We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pabu Ki Dhani - unforgettable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pabu Ki Dhani eco Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaisalmer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pabu Ki Dhani eco Farm
Save
You added Pabu Ki Dhani eco Farm to your Saves list
Pohra, Jaisalmer 345001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 120 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Avignon, France
1 review
“Pabu Ki Dhani - unforgettable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

this is an amazing opportunity to get an 'inside' experience of life in the desert. It strikes a great balance between simplicity and basic comfort, in a setting that I will never forget. After just one week, we were really sad to leave Pabu, Capucine and their family, who had become our friends. Their love for the desert and its people had rubbed off on us and we had had the chance to see and share in some unique and amazing expeopiences. I heartily recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
27
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

As part of a 3-week tour of Rajasthan in February this year, we stayed for 2 nights at Pabu Ki Dhani and had the most wonderful experience which we will never forget. As well as visiting the main tourist spots of Udaipur, Jodhpur, Jaisalmer and Bikaner we were also eager to see and experience the way of life in some of the villages of Rajasthan on our trip. Pabu Ki Dhani is about a 45 minute drive from Jaisalmer in the Thar Desert. We knew the accommodation and facilities were going to be basic, but the friendliness and hospitality of Pabu, Capu and everyone else there soon made up for the lack of home comforts. We ate our freshly cooked meals by the camp fire and in the evenings we were entertained by Pabu and the adorable children singing and making music under the stars. We washed in a bucket of water heated over the fire and we needed a torch to find our way back to our hut and to the loo in the evenings but the whole atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle of the cities was so relaxing and peaceful. During our stay we visited a couple of local villages and saw the work that Pabu and Capu are doing with the local people, helping and encouraging them to resurrect their old crafts such as carpet making and pottery. All-in-all, a great experience.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We had one night at Pabu ki Dhani and it was wonderful. You are made to feel part of the family by Pabu and his own family. Home cooked meals, camel rides, visits to the local villages, plus dinner by camp fire singing local folk songs really made this a memorable stay. The accommodation is in a recently built mud hut with no electricity but it was incredible comfortable and I had the best sleep there I had had since arriving in India. It was soooo quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I had a lovely stay at this fabulous retreat. Far away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of India, with only the sound of chirping birds, Pabu ki Shani was a great place to relax and enjoy te desert.

Our hosts were friendly and helpful, the food lovely and the accommodation very comfortable and warm.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delemont, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We spend 4 days in the farm of Pabu and Capucine. It was a highlight during our 2 months trip in India. It is so far from the touristy atmosphere of Rajasthan, completely lost in the rough nature. The family are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed learning to cook chapati and singing around the fire camp. We slept 2 nights outside under a beautiful sky. During daytime, we went to a village trip and a camel safari. Both was great. We were able to discover the countryside way of life and get invited for many tchai.
One more very good point is that Pabu and Capucine created an association to help the Bhil people.

Thank you to all the people from Pabu-ki-Dhani!
We'll remember all our life this time staying with you.

Room Tip: The place worth for the people who like to get lost in the nature and enjoy a simple way of life. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

This Eco-village was one of the most relaxing parts of India that we experienced in our 3 month trip there. We were welcomed with a warm and loving smile from everyone and left with tears in our eyes. We experienced the real desert life and met some incredible people along the way.
They are just starting but are trying to bring the traditional ways of their people as well as hopefully building some infastructure like schools for girls (virtually unheard of in the whole region), aswell as providing for a forgotten people in the "New India".
We went camel trekking one day followed by a visit to communties in the area, that are being encouraged to reinvent themselves through their traditional ways of life.
It was really inspiring to hear the stories of the people who are trying very hard to turn their situations around through "Hard Work".
As for the village itself, It is very basic but at the same time doesn't feel like you are isolated with visitors from the community coming to visit the family that has started this project, every day. Their stories are touching and the idea of helping this worthy cause made it all the more important for to find a way to help them out any way we can.
They are not looking for charity but ar emore than willing to earn their livelyhood from showing you a piece of their world.

Only those who are looking for a new experience in India should go to this village. It is not there full of luxury but it isthere for relaxation and discovery of foreign cultures.



Good luck Cappi and Pabu
We'll definately be out to see you as soon as we can

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wengen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Pabu Ki Dhani is a dream of a find if you are looking to step off the usual tourist trail in Rajasthan. Leave behind your attachments to electricity, room service and water-on-tap and enjoy sharing the peace and quiet of the Thar Desert with your hosts Pabu and Capu and family. Pabu Ki Dhani is located about 40 minutes jeep drive from the city of Jaisalmer and they offer a transport to and from the station on arrival and departure. Also included in your booking is delicious, simple home cooked food, wonderful music around the campfire, dazzling night skies and as much desert knowledge as you can remember. There are five delightful separate buildings to book. Each was built in the traditional way using mud with thatched roofs and are simply furnished and secure. Three round huts sleep up to two people each and two rectangle buildings sleep up to 4 (maybe more). There are shared bathroom facilities. The beds are comfortable and blissfully quiet with only the birds as your alarm clock. The hosts live in a house about 20 – 30 metres away from the guest accommodation. There is a solar panel to recharge mobile phones and there is good coverage if you do feel like contacting the outside world. Water is precious, but they have a water-well and bucket showers are available. They have clean drinking water for their guests. The food is simple and tasty and plentiful. Once is gets dark you can rest by the fire, listening to the music and singing and watch as the night sky fills up with stars.
Capu, a French national, met locally born Pabu whilst she was travelling in Rajasthan and the couple fell in love. Pabu Ki Dhani is a relativity new enterprise and is involved in supporting the local community. If you want to visit the local artisans in the surrounding villages, then Pabu and Capu can be your guides. These tours help the skills stay alive in the community and are a source of income to the craftsmen and their families. These skills were dying out as the younger generation were finding stone quarrying more profitable, but less rewarding culturally. Pabu is keen to share his knowledge and will guide you around the local area pointing out the flora and fauna. You can also join in with helping out with animals and land if you want to really feel part of the family.
Overnight Camel Safaris can also be arranged for you. We spent a night in the dunes and it was magical.
Pabu and Capu are hoping that Pabu Ki Dhani will go from strength to strength and anticipate that it will be able to support a school in the near future which has an emphasis on teaching girls.
The hardest part was leaving and saying goodbye to our desert family after 4 amazing days. As we were deafened by the traffic and stressed out in Jaipur the next day, we longed to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pabu Ki Dhani eco Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pabu Ki Dhani eco Farm

Address: Pohra, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pabu Ki Dhani, an ecological farm in the Jaisalmer desert welcomes you to dicover real indian tribes rural life, respecting people and nature.You will stay in a peacefull eco-lodge and share the life of farmers, discover their artcrafts and traditions in villages around.Pabu Ki Dhani is supporting Malenbaï organisation who was created to help the desert tribes to survive throught artcraft, agriculture work, education... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pabu Ki Dhani eco Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.