We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““An absolute gem -“Best camel safari in Jaisalmer ”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Deep Mahal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Deep Mahal to your Saves list
Hotel Deep Mahal
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Vyasa Para, Inside Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 120 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Barcin, Poland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
““An absolute gem -“Best camel safari in Jaisalmer ””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

deep mahal is a outstanding small boutique property situated inside the fort of Jaisalmer. I love the decor, so beautifully done, tasteful and well-maintained. The staff are very attentive and blatantly honest. them motto "We do not want our guests to be dissappointed in anyways" I would have been very happy there. I would recommend this guesthouse highly. Good location and great service.
Be sure to take the camel safari with them, safari was a very memorable experience. Singing and dancing and lots of fun! We chose a two night three day package that included a jeep transfer to the village, camel riding through ruins and an old fort, sand dunes, three meals a day, peaceful sleeping under the stars. The list goes on. Our safari guide mathar was best men i met in india , he was amazing as well and were very very hospitible! and can sing you some incredible songs by the fire Had an amazing time under the stars and the camel rides were worth it! --

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    35
    17
    11
    21
See reviews for
19
52
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This guesthouse has got good and big rooms for a budget traveler! No hot water but Rajasthan is to warm for that kinda stuff anyway. Johnny, the manager, is a really good guy and he will do anything to make you feel welcome and at home. He even gave us a lift on his motorbike when we we're late for a train! SO grateful for meeting this person!
Only negative thing is the restaurant which is slow and pricey. So sleep here and eat elsewhere! Thank you Johnny!!!!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 via mobile

We were recommended Deep Mahal by our Udaipur gueststay, Nukkad. Upon arriving in Jaisalmer we were picked up by Little Johnny and sat at the front desk and offered chai. The room was great value, a sizable and comfortable bed, hot shower although the grates in the bathroom and bedroom meant you could hear everything in lobby and on street.

While Johnny and his staff were good natured you could tell there was a real determination to get us to choose their camel safari, however having done our research we realised we could get the same experience somewhere else for half the price. After turning their offer down, understandably they seemed disappointed although unlike other reviews, they weren't unpleasant towards us. Later however, several of the staff did question our decision to go with Pleasant Haveli (who do a great value safari by the way) telling us the safari we had chosen wasn't very good and we had made a mistake, just what you want to hear after committing to paying, so that whacked of sour grapes.

As a means of recompense however we decided to eat at their rooftop restaurant where you're up next to the temple roof, though not much else. The lighting is dim and the atmosphere not that great. The food however was pretty decent and fairy priced. Again however the experience was soured by the chef who in requesting we pay there and then instead of adding it to our room tab, then didn't have change to give us, despite us adding a tip and told us he'd give it the following morning after ordering breakfast - an obviously ploy to get us to continue to use their restaurant.

The next morning when checking out same chef somehow still had no change to return to us meaning we had to give even more as a tip.

All in all a mixed experience, the room and food is nice, however these few issues made it at times uncomfortable and their initial pleasantness seem a forced facade to get you on to their safari.

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Idaho
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We liked staying IN the fort, just not at this particular place. They didn't twin bed rooms, and the rooms were too small to put an extra cot in, other than a mattress on the floor. The room had its own bath, but was a dark place to which we will try to find alternatives if we visit Jaisalmer again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Small but great hotel. Would like to give a thumbs up to the excellent services of deep mahal where I stayed with my family for four nights...staff was very polite and helpful...these guys ensured our stay was comfortable...the interiors r beautifully done...food is decent... We went to safari on camels, camel driver are gem of desert. Must enjoy your night under the stars with local food and music. It was just like for me heaven and positive vibes and energy all around us. I promise it will be one of the best safari tours you will never forget.
Thanks to deep mahal that I m planning to visit Jaisalmer again soon...highly recommend​. ​it was an absolute delight to stay at ur P​lace​..u rock :)

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thakhaek
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We stayed here for a couple of nights when we first arrived in Jaisalmer. We were shown three different rooms ranging from 600 to 800 and negotiated 500 for the cheapest room, which was still nice and had an internal bathroom. There was a problem with our hot water so we were moved to another room for no extra cost, but this only had hot water for 1 minute and never again and ran out of water entirely the next day. We were offered the camel safari with the hotel and told that they go "deep" into the desert unlike other companies which went to "tourist places". There were different costs for different experiences and I couldn't work out what we would actually be paying for. The manager kept telling me to talk to people who were about to return from safari and ask them about their experience. The top quote was 2000/day which I found excessive given that other places charge half that and I'm a long term traveller on a budget. In the end I was frustrated by not being given a clear answer about where we went and what we received so we went with Real Desert Man who were simple and clear. Two nights 3 days for 3100. Also, the food in the restaurant is the most expensive in town. So, the rooms are really pretty and inexpensive and I'm sure the safari is nice but there are lots of nice places to stay here with views over the town.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Everything was just perfect! The location is great, they have a rooftop terrace with the nice view,food is delicious and rooms are very clean. The staff was really helpful and always in a good mood. They were helping me to buy train tickets and provided everything that I asked for. They picked me up and dropped me off at the train station for free. I went to the camel safari organized by the owner and it was an amazing experience. Atmosphere is really laid back and friendly which makes deep mahal one of the best places I stayed at in India. Definitely want to come back and would reccomend it to everyone!“Great place to stay in Jaisalmer”

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Deep Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deep Mahal

Address: Vyasa Para, Inside Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Deep Mahal 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Jaisalmer one can find Hotel Deep Mahal Haveli, a small family run hotel carved in glowing local golden sandstone, sharing thousand year old Jain temples with comforts and feeling of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Deep Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Deep Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.