We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced and run down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Pune

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Pune to your Saves list
Le Meridien Pune
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raja Bahadur Mill Road, Pune 411001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 203 Hotels in Pune
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“over priced and run down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

stayed here for four nights and found the hotel very dated and a bit run down. food was adequate, didn;t make me violently ill. first room they put me in was a smoking room and it stank so they changed me to a non-smoking which was better, there seems to be more smoking rooms than non smoking rooms. stayed at the leela palace in bangalore before coming here and it was so much better and a hundred dollars cheaper than the le meridien. they really gouge you in Pune, maybe that;s because of the lack of options. checked out the O hotel while i was there and its very modern and clean and for about the same price as the meridien so i'll try that next time i go. staff at the meridien were great but that's common in Indian hotels. the roof top pool needs a major going over. the lounge chairs were dirty and soiled from constant use without cleaning and the towels were very used and threadbare. the concrete around the pool is cracked and chipped. the hotel is situated right next to the train station so train engines are blowing their horns constantly. i wouldn't stay here again unless it was absolutely necessary or after a major reno.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    217
    85
    23
    9
See reviews for
52
36
61
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
942 reviews 942 reviews
313 hotel reviews
Reviews in 296 cities Reviews in 296 cities
1,344 helpful votes 1,344 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

If you're looking for a 5 star hotel or anything near to 5 stars the Le meridien and the Taj are the only places to stay in Pune.

Sometimes I don't understand Tripadvisor. I've seen the #1 (Lemon Tree) and #2 (St Laurn). These two hotels are 3 star hotels located outside the city in the new business area. Even you've got business there better stay in the center since Pune is for sure one of the more beautiful Indian cities.

After reading Tripadvisior I've been positively impressed when entering the lobby of the Le Meridien. It's a quite impressive and nice hotel with very friendly staff.

The suite I got was huge and nicely furnished. Nothing looked dated or used. Well, the room was facing the main railway station and it got some noice (not bad, no problem to sleep) but on the other side it has been very interesting to watch what's going on there. But if you're noice sensitive ask for a room facing the back of the hotel.

The executive longe has been so-so. The snacks were okay, the frsh juices good.

A "high" of the hotel is the restaurant at the roof-side terrace (at the pool). Here you can dine quite good Indian cusine and relax from the stress of the day.

Next time in Pune I'll stay at the Le Meridien hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel many times on business. It is a business hotel and it is always very busy so book way in advance. On this occaision I needed to stay over an extra night and even though I am a starwood preferred card holder I was refused due to high occupancy as usual. The hotel rooms are not the best and a bit foisty. Given I had to find an alternative room I will choose to stay elsewhere from now on when visiting Pune as the Meridien is not unique and expensive, there is nothing particularly good about the hotel and there is plenty of choice ouside ie Taj Blue Diamond, Sun & Sand etc which are all of similar standard but cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

Stayed here on business twice in the same trip during August so got to try different rooms. The hotel is one of several in Pune recommended by my employer. Rooms are clean with all the features you would expect of a normal business hotel. Staff are very helpful. Tried all of the restaurants and found the chinese/Thai to be my favourite. Not sure I would class it as 5 star but i would stay again

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

For anyone wanting anything close to a 5 star experience - this is the only hotel to stay at in Pune!

The hotel is about a 20 minute drive (depending on the traffic conditions) from Pune airport. A word of advice for business travellers: fly to and from Pune from wherever your international flight comes in to India from - especially if it is Mumbai. There are often major traffic issues between Mumbai and Pune that can result in journeys being up to 5 hours long each way. Flights are cheap - Jet Airways is a very good domestic airline.

I have stayed at many of the worlds top hotels, so have very high expectations of every hotel I stay in. This is not a good 5 star hotel on a global scale - however it is definitely a 5 star hotel by Indian standards. The rooms are a little dated but comfortable and clean. The hotel is a little run down overall, but nothing that particularly stands out.

My overall experience was good and I would go back.

In no order, here are some of my various observations:

1. All the staff were very friendly and genuinely wanted to help guests enjoy their stay;
2. The was no apparent ‘tipping culture’ which was refreshing;
3. Make sure you get a room as far away from the train station opposite the entrance of the hotel as possible – this is often very noisy throughout the night. I think I stayed in room 740 which is one of the rooms furthest away.
4. The hotel has good facilities and is almost like a little resort. I played Squash and table tennis most days and used the Sauna – all facilities are in good condition and readily accessible.
5. I was given a complementary massage as my stay was greater than one week. In India, it is illegal for Women to massage Men, and vice versa. If you are uncomfortable being massaged by someone of the same sex, the massages are probably not for you. No need to say anymore.
6. The hotel food is good and generally safe. I particularly enjoyed the rooftop Indian restaurant and the Chinese/Tai restaurant ‘Spice’ – both are worth a visit. The Chinese/Tai restaurant has a great head chef called Sunjay, who will often come and chat with customers and make custom dishes. The only downside of that restaurant is it often lacks atmosphere.
7. The nightclub ‘Scream’ is worth a quick visit on a Friday night for a couple of drinks. Although don’t go if you find smokers offensive – everyone was smoking in there.
8. My room had access to the ‘club floor’, although none of the other guests I talked to (who also had access to it) really knew why/how they came to get it. You should ensure you have access to this as part of your stay, as it comes with some good perks, especially if you enjoy a few drinks in the evening.
9. Some of the lower level staff had vey poor English skills and were often very frustrating to deal with.
10. The travel desk was hopeless – I would suggest you contact directly whoever you plan on using them to contact.
11. There were a few minor charges I was unhappy with on Checkout - with a bit of pressure, the hotel was happy to remove them.

  • Liked — Hotel Quality
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

I've stayed here many times over the past 4-5 years. As usual, the hotel was very clean, high quality rooms, and excellent service. Multiple power outages in the city were handled flawlessly by the hotels backup systems (just give them 10-30 seconds to kick in). I'll keep coming back. It will be interesting to see how the hotel copes with the competition offered by the new hotels under construction in the city.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

The Meridien is excellently located in the center of Pune. Makes for a moderate dirve to everywhere in the city.

Rooms areup-to-date, clean, and excellently maintained. Even though the main train station is across the street, you wouldnt know it - very quiet inside.

Service is all-encompassing, attentive and skilled. The staff knows how to help business travellers be efficient and effective. On-site car service is responsive and professional.

The three restaurants are all very good and cover Indian, Chinese and European cuisine.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Pune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Pune

Address: Raja Bahadur Mill Road, Pune 411001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pune
#5 Spa Hotel in Pune
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pune
#13 Family Hotel in Pune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Pune 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built to evoke a royal Indian Palace, Le Meridien Pune strikes the perfect balance between old-world grandeur and contemporary comfort. Guests enjoy a world of refined hospitality, as well as easy access to the city’s business and cultural hubs. Whether dancing the night away at the electrifying nightclub Scream. Exercising in our four-story fitness facility Esprit. Or celebrating in one of the magnificent banquet halls—Le Méridien Pune delivers unforgettable experiences every time. Our 177 guest rooms are defined by a cosmopolitan sophistication, rendered unique by the addition of authentic local artwork, fabrics and furnishings. Facing the dramatic Pune skyline, each room creates a haven of style, comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Le Meridien Pune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Pune Hotel Pune
Pune Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Pune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.