We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Sand Dunes

Sam Sand Dunes
Jaislmer to Dhanana via Sam, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 693 Attractions in Rajasthan
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sam Sand Dunes are situated at a distance of approximately 42 km from the city of Jaisalmer. Located in the midst of the Thar Desert, these sand dunes are amongst the most famous ones in Rajasthan.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

this was my first visit to the sand dunes and was expecting them to be endless as in movies. They are not endless. However the quality of sand was extremely good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    204
    91
    33
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
128 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Manic and a little cheesy, but fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I can't imagine with all the guide book info that you would be surprised at the frantic and extremely touristy experience that Sam Sand Dunes is, but it's fun, the touts not aggressive and it's very colorful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Heart of Jaisalmer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Enjoy a trip to Sam Sand dunes with enough time in hand.Explore deeper terrains, experience a camel ride & wait for the setting sun to imbibe the magic of nature. Truly unforgettable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“quite touristy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

i was there for a safari and evening program. but for me it is too touristy - there are nices places for a safari and more quiet, where you can really enjoy the desert

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The most famous destination in Jaisalmer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I do not know how sand dunes are names but if they were to be classified, I think Sam would win the award for the most famous one. Instead of haggling with camel riders and hunting for dinner places, arrange a "package" with your cab driver and he will set it all up for you.

We opted for a camel (named Michael Jackson) ride and the handler took us for a chatty journey to the sunset point. The view and the location was lovely. Remember to have your warm clothes handy as the temperature drops suddenly after sunset.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Sand Dunes also viewed

Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 

Been to Sam Sand Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Sand Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.