We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Desert Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Desert Camp to your Saves list
Royal Desert Camp
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Sam Sand Dunes Opp. Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer 345001, India (Formerly Royal Desert Safaries Pvt. Ltd.)   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very very basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Set your expectations right. This is a very very basic place unlike some of the excellent tents i've stayed in ranthambore. The saving grace is that they have hot water between 7 am to 9 am and a good cultural show in the evening (the neighbouring resort was in contrast blaring loud recorded music). The location is good, right next to the sand dunes. You can choose to walk rather than take the camel. The food is ordinary and nothing much to write about. However, the staff was very friendly and forthcoming.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    30
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
19
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I am just back from jaisalmer trip and spent a day at 'royal desert camp'. I had seen '5 star' rating on tripadvisor and booked it but after coming back I am thinking, really? 5 stars? what for? Well I did have a good time but it was surely not worth 5 stars to me. Anyways, here is a more objective review:
Expecting the camp to be great, I arrived around 3PM to the camp only to see that there were hardly just 2-4 people (camp people, no guests) there. I had a fast checkin and I was told that the 'welcome drink' will be served in the evening. Well I guess I had some other definition of 'welcome'. Anyways, I was repeatedly told that you came very early and people will come only in evening. OK!! I was not aware of that/nobody told me that before. That too when I had driven 50kms away from jaisalmer just to reach here. I went into my camp and it had some used soaps and an unclean washroom and well no water. If I needed anything I had to go to the reception to ask for it. I went for the camel ride and the sand dunes just across the resort were indeed amazing. Camel ride was ok, the guy just took us from resort and dropped after 5 minutes at the sand dunes. We came back to nice tea/coffee and peanuts :) . Really? pea nuts? ok, then came pakoras and chicken tikkas much later which were not so great too. Folk dance/music was good but I was finding the loud bollywood music coming from other neighboring camps better than the 2-3 hour long folk program. Well if you like folk you know where to go. Breakfast was also just ok , nothing great just like the dinner. I dont know what other camps have to offer but based on my experiences I would perhaps just give this 3 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tezpur, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We enjoyed being at Royal Desert Camp on 3rd and 4th December, 2012. Camp site is very good, accommodation was comfortable, food and arrangements was fine, above all hospitality and care to the guests is highly recommendable

R.M.Keot and A.M.Chetia
Assam, India.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It was relly nice n wonderful experience which i cant ever forget... such a lovely place n awesome people. Anyone can check-out from there but none of them can leave...never!! Its a ideal place for some one who wants to get soaked it service, excitement, culture and hospitality. Mr.Singh made us SING and the entire service crew was great. The evening agenda was the highlight as it had culture (dance, music and everything in it) The food was good and the tents were very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Every thing is fantastic like tents quality, location, cleaniness,camel riding, folk dance, snacks, breakfast, shayari. Songs sung by local singer of jagjit singh and in their local language was very touchy. Music by wooden pieces and mouth instrument was awesome.However Dinner quailty needs to be improved. Mohit gurgaon

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooty, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

it is excellent to stay with families .service was good .rooms and bathrooms are very good.they guided me in finding the places to visit .the food was good and cost is also reasonable .it is also suitable for bachelor get together ..it will make us visit again .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Its a ideal place for some one who wants to get soaked it service, excitement, culture and hospitality. Mr.Singh made us SING and the entire service crew was great. The evening agenda was the highlight as it had culture (dance, music and everything in it)

The food was good and the tents were very clean and comfortable.

I wish i stayed for a couple of more days...But will definelty visit this place again .....Thank you team for making GOOD MEMORIES..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Desert Camp

Address: Sam Sand Dunes Opp. Sam Sand Dunes, Jaisalmer 345001, India (Formerly Royal Desert Safaries Pvt. Ltd.)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Desert Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT ACCOMONDATION.... The Camps and Safaris Captures the luxurious nostalgia of a bygone age of the Maharaja's Safari and Shikar camps, combined with innovative design demonstrating many of the skills and crafts of Marwar. The camp consists of tents, each with verandah, bedroom and bathroom. There is a large dining tent serving the best of Rajasthani Cuisine and a large open reception tent seating areas. The campfire is the focal point for the evening entertainment programme with cocktails and rhytms of the Thar - music, dancing, magicians, puppet shows, jugglers, flaming torches and camel parades..... read more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Royal Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Desert Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.