We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surja Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Surja Hotel to your Saves list
Surja Hotel
East Fort Wall, In the Fort | Inside fort east wall, Jaisalmer 345001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 118 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

i stay here for 2 nights:).this hotel has the best view in Jaisalmer.i went to couple another place in jaialmer,but no where can compare: )the roof-top resturant have really good ,and the sofa outsde is amazing!!!!!the staff here is very helpful and friendly.they give u a lot of useful imformation,even they take u for a ride!!!!!(awesome).the room s very clean: )and have a lovely balcony

highly recommend!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh B, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear madam , I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja
09414761394
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    65
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
79
66
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnie
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great intimate place built within the walls on the boundary of the Fort over looking the Aladin like fairytale city full of elaborate shops and markets, friendly helpful staff / friends. Water is warm, food is great. The view is amazing. Good connections with cammel trekking. Affordable and stylish.Jaisalmer is a place in which should not be missed Garam garam

Room Tip: All are good, water is warm and communication/ food is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh B, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have stayed in Surja last year, but only now managed to write a review... ;( Arrived at 4am. Yogi, one of the two managers came to pick me up on his motorbike. Treated me with a good Chai and a nice room with a view until my room was to be ready. The hotel is located in the fort with an amazing view from the rooftop lounge. My room had a small balcony facing the street with an interesting everyday life view. Quiet, clean and with a hot shower. Both Yogi and Raj, the managers, were very attentive and friendly. Enjoyed it for 10 days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh B, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had the most amazing time here ... the guys that run it go well beyond the call of duty - he ended up bringing a rickshaw to us as we'd arrived at 4am and couldn't get one! Did the camel safari through Surja Hotel and would HIGHLY recommend it .... all round great experience, beautiful rooftop to lounge around on with a nice cold beer and survey the city below! Couldn't recommend it highly enough - will definitely be coming back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh B, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Madam, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Felt very safe as a woman travelling alone. Great location in the fort. Don't sleep outside! Jaislamer is so hot & you will need a cool place. Food is amazing! All staff were very cool & welcoming. I loved my room. Finally I had toilet paper & 2 towels. Very fair prices for a double room with a beautiful view. Loved my balcony & especialy the roof!!! Great view & nice to sit after warm & long day. It's a place I will go back & stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh B, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Madam, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Two things stand out about Surja Hotel in Jaisalmer: the location and the service. It's set inside the fort, and the view from the rooftop restaurant is spectacular. Lie in one of the cushioned beds outside and watch the sunrise as you enjoy your morning chai. The cosy rooms have great rustic character. The managers Raj and Yogi do everything they can to be the perfect hosts, even taking me into town to see the sights and experience the best lassi in India! They were also very kind when I came down with a nasty throat infection and cough. This place is also good value when you look at other places inside the fort. Staying at the Surja Hotel made my stay in Jaisalmer great, and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Stay in the Maharaja room and enjoy the window seat with the amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh B, Manager at Surja Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Surja
Best Regards
Raj
Hotel Surja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed there because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor. Total Mistake! Rooms were good 10 years ago. The guys who run this hotel seem careless in maintaining it in good conditions and more eager to sell you an overpriced safari (almost 3 times what we payed directly with Ganesh Travels).

Beds are falling down and the matresses are sustained by a brick pile on the middle! The wood structure of the bed creaks with every move, so it is really uncomfortable. If you pass your finger on any piece of furniture you will find a dust and filth from a long time ago.

We tried 3 rooms, and asked everytime to clean them and change the sheets for clean ones, another family in the next room had the same problem... we couldn't beleive it!

Terrace view is great and food is not bad, but just look at the pillows in the terrace they haven't been washed not once in their lifetime!

My advice would be to first arrive and see it with your own eyes, prices aren't super cheap so see a couple more hotels and decide...

For us it was one of the worst hotels in India, and we ARE budget travelers!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surja Hotel

Address: East Fort Wall, In the Fort | Inside fort east wall, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The famous rooftop view at Surja Hotel & Restaurant has been attracting guests for years. Our relaxed atmosphere and hospitality is what has people always coming back. The restaurant and hotel are housed within the walls of Jasailmer’s 850 year old fort. Our rooftop lounge and jharoka balconies in each room offer some of the cities most impressive views and a free Wi-Fi connection which make you keep in touch with your relatives and friends. Whether you need a room, a meal, a camel trek, or would just like to come see the view and enjoy a free cup of chai, we hope you will visit us when you are in Jaisalmer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Surja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surja Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.