We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and Rooms, customer experience requires some work.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8-N-12 , CIDCO | Rauza Bagh, Dr. Rafiq Zakari Marg, Aurangabad 431003, India (Formerly Taj Residency)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Aurangabad
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel and Rooms, customer experience requires some work.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I spent one night at the Taj whilst exploring the caves of Ajanta and Ellora. The hotel is lovely and in beautiful grounds, the rooms are spacious, well maintaned and have a good shower. Check in was very quick and they allowed me in my room at 7am which was greatly appreciated. The breakfast and evening buffets were good and had everything you required, some might feel they are a little basic for a 5* hotel but this is a 5* hotel at 5,000 rupees per night night the Taj in Mubai at 15,000 rupees per night.

The only two negatives for this hotel is around customer experience.

1) From previous reviews there was dancing and music at the hotel in the evening, when I enquired about where to eat I was only directed to the resturants on the lower level where there was no dancing or music it was only once I had gone to bed I could hear this and it was to late for me to go and find out where it was taking place. There is no information in the room as to the facilities of the hotel, this seems to be something that is hit or miss across India but still frustrating.

2) Whilst appreciating this is a 5* hotel so everything comes with 5* prices I enquired about the local tour bus to the caves and after they enquired it was fully and the public bus was busy and dirty so I could take the hotel car at 5,600 to Ajanta and 2,900 to Ellora and other local sites (having travelled round India this was exstremly expensive). I didn't not feel that they were truthful about the bus situation as when I pushed them the office was not actually open yet for them to check. They aparently hold no outside taxi numbers so if you want to get anywhere you have to take their transport or walk to the end of a very long drive to get in a tuk tuk.

I did decided to take the hotel car as I was a sole female traveller (one of the reason I booked this hotel) and the driver was fantastic, the car lovely and I managed to catch up on my sleep all the way to Ajanta, just be prepared and either have booked you own car or pay for their car. This is not a 5* hotel where you can mix 5* accomodation with the local experience due to it location outside of town everything is at the hotel or arranged by them.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    154
    48
    16
    7
See reviews for
75
119
28
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great hotel. Not quite the other Taj but great nevertheless. The staff is from a nearby hotel management institute but they do a great job. They are courteous and helpful. The location is not that great if you do not have your own vehicle. But what it lacks in location it recovers in what it offers. The swimming pool is fab and though the gym is very small compared to the space around, one can definitely workout fine. More than 4 people in the gym could make it very crowded.
We were there during the summers so the pool was the best place to hangout.
Overall, it's the perfect place to unwind and soak in the sun.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We spent two nights here while visiting Ajanta and Ellora. This hotel is probably the best choice for a place to stay in Aurangabad. Our rooms were good sized and quite comfortable. Laundry service was efficient and reasonable ( my tee shirts were pressed and folded). Be sure to try the local Maharastrian dishes in the restaurant--far better than the "international" menu

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gandhidham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The first experience was little disturbing. We were picked up by the hotel car from station at 4.15 am. However, although we had made a request for early checkin, the room was allocated only at 7.30 am. Of course, we were informed one day earlier that early checkin may not be possible, since the hotel was totally booked. In any case, the staff were very courteous and helpful. The quality was breakfast was very good but the dinner was routine. The driver who took us to Ellora caves was very cordial and kept us informed of the various places etc on the route.
Overall the experience was very good.

Room Tip: Select the rooms on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pyeongtaek, South Korea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed for four nights in late March 2014. Considering the remoteness of Aurangabad, the room was comfortable and the service was very good. The pool and garden were quiet areas to unwind after a long day exploring the Ajanta and Ellora caves. We ate most meals at the internal Latitude restaurant which offers adequate international/western food and very, very good regional dishes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurangabad, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We were booked for three nights on Early Bird deal, which turned out to cost double what it would have done if I had booked closer to the time.

On arrival we were informed that we had been given a double upgrade. Far from it! The room we were shown to was close to being the worst in the hotel - dark, with no view, a mish-mash of outdated furnishings, full of mosquitoes. The pillows were lumpy and the beds were hard - we both had sore backs in the morning. Apparently the hotel was full, so moving room was not possible - though you wouldn't have thought it from the bleak, over lit, over chilled and mostly empty restaurant. Eating outside wasn't possible "because of mosquitoes" (doing something about the mosquitoes obviously hasn't occurred to anyone). The "service" was infuriating - never there when you wanted it, claustrophobic and overbearing when you just wanted to get on with your dinner. The food was very average.

Within five minutes of arriving in our room we had been hassled on the phone by the travel dept trying to sell us excursions, and the hassling didn't stop.

By the end of our dinner we just wanted to check out, went on line to check our Rate Rules to make sure we could leave without incurring penalties, and to find somewhere to move to the next morning, which we reserved and paid for online. We informed reception that we would be checking out in the morning.

Within TWO minutes of arriving back in our room the phone rang. it was Reception insisting that we arrange a time in the morning to meet the manager! I said, no, we are v tired, and v tired of this hotel, please do NOT disturb us. To no avail....from early in the morning the Duty Manager hassled. At check out he DEMANDED that we look at other rooms and stay.....refused to accept that we had booked somewhere else, then insisted that we should cancel it! It was incredible, but worse was to come. They REFUSED to call a taxi for us, would only supply the hotel car at a ridiculous price. Finally I walked down the very long drive into the street and found two tuk tuks. The hotel security refused to allow them to reception to pick up our luggage, nor to ring reception to get the luggage brought down. It was like being held hostage - an absolutely appalling experience all round. Taj should be ashamed to have such an hotel bearing its name. And if rumours that this is a training camp for the local hotel school are true then God help future generations of travellers if these are the behaviours that the students are being taught.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had come for relaxing here after a month long Hectic schedule and must say hotel s prompt service and hospitality made our stay very comfortable and beautiful. Never experienced this amazing hospitality anywhere. While having breakfast - w/out our saying waiter himself packed some good food and juices as we were checking out. Even in room dining people followed up themselves what I requested them and I forgot. Must stay for any1 who wants a good property with amazing hospitality.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad

Address: 8-N-12 , CIDCO | Rauza Bagh, Dr. Rafiq Zakari Marg, Aurangabad 431003, India (Formerly Taj Residency)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Aurangabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Aurangabad
#3 Business Hotel in Aurangabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moghul-style hotel with central dome, situated on 5 landscaped acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Hotel Aurangabad
Aurangabad Taj Residency Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.