We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basically a fat farm to lose weight” 1 of 5 stars
Review of KARE Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pune
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KARE Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat
Save
You added KARE Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat to your Saves list
Village Gonawadi | Mulshi Lake, Mulshi Khurd, Pune 411021, India (Formerly Mulshi Lake Retreat Accommodation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 337 Specialty Lodging in Pune
Los Angeles, California
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“basically a fat farm to lose weight”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a place where people go to lose weight. Period. There is absolutely nothing else there... You get body type specific diet, go onto detox - all of which is that you will not get any food. And because of remote location, you'll simply have absolutely no way of getting any, thus, you'll lose weight.
Treatments 1100rps/day consist of you being slathered in sticky sesame oil, completely naked, with therapist (local village girl) just rubbing you for an hour or so. There are couple other massages, all geared towards weight loss. Oil very difficult to wash the smell off, not to mention your hair will remain oily if not washed 2-3 times.
Naturally people will lose weight, but you would lose weight anyways if you'd go on a fast.
Daily yoga consists of an hour in the morning where delusional and grumpy old guy berates overweight students... If that would happen in US, he not only would be sued for discrimination, but also would never ever be allowed to "teach" anyone again. All he could teach you is how not to be... Rude comments, snide remarks were daily "treats", not to mention unsafe yoga practice when he would just come and push you (if you're unable to reach your toes, for example) from behind or sideways.

Nutritionist girl was a stickler to "you have to do it because it is ayurveda", with zero concern that I was losing weight (i didn't come to lose weight there but to work on my hormones, but was put onto this weighloss detox anyways), losing balance and strength to even walk. Mind you, I was 51kg (110lb) at arrival.

Overall, I would never recommend this place because of my personal experience there. Because of this place my trip to India was ruined. Complete insensitivity from the staff (nutrition person) was the key.

Living situation was ok. Beds were like hardboard, a lot of bugs inside the rooms. You pay for bottled water.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
7
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

For someone looking to get out of his or her busy, stressful city life routine and reset your body and mind, Kare is a perfect place.

Away from the city, the location is great with a magnificent view of the lake and a great short trekking course on the hill. Doctors and therapists are professional and very attentive – all the staff at Kare is very warm and they make you feel that you are in good hands.
The meals, therapies (massages and other treatments) and medicines are based on Ayurveda, personalized to each individual, so you not only feel great with the detox, but here you also have the chance to take care of your problems that you may have had.
I came home not only feeling great and with the lovely memory of my stay, but my own personalized daily yoga sequence that the doctor made for me, knowledge of what type of food is good for me, and some Ayurveda medicine. Kare helps you to reset your body and mind and also to continuously lead a healthier, balanced life style after you come back to the city. I would love to make this an annual trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

In India, there really isn't a line between "healthcare" and "retreat" or resort. The difficult part about coming to this country as a foreigner with a serious health issue, is being able to find the right balance between treatment and ambiance. While hospitals here may have more experienced doctors, the beauty of seeking a holistic cure is being in a clean, positive and natural environment with yoga and diet; the state of most hospitals here is a far cry from this. Still one must be careful to discern between somewhere to go for a retreat and somewhere to go for serious treatment in a resort atmosphere.

After reading all the reviews, I made the trip here first without booking. Though I have a serious issue, I refuse to pay for treatment without first visiting and meeting the team who will be treating me. Though it was a long journey here, I did not feel that the doctor here was very thorough or welcoming nor did I appreciate the awkward moutain slope it is located on. The tariff here is also high comparitively speaking.

I came to india looking for somewhere to really heal with both the medical component and the lifestyle component. I did not find either here and decided to look elsewhere. This may be perfect for a weekend retreat to relax but I would encourage anyone looking for a cure to ask specific questions about how the doctor would read and treat your problems specificially first and make sure the response is both thorough enough and reassuring to gain your confidence.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at KARE Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for reviewing KARE Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat.

We are sorry for your negative experience at KARE and given a chance would want to erase this off your mind by serving you better than before.

Regards. KARE Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have just returned from my third stay at KARE. If you would like to (or have to) do something for your health, you are in the best of hands here!
Weekend or even day programmes are available, however, one benefits most from 10 days or more.
Wonderful, friendly staff. The doctors are very experienced, so are the massage therapists. A stay at KARE really consists of 4 components. Ayurvedic medical treatment and detox (great doctors!), massage treatments (wonderful massage therapists), change of diet including detailed explanations from ayurvedic dieticians according to your very own body type and YOGA! The daily Iyengar Yoga sessions are amazing and you can watch your body getting into shape within days.
I especially recommend the treatment for obese people. You will learn to eat less again and will not even miss anything while at Kare. The powder massages literally rub off your cellulite and the detox will make you feel young and fresh, with your blood results being perfect afterwards (bringing cholesterol, bad liver results and so on right down). It gives you a kick start and you can easily loose 3-4 solid kgs a week.
But everybody coming to KARE has a different ailment or focus. This place is perfect for it, as it treats everyone INDIVIDUALLY, also during the yoga sessions.

Another healing aspect is the beautiful nature surrounding the place and the lake below.

One really relaxes, lets go of any worries and detoxes not only the body, but also the mind.

The perfect place to get rid of stress or declutter one's mind, heart and soul!

Room Tip: Somebody already mentioned, you either need to climb up or down to reach your room. What to do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We came to Kare for 10 days after Christmas and underwent the de-tox program. The yoga, the friendly and helpful staff, the serene location and delicious food - all made our stay a very good experience. Because Kare is small ie: caters for about 20 guests, you get to meet people from all over the place. I really liked the fact that Kare is small. I spent time at an Ayurvedic resort in Kerala the year before which had about 100 guests and was quite impersonal and felt rather touristy.

The yoga is very good at Kare, at first I wondered how I'd manage with 3.5 hours a day, but very quickly we looked forward to our morning yoga. My husband, who had never practiced yoga before, now makes it part of his daily routine.

The Ayurvedic massages were also very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Staying at Kare has been like staying in a friends home. Very warm and wellcoming staff, simple and good food, great setting and views from the many terraces. Very nice and interesting guests to share meals, yoga sessions and the whole experience with. Kare is small and the perfect example of "small is beauifull". The ayurvedic treatments are given by smiling ladies and are great and taylormade. Doctors are always accessible as it is the kitchen, if you wanta bottle of Bisleri or just to have a look at it. The yoga hall is equipped with the best props disigned by BSK Iyengar. I wish I could go back avery week end

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at KARE Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for your feedback.

Wishing you best of Health & Happiness. We look forward to have you again at KARE.

Regards,

KARE Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

it is a rustic place and not a five star resort. However, that is exactly why it is wonderful. The accommodations are much more than you would want, the food superb tasting and healthy to boost. Our table had 9 individuals from 8 countries, made for lively conversation. The Iyenegar Yoga classes, two a day were terrific as were the 'treatments' - basically a massage that is done in many ways (my favourite: with herbs and oil and steam) but chosen for you with the unique blend of herbs that best suited uniquely to you.
It is the charm of the place, views, birds, calm and relaxed pace and the wonderful staff which make he experience unique and wonderful

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages up from the center if you have knee problems- too many steps. A free shuttle on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KARE Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KARE Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat

Address: Village Gonawadi | Mulshi Lake, Mulshi Khurd, Pune 411021, India (Formerly Mulshi Lake Retreat Accommodation)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 337 Specialty Lodging in Pune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KARE is a sanctuary that enables self renewal in an environment that can be described as an antithesis of our fast paced high tech world, bringing us into harmony with our natural state of being. The Rejuvenative journey includes Traditional Ayurvedic Massages, Detoxifying Therapies, Beautifying Spa Therapies*, individualized nutritious meals/ diet and the curative aspects of Iyengar Medical Yoga. This nurtures the body and takes one beyond its finite form into a timeless realm of peace, bliss and serenity aided by a highly qualified team of doctors, therapists, nutritionists and paramedics to ensure best methodical treatments. KARE, set atop mystic Sahyadri ranges, overlooks the calm water of the Mulshi Lake, against a backdrop of flowers and green scenic surroundings and natural waterfalls. KARE has evolved through the inspired vision of Dr. Prakash Kalmadi,a practitioner of western medicine for over three decades. He after personally having experienced its spectacular effects has created a unique blend of Traditional Kerala Therapies, Iyengar Medical Yoga and Ayurvedic Diet for one’s optimum well being. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mulshi Lake Retreat Hotel Pune

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KARE Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.