We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Break Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Jadhavgadh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Jadhavgadh to your Saves list
Fort Jadhavgadh
3.5 of 5 Castle   |   Hadapsar Saswad Road | Jadhavwadi, Pune 412301, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 337 Specialty Lodging in Pune
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A good Break Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It is a Place Far Off not exactly near Pune City, But a good one for Mubaikars if your fed up with Lonavala stuff

You will have to Enjoi the property & be with your family, for recreation has a Swimming pool

Food is Good, loved they serving Hookah & the Balcony where it was served was amazing place to sit at

Pls triple check the rooms they confirm & the ones they give you,

Over all a Good breakout

Room Tip: all rooms are spacious rooms with open shower are good if you want such an Experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    184
    67
    25
    10
See reviews for
143
112
3
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our trip to this resort was truly a memorable one. Set in Lush green surroundings it truly gives you a break from the hectic routine activities.

Pros : The property is very well maintained. Rooms are good and well kept. There is an option of staying in tents for those who enjoy revelry of a different kind. The lawns and gardens are very well maintained and provide the perfect background for the camera crazy. The museum though small in size exhibits some antiques from the 1700s. There are a few options for the food lovers like a 24x7 coffee shop, a barbecue restaurant as well as a Maharashtrian restaurant depending on the kind of food you prefer. The hotel provides a complimentary bullock card ride which is much of an amusement for the kids who have never experienced it before.

Cons : Room Rates are a bit on the higher side. Food is extremely expensive with an average dish costing around 400 Rupees. With no other option in the vicinity of the resort, you are forced to shell out. The pool though well maintained, is pretty small and the max depth is 4.5 feet. Complimentary breakfast that is a part of the package is again very limited in the variety as compared to those offered by other resorts of the same grade. Overall food quality is good but not something you would die for.

Overall a good experience for me and my family and would recommend this resort at least for a one time visit to create your own impression of the place.

Room Tip: Select rooms that have a Balcony providing view of the Ganesh temple and the party lawns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Jadhavgadh was a nasty shock for us. We booked through the net after scanning their web-site. We liked the Suit Rooms by looking at the photo they have given against the details and booked one. http://www.fortjadhavgadh.com/maharashtra/pune/rooms.htm

After we went there, they put us in a room which was not at all what we saw on their site. We kept on telling them that this is not the picture that we saw on the net. My husband was telling them to show their website on their computer at the reception. But they kept on telling us that the site was down.

Since we had reached late evening, we stayed in the room they gave us. Next day we went to reception twice and still their site was down (very convinient!). They kept on telling us that we have the best room and we kept on telling them that that might be so, but we had booked a SUITE. How about that? They went on giving evasive answers.

First they told us that we have got the best room with a balcony and that that was the only room with a balcony. But we had seen another woman happily sipping tea in her balcony and told them so. Then they changed their argument and told us that we had a double balcony and a better view.

At no point did they tell us that although we saw the suite room and booked it, it was a permium room we were staying in and not a suite room. The room we were staying in was of ordinary size and could not fit into the definition of a suite by any strech of imagination.

My husband was very clear that this was not the room they sold us on the net. So again, before dinner we went to the reception. This time the guy who was manning the reception told us that there was another computer in the manager's room which was right behind the reception. Here, we could access the site and it was clear that the photo of the suite which was booked by us of course did not match the room which was given to us.

Then we were quite upset. Manager was not present. So we talked to him on the phone. He first insisted that this was the same room but later on agreed that the photo was the Maharaja Suite. This was sheer cheating! We told him that they are actually committing a fraud. Then he was apologetic.

As a compensation he offered to move us to the Museum Suite and offered a free dinner and unlimited wine (so sick!). But it was very late in the night and anyways we wanted to cut short the trip as we were upset with this whole episode. So we did not change the room and left the next day after breakfast.

EVEN AFTER THIS EPISODE, THEY ARE STILL SHOWING THE PHOTO OF MAHARAJA SUITE NEXT TO THE TITLE SUITE ROOM - NO 4. BUT THERE ARE ONLY TWO SUITS - MAHARAJA AND MUSEUM AND THESE NAMES DO NOT FEATURE ON THEIR WEB-SITE.

So even now, chances are you will book a suite and end-up in an ordinary room. BEWARE!

The best part is a nice print-out stuck on the wall in the manager's room right behind his computer, which says : If you fool someone, do not think they are stupid. It is because they trusted you more than you deserved.

So true!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had planned a weekend getaway at this place. The place is as shown in the images and we stayed in the tent accomodation. Suggest you stay in the tent as it is much better than the premium rooms.

Good...
Food is excellent!!! they really know how to pamper you. Chajja, their restaurent, is open for lunch and breakfast. Paytha is their maharashtrian restaurent, open only for dinner service. Food as expected from Orchid hotels is brilliant. They have a well stocked bar!!!

tip... Go early for lunch and enjoy a peaceful meal in the balcony of Chajja. the best place in this hotel!!!

Average...(I cant say bad as they are observations not complains)

Staff is really good and helpful. However they do lack a certain ammount of finesse. This is my observation with all orchid hotels. except mumbai.

Rooms are clean the tent was ok. There are no views from the tent and there is no chance to open the windows to look outside. Hot water is warm water only!!! If you have a lot of gadgets like I do then you need to carry an extension chord. Plugpoints are scarce.

The hotel is marketed towards oneday visitors & family which is a problem for the residents & couples (we were the only dink couple there!!!). They should have some degree of separation. If you are looking for peaceful romantic getaway then maybe this is not your place.

On the whole the hotel is a nice place to go with large family and not for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Had been there with my family for lunch only, on a weekend. The property is in midst of farms and mountains around. Its a beautiful place that gives you a mental break from hectic city life. The overall ambience is good with grand entrance, beautiful swimming pool. Hats off to Mr.Kamat for restoring this place and keeping the place very close to its original roots. We were impressed seeing trees inside this property kept intact. The musuem is very impressive..crisp and clean! The musuem has a big verandah or in marathi an 'aangan' which is worth seeing. It reminded us of our old wada in Pune which had exactly similar type of an aangan surrounded by rooms. Pity its demolished into creating an ugly multistorey!
Now to the other side of the story. We had lunch at 'chajja' where the starters were served outside the dining hall. One has to push the heavy door in order to get in & out which was painful. Secondly on a weekend the dinning hall is so full that you gotto manuvour to get to the buffet. Its difficult to sit in peace and have the meal. Now comes the ugly part of it...the food itself. The food served for the price paid is not fair (Rs.755/- for a weekend buffet). The starters of paneer tikkas was purple in color! The pasta not so good. The main course veg augratin was not augratin atall. You feel cheated when you are gulping each bite of that food. But with all said and done, the kids had a great time. They loved the place and didnt want to come back. But we couldnt have shelled out Rs.8000+ for a night ! Not worth it. I think we went there more out of curiosity and not expecting anything specific. So that has been satiated. Dont think we will ever visit that place again. But for others who have not been there...can try it out..you may just like it. If you have that money...dekh ke aane me kya harj hai?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Exhilirating... Will surely visit once a year. Food is good and my daughter enjoyed a lot. Huge garden and wonderful rooms. Service is also good. Surely visit during winter and rains....... Not much of sight seeing but can move aroun in your own vehicle

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Had been to this place with my wife recently. The idea was to find a location for our wedding reception.
The first impressions were top notch. We were amazed by the overall grandeur of the place hidden in the barren lands on the outskirts of Pune.
The landscaping was great and i have been a fan of forts since my childhood and so this place was just special. However thats where all the good stuff ends.
Once we sat down for our lunch, the service was terrible. We were forced to order food that was "READY" in the kitchen and i say forced as there isnt a decent restaurant for an hour either side.
The food was so stale that i could have bet my money on how old the Paneer and Vegetables were. I believe its a great built place now in shoddy hands We walked out of the place when they told us the cost of holding a reception (It was higher than the BEST 5 star hotels in Pune) :(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Jadhavgadh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Jadhavgadh

Address: Hadapsar Saswad Road | Jadhavwadi, Pune 412301, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 337 Specialty Lodging in Pune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Jadhavgadh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a bygone era of True Maratha Luxury situated in the beautiful hills of Saswad, just 15 Kms from Pune City. The hotel has many dining options for those looking to visit for a day or stay overnight. The Chajja is an All day Dining while the Aangan is the open air restaurant located within the fort. There is also Payatha - An ethnic restaurant at the foot hill of the fort serving maharastrian and other cuisine. Guests can also enjoy the the spacious landscaped lawns which are ideal and regularly booked for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fort Jadhavgadh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Jadhavgadh Hotel Pune

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Jadhavgadh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.