We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dr Bhang is a genius!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bhang Shop

Bhang Shop
Fort Road, Khejer Para, Manak Chowk, Amar Sagar Pol, Jaisalmer 345001, India
9571825008
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #18 of 112 restaurants in Jaisalmer
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dr Bhang is a genius!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Bhang is a very mild form of cannabis and is legal in india. We visited this shop and purchased some cookies which were great especially before going into the fort and into the desert!

For the person below who wrote about it not being a government authorised shop - the shop is outside a police station. It is quite publicly stating that it sells a form of cannabis. If this was illegal I would have thought they would have been closed down by now!

P.S there are two bhang shops - the one closest to the entrance to the fort is the shop you want to visit

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    51
    19
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Worth trying!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The good thing about the place is what he sells, obviously! Not expensive and good stuff. There is limited variety. Chai, lassi, cookies etc. Staff can promptly answer any questions you may have. One of those places where you can find like minded travellers. Interesting shop!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Lassi Shop: you should try everything once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

AT LEAST once. Actually, I went twice. The mango lassie tastes really good, it works, too. The tiny and sparsely decorated room's staff is friendly and can help out with all kinds of infotmation. The really good thing about thr Lassie Shop though is that this is just a great place to meet other travellers - and the interesting kind. Plus it's one of the examples where the recommendation in guide books has done no harm. If I should ever return to Jaisalmer, I'd pay this establishment yet another visit.

PS: I hope Tripdavisor will soon change the name of this establishment on their website, as a new shop has opened who have taken over the name "Bhang Shop" from the original place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“was a good fun...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

liked the bhang cookies and the chai masala...the shopkeeper also was quite helpful and was interesting to know that its legal in india..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Is it really authorised?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have my doubts that the shop is really authorised by the government because they refused to give us a receipt. He tried to hard sell his stuff but since we insisted on a receipt - which would be a must in any government shop - and he only wanted to offer us his business card. So we declined to buy anything.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bhang Shop also viewed

Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 

Been to Bhang Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bhang Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.