We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in India!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaisalmer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mirage
Save
You added Hotel Mirage to your Saves list
Near Maharaja Palace | On Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 118 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best stay in India!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as 2 19yr old female backpackers for 4 nights in March '13. We paid 250Rs (£3.10)  for the room, non AC. Breakfast not  included. Free wifi.

Room - we had a very sweet room on the first floor. Small but clean with cute pictures on the walls. The bed was firm with a good mattress, clean sheet. No mosquito net. The fan was strong. The bathroom was tiny but clean. No loo paper - bring/buy your own. Thankfully it was very quiet!! Good locks on the door. 

Food - Great rooftop restaurant. Ba is a superb cook, he made lunch and ate with us all on the first day. His momos are also to die for, as is the Chai that Lucky seems to be forever brewing!

Service - As everyone agrees, Ba is the most welcoming host. Nothing is too much trouble for him. Everything is "why not?" or "of course!" He takes time to meet every guest and to sit and chat with them properly. Lucky, his young side-kick is also discreet and charming, learning his tricks from the master host!

Location - Great location in the middle of the fort but also near the gates into town. Lots of nice little shops/ restaurants/temples around. 

Camel safari - we booked ours with Ba, 2 days for 1500Rs. I really think all our the same apart from the guides. Ba himself is a desert boy and it was fantastic to have him with us as he was the best guide, incredibly helpful and enthusiastic. 

A great place in a great location with great people. Highly recommended for budget travellers or anyone that wants to have some real Rajastani hospitality. 

5 stars. Love Lukyn & Lily!! Xxx

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
12
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dijon, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were there 5 nights and would not hesitate to come back. Very good place. Mister BA is a wonderfull man and Most helpfull> .Cheap prices for clean rooms> Is number mobile:9549509322
Anita and Robert

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaisalmer, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I would like to recommend for everybody visit this beautiful, peaceful place! This hotel situated inside ancient fort in Jaisalmer! This is the best choice for feel history of desert and spend great days with friendly people and good quality of service ! This is the best way for know more about Indian culture through the connect with local people and talking about history with delicious masala tea on the roof of the hotel =) and everybody have to make camel safari !!! spend night under the stars in the desert!!! this is unforgettable!! i wish for everybody for coming here!!! AND THANKS A LOT for proprietor of this hotel named Ba for organize everything and for his hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

That's very cool, especially in India where everybody wants to sell you something. Ba (the owner) is nice, relaxing, helpful - if you ask - and has always a cup of chai ready for you. The rooms (5) are nice, clean and spacious. The atmosphere is nice and I noticed mainly female guests.The food is tasty and the rooftop has a great view of Jaisalmer Fort temples and houses. Ba used to be a "safari man" so he can also give you good tips regarding your safari. Well done, Ba, keep on working good for you and your wonderful Jaisalmer!

Room Tip: Probably the brighter room is the one at the end of the stairs ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hotel Mirage is a clean and cozy guest house run by arguably the friendliest and most genuine owner in Jaisalmer named Ba the "desert boy". It's an ideal quality budget accommodation within the Fort. There's a large roof top terrace both covered and uncovered. You can have a chai with Ba or he can cook you a mean curry. There's no hot shower, but hot buckets are available free on request. As stated in Lonely Planet we should be trying to cut down on water consumption to preserve the Fort anyway. The rooms on the second floor have ensuite bathroom. Ba was kind enough to tour me around the Havelis and even showed me a great co-op. Ba never pressures you to purchase a camel safari unlike other guest houses I encountered. I asked him to arrange a safari and it was a fantastic experience and very reasonably priced compared to other safaris. Ba's place is great for meeting other backpackers as well. It was one of my favourite guest houses I stayed in during my 3 months in India. I would definitely recommend it to other backpackers.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stralsund, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a lovely place. Ba, the owner, is a great, warm hearted and caring person. He welcomes you with Chai in the Morning and enjoys having lovely people from all over the world around. He is a very kind and trustworthy person, who keeps his Hotel very clean and in good shape. He cares about everything by himself, no other staff is around. He has 4 lovely rooms to feel like home in. He prepares delicious food for you in his tiny but very clean kitchen. No need to go on a camel safari, he won't push you. He actually saved our trip to Jaisalmer, without him it would have been less beautiful. You can relax or do Yoga on his roof top (with a beautiful view). If you are into playing the guitar, you can play on Ba's. This place is simply amazing hidden inside the fort. The prices are actually too cheap, but he wants his guests to be happy! We stayed in a room on the ground floor, the cheapest with no attached toilet, but the public one was very clean. We felt very comfortable. I can highly recommend Ba's place. He is among all the rude and pushy business people in Jaisalmer someone to trust. Although his English is not perfect, you understand him very well and he is willing to learn and likes teaching classes from guests.

Room Tip: He has three lovely rooms on the first floor with attached bath. Very clean with some beautiful fabr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Luckily for us our friends had arrived in Jaisalmer a day before us so they went through all the hotel rejections due to the lack of booking a camel safari. When we arrived at the hotel we were introduced to Ba, the only person working at the hotel! Ba does absolutely everything at the hotel and his camel safari is not forced upon you let alone mentioned to you! When you stay at Ba's you make a friend, he is always up for a chai on the rooftop with you. Ba's rooms are very clean and very reasonably priced. I strongly suggest staying at hotel Mirage and having the pleasure of meeting Ba and his amazing dal fry!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirage

Address: Near Maharaja Palace | On Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is conveniently situated right out of the main square on Jaisalmer's Fort and has a direct view from the rooftop restaurant to the Maharaja Palace. Rooms with and without Air Conditioner and en-suite bathroom including hot water supply. Vegetarian Restaurant with Cooking Lessons available. The reception desk can also organize safari and jeep tours. Please see below details of the homestay my uncle runs Hello my name is Abhay Singh . I am a village man and have spent all my life in a village called Barna which is 40 km away from Jaisalmer. I am a camel driver and have been running camel safaris for the past 20 years . I can speak very good English. I would like to show tourist the real authentic desert life in my village. It is a very simple non touristic village near the desert national park. There are living about 25 families with a population of about 90 people in the village. You can stay with us and see the day to day life of villagers and learn more about Rajasthan culture. You can help the village sheep herder to take the sheep's for grazing, help milking the cows and learn how to cook authentic Rajasthan food. I will teach you how to command camels and how to put the saddle on them. In the evening you can sit with the village people and listen to communal discussions or listen to the music they play. During your home stay you can also go on a camel safari and see the most amazing sunrise, sunset, countless stars in the "akash ganga" and a lot of desert wildlife. We would be honored to welcome you in our village and would appreciate any education lessons you can give to our children and villagers. To book your home stay please contact my nephew Basawal (Ba) at Hotel Mirage: Hotel Mirage (near Maharaja Palace in the Fort) ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.