We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Asian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malaka Spice

Malaka Spice
Lane No. 5, North Main Road | Koregaon Park, Opposite Oxford Properties, Pune 411001, India
(020) 26136293
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 4,055 Restaurants in Pune
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Venice
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Asian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I like this place a lot. The food is excellent and the variety of it is huge. You can taste different traditional asian foods from different Asian Countries. Great and quick Service. During the wk-end advance booking is reccomended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    252
    58
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went to Malaka Spice a few days ago and ordered the fire cracker shrimp and the chicken and peanut wontons to start, then moved on to the coriander rice and red curry with shrimp. We finished up with the brownie and ice cream, and the apple pie and ice cream.
Nothing came up short. My husband, who doesn't approve of most American desserts reproduced here locally, was quite pleasantly surprised and polished off his apple pie and ice cream with relish.

The only downer was that there were folks with rowdy kids and the servers could have requested that they quiet their tykes down and make it a more pleasant experience for the rest of the us, however that didn't happen. We also requested to try out some wine so we could finalize our selection. That didn't happen either so we didn't land up ordering any wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Visited this restaurant second time with friends for Lunch on Sunday.

Though the place was quite busy, getting table was not very difficult after 5 minutes waiting as entrance.
Malaka Spice is a place very popular among Pune young crowd and many foreigners.
The restaurant was quite noisy, so it was very difficult to hear conversations on our own table .
They have endless menu with dishes from all over south east Asia, so making a choice is very difficult.
We ordered lemony Steamed Prawns which were good,
Thai Green Curry, generous serving but somehow lacking in the freshness of Thai curry you get in Thailand.
Curry leaf Mutton– Mutton was not very good so kind of average dish.
And Singapore style chicken- nothing to write home about
With Steamed rice and noodles.

Deserts (Chocolate brownie with Ice cream, Apple pie with ice cream, Brown Sticky rice with coconut ice cream & mango ) were nice. But somehow I could not get distinct taste of Mango and coconut Ice cream in my desert.


Total Damage: 4.5 K for 4 with a bottle of Indian wine and 2 bottles of mineral water

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“An experience relived”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

A favourite restaurant of mine, we revisited on a Saturday night for a birthday treat!
Bustling place, delectable cuisine ( both Thai, Malaysian and Chinese) and personalised service.
Only on Saturday nights advance booking is advisable and quick service may need little cajoling of the waiters.
Economical to order a pitcher of beer!
Valet parking is effective

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb Food, great interiors but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was never a fan of Thai dood. But wow, what a dinner it was yesterday!! Exceptionally good food. They have both indoors and outside dining. We chose inside, which turned out to be very noisy due to a large party of school goers.
Service was nothing much to talk about.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malaka Spice also viewed

Pune, Maharashtra
 
Pune, Maharashtra
 

Been to Malaka Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malaka Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.