We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure it's the right one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bhang Shop

Bhang Shop
Fort Road, Khejer Para, Manak Chowk, Amar Sagar Pol, Jaisalmer 345001, India
9571825008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 123 Restaurants in Jaisalmer
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Make sure it's the right one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The proper Dr bhang's bhang shop is now called the lassu shop. The 'government official shop' merely paid the local officials more to have a monopoly on the shop's name and provides nothing near the service.
Make sure you find the right place near the entrance to the fort and enjoy the strong cookies on a few journeys - you won't be disappointed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    26
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The magic carpet ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Dr. Bhang's bhang lassi is one of the smoothest and best I've ever had. Upon one hour after consumption, the camel ride felt like a magic carpet ride and me being lifted halfway in Mid Air.

Make sure you get the correct shop- the name of the shop is now changed to "Lassi Shop" due to political reasons. There's a phony "Bhang Shop" in Fort Parking; approximately 300m from the real one. To make sure you're on the right one, go in and ask for the manager- "Dr. Bhang". Then, ask for the written reviews others have left down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaoxing, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lassi shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Look for the small shop to the right of the main fort entrance. Like others said this is now called "Lassi shop". This is the original shop and the one you may have seen on documentaries. Now someone else has payed more money for the title of "government approved" so they can't put that on the sign but its all good, the other shop has been making people sick.

I tried the lassi and took some cookies... they hit the spot... but take it easy because it is strong!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The one and only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It's one the best kept secrets (or may be not anymore...thanks to the zillions of travel shows)...the one and only Licensed place to get Bhang....had to search a bit for it...and don't fall for the "private" shops...there is only ONE governement approved and managed shop...near the bike/car parking area...ENJOY..but with restraint :-P

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We were 4 people who rarely drank bhang lassis before. In the bhang shop, which was the gov. legalized one, we drank one strong cold coffee and one light lassi. We shared one for two. After 2 hours we started feeling terribly bad. The owner of our hotel told us that the owner of the bhang shop changed lately. I don't recommend this place at all. We even hat to cancel our camel safari on the next day, because also on the next morning we felt terrible.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bhang Shop also viewed

Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 

Been to Bhang Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bhang Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.