We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personable and tailor made hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dylan Cafe and Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dylan Cafe and Guest House to your Saves list
Dylan Cafe and Guest House
opp Trio Restaurant, Main Pura Street | Gandhi Chowk, Jaisalmer 345001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Complimentary
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Personable and tailor made hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Dylan's Cafe and Guest House is a diamond in the rough. The rough is that it's very basic - albeit comfortable enough for the seasoned backpacker, but the diamond is the staff who run it. Rajiv and Om are so much fun and I'm now friends with both of them. Upstairs in the chill out space is terrific fun as Om will select great tunes to play and Rajiv joins you for a drink and is a great host who can relate to many guests as he has a great knack for languages. I met other fun people staying there - relaxed and interesting to chat to. Initially I wasn't as enamoured with Jaisalmer in the first day of staying - as I'd just come from the gorgeous pink and blue cities of Jodhpur and Jaipur - but it didn't take long before it became one of my all time favourite places in India - helped along by my experience at Dylan's Cafe and Guest House. Can't wait to get back there again and cruise around the city with Rajiv on his motorbike.

Room Tip: Can get noisy with barking dogs and traffic so choose a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Manager at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Friend ,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Rajiv Bora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
22
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

V reached JAISALMER ,the desert town in the month of FEB'13. The hotel rooms r not up to the standard level, the room service n breakfast r homely n lovely.Mr.RAJEEV the person in charge of this guest house is very kind to provide vehicle, camel ride in desert, folk dance with dinner at the desert resort in the night.Don't go to Nathmal ji n saleem singh ji ki Havelies. Patwon ji ki haveli is the best one to see.Don't miss to see the sunset at the desert.It is the best memorable experience V had in this town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Manager at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Sir ,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Rajiv Bora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Dylan Café was my favourite hostel of my entire Bangladesh/Nepal/India trip - the atmosphere is super-relaxed, and the young owner Rajiv is very friendly and knows the needs of their western customers, and the rooftop lounge is amazing and has a great sound-system.

The rooms are quite basic but clean and nicely decorated, the toilet clean and working.

PS: If you're into Billiard, ask Rajiv for a game, he knows a secret spot in Jaisalmer and he's always up for a game!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Manager at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Friend ,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Rajiv Bora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Friendly welcome on arrival. Rooms clean, and They have a great rooftop, they should use it a bit more- seemed a bit unused, but was really lovely for sunset drink. Dinner0 We ate their both nights- great Thali dinner and very reasonable. Would certainly recommend it. Reasonable and really nice service, friendly staff and lovely place. Location is central enough- easy to get tuk-tuk's. They also arranged a car for further travel, at reasonable/competitive prices, and a good safari to the village nearby. Good choice of accommodation :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Manager at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Friend ,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Rajiv Bora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here greatly. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was lovely and had windows with views of maharaja place . The hotel is also right below the fort and not far from other restaurants and the big markets. The flow of hot water in our room was not very good and the water was luke warm but when we told one of the staff she promptly called the mechanic and had the hot water system replaced! Great value place to stay in an excellent location

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Manager at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Friend ,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Rajiv Bora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Funnest staff ever, they will joke with you and make you feel at home. Price is super cheap, but the rooms kind of explain it haha. But if you are out and about, the quality of the room should not be your deciding factor. Ask for Rajiv and Om and Kaaliya, they're super fun people. And go on a camel safari while in Jaisalmer (best experience ever).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Owner at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Friend ,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed 3 and half days in Jaisalmer and enjoyed a lot beiing at Dylan Guest House. The room was clean and nicely made. The two brothers managing the hotel are very friendly and helpful. They give a warm welcome and arrange anything you need. We booked a camel safari from them and we could leave our luggage in the room for the night when we slept in the desert. The roof-restaurant is very cosy and serves good food. There was not running hot water but we got a "hot water device", meaning a heating coil and a bucket and that did the job.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Manager at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Friend ,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dylan Cafe and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Cafe and Guest House

Address: opp Trio Restaurant, Main Pura Street | Gandhi Chowk, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of the great poet Bob Dylan, we believe that money is not the most important thing in life. Life, is the most important thing in life, and we like to live it to the fullest. Oh, and music, too. As Jaisalmer like all small Indian towns can be quiet after eight o'clock, there's no better place for travelers to stay than in the Dylan cafe & Guest House. Whether you need to chillax, party or ... We cater for all, with three rooftop terraces and a restaurant serving Indian, Chinese and Continental food. We at Dylan love meeting new people and helping our guests get the most of their time in Jaisalmer whether it be hiring motorcycles for a scenic ride around the town or a scerene camel safari in the surrounding desert. We arrange free pick up from the train station, and can organse train or bus tickets for the next part of your journey. It is our priority to ensure our guests have a stess-free stay in Jaisalmer. So stop by the Dylan Guesthouse, a place run by travelers for travelers. As Bob Dylan said, "This land is your land, this land is my land. Sure, but the world is run by those who never listen to music anyway." Here, at Dylan Guest we are trying to change that statement one guest at a time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dylan Cafe and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dylan Cafe and Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.