would recommend to everyone. The location is great and the atmosphere is very laid back and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Owner at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Friend , Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer. Best wishes, Rajiv Bora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hospitality at its best...it is a Home away from home....
Great hotel managed by great enthusiastic homely persons
Great view, nice guesthouse, cool staff.
Rooftop has the best view of the fort.
Free pickup from bus and train plus free wifi on the rooftop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Owner at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Friend , Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer. Best wishes, Rajiv Bora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Ganganagar
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great hotel in a traditional Rajasthani style - new and very clean. Run by outstanding staff who are always polite, helpful and fun. I have stayed here twice and love staying - I have visted Jaisalmer 4 times and would not stay anywhere else. It is also very affordable and includes beautiful touches - Rajasthani work, gorgeous soft furnishings - truely a beautiful place to stay - and with views. Offering fantastic tasty food, with the priceless views - absolutely wonderful. Stay here - you will not be disappointed. Hot shower, TV, fan & AC, views, restaurants, room service, laundry, shop & travel assistance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Owner at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Friend ,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.
Best wishes, Rajiv Bora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dylan Cafe and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Cafe and Guest House

Address: Opp. trio Restaurant ,Main Pura Street | , Gandhi chowk, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Dylan Cafe and Guest House" is a budget guest house in relaxed area in the center of the town with the full view of fort and Sunset.. The Roof Top Restaurant offers Good food, Real Coffee with great music from all over the world, free WiFi, TV with all the sport Channels.Dylan cafe and Guest house exceptionalism is far reaching. we are one of the few small Guest house in India in where one does not have to contend with roaches. Our establishment demonstrates a deep understanding of western comfort . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, MakeMyTrip and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dylan Cafe and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dylan Cafe and Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.