We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Al dente, but bland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Italiano Om

Ristorante Italiano Om
Kund para near the Laxminath Temple on fort, Jaisalmer 345001 , India
9828809980
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 123 Restaurants in Jaisalmer
Cuisines: Italian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Al dente, but bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

PROS
- Good rooftop ambience and view of the streets below
- Average food

CONS
- For an Italian specialty place, the pasta was cooked properly, but the seasoning was bland

WOULD WE EAT THERE AGAIN: No

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    40
    11
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

On our first night in Jaisalmer we were out looking for an interesting place to eat at. Om sounded cool and hip and after walking several flights of stairs to get to the rooftop, we were not disappointed at first. The place was completely empty which isn't a great sign. We ordered beer and fries to begin with. So far so good. The meal however was average at best. Came in plates instead of bowls so got cold by the time it reached our table. I'm not sure if Jaisalmer has much better dining options but this one was just so so.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

After a week of curry we gave in and decided to try some Italian food. The chef convinced us by saying an Italian chef had taught him and we were too carbs-starved not to believe him. We had a margherita and a vegetarian pizza, the former was ok, the letter had a funny way of being "vegetarian" with capsicum and olives as its vegetables. They were alright, being in the desert at the border with Pakistan, however I would not say they were good or I wanted more. Moreover the service was quite funny, with one pizza being ready only after we finished the other one (and we were the only guests in this restaurant!). Also, the chef would not leave us alone, he came to the terrace and talked for all the time we were eating about how he learned to cook and how other restaurants said they served Italian food when it was not the case. That was quite annoying as we didn't know how to get rid of him, so we just paid and left, and never went back!

A note: do not confuse this restaurant with the OM restaurant that's right outside the fort

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
160omvyas, Owner at Ristorante Italiano Om, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
I was curious to enjoy your experiences in Jaiselmer. Didn't mean to be intrusive. Thanks for the honest review though, Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Italian food, ESPECIALLY for India!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This small restaurant had a great rooftop setting and view of the city. But more importantly the Italian food was as authentic as advertised. The chef explained to us that he had been trained by an Italian woman for two months in his home in exchange for her room and board. He said the woman had been a chef in Italy. Whatever the story, the food was amazing and the service great and speedy. My friend and I have been in India for three months now and had many "attempts" at Italian food, but this was definitely one of the best. My friend had a pizza and I had a roasted potato dish with olives and cheese, and a mushroom tomato soup (which was amazing!). Good prices also.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
160omvyas, Owner at Ristorante Italiano Om, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Glad you liked your experience here! Hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizzas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Small rooftop restaurant which serves very authentic Pizzas. The service is slow as according to owner everything is prepared fresh so it takes time. The place is very small so it is difficult to find a place. But overall a good eating joint with amazing view

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
160omvyas, Owner at Ristorante Italiano Om, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Glad you enjoyed it ) We are trying to improve our speed of delivery of food. Hopefully, the next time you come, I shall be back with your food in a flash!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Italiano Om also viewed

Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 

Been to Ristorante Italiano Om? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Italiano Om, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.