We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dylan Cafe and Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dylan Cafe and Guest House to your Saves list
Dylan Cafe and Guest House
opp Trio Restaurant, Main Pura Street | Gandhi Chowk, Jaisalmer 345001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Although I haven't stayed at the new Guest House, I did stay at the Dylan Cafe which is run by Om and Rajiv (the guest house owners)- 2 friendly and fun hosts who will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They organised a camel safari in the desert for us with food, music and bedding which was brilliant! Their guest house is in an ideal location slap bang in the middle of Jaisalmer and is great for exploring the city. Certainly worth a stay!

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Owner at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Friend , Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer. Best wishes, Rajiv Bora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    21
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
23
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

the hotel s really awesome basically d camel safari n d rooms service really i love to b a part of that gud work done i hope there s a scope for improvement,n rajiv actually s my close friend d time i was in jaisalmer for three years d location s really awesome n the service is really gud the atmosphere is beautiful with enchanting sceneries n forts all over the place although the rooms are of medium size but the price is reasonable accordinf to the rooms and the friendly and cooperative beahaviour of rajiv n company is really appreciable

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Manager at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Friend ,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Dylan's guesthouse is a small, simple guesthouse. I got a sneak-peak right before it opened and all the rooms were freshly painted and the roof-top nicely decorated. The rooms are small, but the price is right! It is located right in the middle of the market near to the havelis and fort gate. The best part of this hotel is definitely the owner, Raju. He is super friendly and will help you with whatever you need!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Manager at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Friend ,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great owners who i'm still friends with - was travelling 'alone' for a while as my friend had fallen ill, but I found everything I needed here. Brilliant company, chilled out atmosphere and no pressure. Highly recommend it!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Manager at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Friend ,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I've stayed in Dylans Café already in 2007. The owner is a very friendly person with whom I still have contact. He will accompany your stay- if you like so- as he knows EVERYTHING. He can tell you where to go, which places are interesting, where you find whatever for best prices and best quality, will help you to organize trips, like safaris to the desert... As a single lady in India you have to be careful at some places- but in Dylans Café one can feel like home, rest there and will always have a helpful friend!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Manager at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Friend , Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer. Best wishes, Rajiv Bora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

There is not much I can say about this place. It is in an amazing part of India so that is a good start. However, not everywhere has an owner as charesmatic as Om! He speaks very good English, he understands the humour and the kind of things tourists are after when in this part of the world. You are very well looked after in this place and no question goes un answered. For backpackers all over the world, I reccomend this as a wonderful place to stop on your travels. Clean, friendly, safe!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Manager at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Friend ,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was on a solo trip through India and made friends with the owners. The owners are great. They are very nice and provide good hospitality. Jaisalmer is an awesome spot in India. It is one of my favourite spots in the North. The price is very VERY cheap.
I was on a solo trip through India and made friends with the owners. The owners are great. They are very nice and provide good hospitality. Jaisalmer is an awesome spot in India. It is one of my favourite spots in the North. The price is very VERY cheap.
I was on a solo trip through India and made friends with the owners. The owners are great. They are very nice and provide good hospitality. Jaisalmer is an awesome spot in India. It is one of my favourite spots in the North. The price is very VERY cheap.
I was on a solo trip through India and made friends with the owners. The owners are great. They are very nice and provide good hospitality. Jaisalmer is an awesome spot in India. It is one of my favourite spots in the North. The price is very VERY cheap.

Thankyou very much

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJIV B, Manager at Dylan Cafe and Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Friend ,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay and hope we'll see you again soon in Jaisalmer.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dylan Cafe and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Cafe and Guest House

Address: opp Trio Restaurant, Main Pura Street | Gandhi Chowk, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of the great poet Bob Dylan, we believe that money is not the most important thing in life. Life, is the most important thing in life, and we like to live it to the fullest. Oh, and music, too. As Jaisalmer like all small Indian towns can be quiet after eight o'clock, there's no better place for travelers to stay than in the Dylan cafe & Guest House. Whether you need to chillax, party or ... We cater for all, with three rooftop terraces and a restaurant serving Indian, Chinese and Continental food. We at Dylan love meeting new people and helping our guests get the most of their time in Jaisalmer whether it be hiring motorcycles for a scenic ride around the town or a scerene camel safari in the surrounding desert. We arrange free pick up from the train station, and can organse train or bus tickets for the next part of your journey. It is our priority to ensure our guests have a stess-free stay in Jaisalmer. So stop by the Dylan Guesthouse, a place run by travelers for travelers. As Bob Dylan said, "This land is your land, this land is my land. Sure, but the world is run by those who never listen to music anyway." Here, at Dylan Guest we are trying to change that statement one guest at a time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Dylan Cafe and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dylan Cafe and Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.