We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come & Enjoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bhang Shop

Bhang Shop
Fort Road, Khejer Para, Manak Chowk, Amar Sagar Pol, Jaisalmer 345001, India
9571825008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 121 Restaurants in Jaisalmer
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Somewhere
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Come & Enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I visited the Bhang shop in 2012 without really knowing what to expect. As it turns out, the Bhang Shop sells ground up marijuana lassis, ranging from light to "super duper sexy strong". Naturally we spent everyday we had in Jaisalmer in that shop.

Mr. Bhang, the owner of this fine establishment, is the coolest dude you can imagine. He explained every detail of his product and gave us good counsil and we had some very friendly and insightful conversation. This shop is such a nice break from all the hassle going on in the street, it's like stepping into a really laid back chillout zone. Mr. Bhang may try to sell you some funky pipes and a camel safari, what it's all good fun - and we even bought the camel safari trip, which was done by his brother, and it turned out to be really really nice (of course we brought some magic bhang cookies!).

TL;DR: If you happen to be in Jaisalmer and like to get a little tipsy, definitely check out this shop!! :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    25
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Original Awesome Bhang Lassi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I am a westernized Indian and can guarantee that this Bhang Shop will give you a good run for your money. The lassis with or without bhang are awesome!
Dr Bhang will also give you local advice that other shop owners will not, hes not there to try rip you off or make a lot of money, he really cares about your stay.
This place is more than a shop, its also a meeting place for like minded people. When i came here i met people from all around the world. From Italy to Canada. It was a lot of fun.

Now the bhang, he has lassis,cookies and just plain mary jane.
This is great stuff and very cheap by any standard! Dont come to Jaisalmer without visiting this shop :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Make sure it's the right one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The proper Dr bhang's bhang shop is now called the lassu shop. The 'government official shop' merely paid the local officials more to have a monopoly on the shop's name and provides nothing near the service.
Make sure you find the right place near the entrance to the fort and enjoy the strong cookies on a few journeys - you won't be disappointed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The magic carpet ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Dr. Bhang's bhang lassi is one of the smoothest and best I've ever had. Upon one hour after consumption, the camel ride felt like a magic carpet ride and me being lifted halfway in Mid Air.

Make sure you get the correct shop- the name of the shop is now changed to "Lassi Shop" due to political reasons. There's a phony "Bhang Shop" in Fort Parking; approximately 300m from the real one. To make sure you're on the right one, go in and ask for the manager- "Dr. Bhang". Then, ask for the written reviews others have left down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaoxing, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lassi shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Look for the small shop to the right of the main fort entrance. Like others said this is now called "Lassi shop". This is the original shop and the one you may have seen on documentaries. Now someone else has payed more money for the title of "government approved" so they can't put that on the sign but its all good, the other shop has been making people sick.

I tried the lassi and took some cookies... they hit the spot... but take it easy because it is strong!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bhang Shop also viewed

Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 

Been to Bhang Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bhang Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.