We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never! Remove this hotel from all lists.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Narayan Niwas Palace

Save Saved
You added Narayan Niwas Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Narayan Niwas Palace
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malka Pol, Jaisalmer 345001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 83 hotels in Jaisalmer
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Never! Remove this hotel from all lists.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011 via mobile

If I can I would rate as minus two stars.Every thing was badly maintained It should be stopped & its license cancelled immediately

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    8
    22
    12
See reviews for
24
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I and twelve others had a horrible experience on our stay at Narayan Niwas, Jaisalmer.
No Hot water, running or fetched, no drinking water, no room service, pathetic food and complete lack of common services.
Would not recommend to anyone coming to Jaisalmer. Even a smaller hotel would be better.

Room Tip: Better off with no room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Very badly maintained. used towels are thrown around the entire property just outside each room like show pieces. the place is not swept and mopped in months. Rests rooms are pathetic. the roof top restaurant which is the attraction of this property is not opened on regular basis. Wait period to get your room is anywhere between 30 - 60 mins from the check-in time of 1200 hrs. attitude of the staff is bad. They behave as if they are doing you a favor.

Room Tip: Do not bother choosing this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

As you enter the building, it gives you a feeling of grandeur and magnificance. The lobby, the courtyard, the jharokhas etc are bery inviting. The good experience ends there. The upkeep is rather bad. Leaking taps, inward water flow from the a/c duct, dirty buckets, sub-standard toiletries, non-functioning lifts speak volumes about management of the place.

The food and the services are best avoided. Of the two dishes that we ordered for dinner along with rice & breads, one dish & the salad arrived after we were almost through with the dinner!!

The grand building deserves a much more professional management.

Room Tip: If at all you decide to stay there, avoid groundfloor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The only hotel located inside the city (not the walled city).....it was a decent property...although small and congested...in a small lane in Jaisalmer town........Rooms were ok....the hotel is dark and gloomy....has a indoor swimming pool but rarely used by guests.....Service was good but Jaisalmer has better options for the price.

Only highlight is that you have a good view of the walled city from the rooftop restaurant....also it is very close to the walled city.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Wonderful location just next to the fort. A real heritage building with all modern amenities. We were there just at the end of good season and there was not enough gust in this huge building. The staffs treated us in very royal manner.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

This hotel was booked for me by my friend and I found out to be quite good. The food was very good. Ambiance was of a good Heritage property and the Fort view rooms were very good and spacious. The night dinner arranged at the courtyard with folk performers was quite Rajasthanish and gave a real feel of Holiday in Jaisalmer. The location is very central and within walking distance, but we chose to opt for an Auto Rikshaw instead as our kids were quite young. The hotel owner Dushyant is an excellent person and he took real good care of personal service for breakfast and in room service. It was good to see the owner involved in taking care of hotel guests in a personal way. The hotel also arranged for a stay in Sam Dunes Tent for us at the Royal Tents and the camel safari. It is fun to be on a camel safari and kids enjoyed a lot. I would recommend this hotel for family and kids and of-course for Group hangouts

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Narayan Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narayan Niwas Palace

Address: Malka Pol, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 83 hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Narayan Niwas Palace 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Narayan Niwas Palace, the only classified heritage hotel in the heart of the golden city Jaisalmer, stands tall as the "Flagship" of the hospitality industry.This nineteenth century ancestral property was restored and converted into a hotel in 1982. It's golden sandstone structures and intricate carvings are a tribute to the talent of the master craftsmen of the bygone era.A royal welcome awaits you on arrival, to be escorted to one of our 50 air conditioned rooms each bearing testimony to the ethnic grandeur and beauty of Rajasthan.Our restaurants and bars serve in style Indian, Chinese, Continental and Rajasthani cuisine coupled with the choicest wines, spirits and cocktails.As the sun rises from and sets into the desert with the "Golden Fort" of Jaisalmer in the background, our roof top restaurant & bar offer the most spectacular sight of the Thar desert. Our all weather indoor swimming pool or bawri is one of it's kind. A gymnasium and sauna add to the charm. We pioneered the desert safaris way back in the seventies with the eleven-day camel safari from Bikaner to Jaisalmer. Our tailor made excursions with camel & jeep safaris as well as camps are still an exotic desert adventure.At “twilight" the fort lights up, adding to your soaring spirits to make it all the more awesome. Our master artistes, widely known for their excellence in dance and local folk music, will make you endorse our claim that it is the best that Jaisalmer has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, MakeMyTrip and Otel so you can book your Narayan Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narayan Niwas Palace Jaisalmer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narayan Niwas Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.