We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8-N-12 , CIDCO | Rauza Bagh, Dr. Rafiq Zakari Marg, Aurangabad 431003, India (Formerly Taj Residency)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Aurangabad
Pune, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great hotel with historical structure. I stay there for two nights and enjoyed every moment of it. The way terat the guest right from hotel entrance till you left. The food was also nice. The only trouble is the flying insects which disturbs you a lot if you want to enjoy a good meal outside.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    154
    48
    16
    7
See reviews for
75
119
28
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

As has been mentioned, this hotel is now known as Vivanta by Taj. It is a very nice hotel on beautiful grounds. Our room overlooked the gardens and pool. The room was very comfortable and clean. Food in the hotel was very good. We dined at the main dining venue, which has buffet breakfast. A buffet is also offered at dinner, but we ordered off the menu. Food was very good. We also dined at the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. It is small, but very nicely decorated. The food was also very good. In the evenings, the hotel offers an outdoor barbeque, and you can watch an Indian dance program. We could see the program through the windows from the restaurants. It was lively and colorful.

Although service in the restaurants was great, the service from the front desk and bell staff was uneven. We had two incidents which marred what would have been an overall great experience. First of all, when we checked in, we were told that on the hotel's 24 hour internet package, you could have up to two devices connected. During our stay, we alternated between 3 devices (an Ipad and 2 smartphones), but we never had more than 2 logged on at a time. At checkout, we had been charged for multiple internet packages because, they clarified, each device was unique and since we had 3 devices connected, we had to pay double. I disputed this because we had not been told this at checkin, and if we had known, would have only connected 2 devices. Eventually, we were refunded the extra charge, but it took over 30 minutes of firm insistence, and multiple phone calls by the front office person. So, be forewarned on this internet policy.

Also, on our final day, we checked out of the hotel in the morning and the bell staff held our bags while we toured. We returned to the hotel mid afternoon and had a late lunch. We departed the hotel after lunch, and the bell staff transferred our bags directly to our vehicle. We realized, after almost reaching the airport, that one of our bags was still at the hotel. Our tour rep had to call the hotel and arrange for someone to go pick up the bag and deliver it to the airport, just in time for our flight. I fault the inexperienced young bell staff for this oversight.

You should be aware that there is a hotel management school right next to the hotel, and the hotel has many interns working there. They are certainly polite, but lack the experience that you might otherwise expect at a hotel such as the Vivanta.

Aside from these issues, we would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

During a recent family road trip, we spent two nights at the Taj Residency in Aurangabad. Our family of six had booked two rooms at the property and were looking forward to a relaxed holiday. On that count we were not disappointed as our stay at the property was excellent, particularly due to the hospitality that was accorded to us during the stay.
As we were on a road trip,we arrived much earlier that the scheduled check in time at the Taj. However, the previous day the staff themselves had contacted me to find out about our potential check in time. When we arrived at the hotel, care had been taken to ensure that both our rooms were ready. Check-in was seamless, and the first pleasant surprise was to know that our room category had been upgraded. We had booked our rooms in two different categories, one being the Premium Indulgence Room and the other being a Superior room, but they were kind enough to give us two Premium Indulgence Rooms, such that the rooms were adjacent to each other. While the rooms were quite nice, and equipped with all modern amenities, at first impression they did feel a touch small. The attached bathroom was equipped with a shower cubicle, and it would definitely have been better, if instead, a bathtub was present. The rooms had an attached balcony overlooking the swimming pool. The view especially early morning is quite beautiful, and one can easily get some quite reading done during the day.
As part of our package we were entitled to a half day tour from Taj. A vehicle from the property was made available as per our convenience. The driver was very polite and quite helpful. We managed to travel quite a bit within Aurangabad (sight seeing) with the help of the vehicle. Meals at the coffee shop were also included in our package. Both the breakfast and dinner buffet are quite elaborate and tasty. The staff at the coffee shop is efficient and helpful. Customized requests are also taken without any hitch. During dinner there was also some live entertainment available in the form of traditional Indian dances (being performed by a troupe). Lunch was a-la-carte, and was a touch slow in arriving to the table, but again quite delicious. We also had the opportunity to have one dinner at the specialty Cantonese restaurant. Food was very good, and we enjoyed our meal thoroughly. Service was again great, and the bill for the meal was reasonable.
The property itself is quite well spread out. While is it not as lavish as some other Taj Vivanta properties, it is still great for some good rest and relaxation. There are some lovely lawns for kids to play on or for adults to relax. The pool is reasonably big and really well maintained. I saw the staff scrubbing the bottom of the pool everyday in the morning (even though the water must have been incredibly cold). Next to the pool there is a small area where some board games are available for children. I even managed to play some carom there after ages :)
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the property. A big part of it was probably due to the hospitality and service that we received during the stay.For e.g. my 2 year old kid got car sick during our sight seeing and threw up. Naturally we returned to the hotel quickly. Few minutes later I received a call in my room, inquiring how my kid was and whether any assistance was required. The subsequent day my car was also washed (interior + exterior) and I was not even charged for it. On another occasion during our stay, the staff arranged for us an entertaining evening at Mahagami Gurukul. The art school was having the Aura Aurangabad festival, and was putting up some Indian classical dance concerts during the weekend evenings. Complimentary passes were made available to us. These and other many such small gestures by the staff, made us appreciate the Taj brand of hospitality. I would recommend the property to anyone purely on the basis of this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

It is hard to find a shiny new property in Aurangabad, the Taj is in a good location, most rooms are renovated and it has a nice pool perfect for relaxation.

The restaurant also offer quite good enough food comparatively to the local standards. The staff is very helpful, especially the pool side guy will do his best to make you happy!

The buffet is quite heavy on oil and sauces but you can have quite good food a la carte.

The bed is comfortable and the rooms quite. The bathrooms are old but clean. We went for business but it would be great for a trip to the caves as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated one. Some rooms have a nice large terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Is a great relaxing place to stay. The property is beautifully landscaped and staff/ service very courteous in keeping with the Taj philosophy. Rooms clean. Breakfast buffet is excellent. Barbeque restaurant has a great ambience.Downside is that food gets cold in room service and some rooms have old fashioned locks without a card key.The architecture and lawns are wonderful with an old world charm. Great place for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the pool are nicer with better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in December 2013. Our flight arrived early morning but the hotel staff did their best to find a room as soon as possible so that we can rest. Since it was in their busiest time, we had to wait for few hours, but we had a wonderful breakfast while waiting. Hotel staff are really helpful and couteous. For example, at the breakfast, ask for local specialty. They are happy to let you try different Indian food everyday (you won't see them. You have to ask). The room is super clean and beautiful. Nice shower and confortable bed. They clean your room more than once a day. For that service, the price is very reasonable. It is far from the city center and you need a car to get around. Hotel gives only one option -- using their car, but that could be expensive if you want to go many different places. So we just walked to the street and found a tuktuk. It is easy if you know exactly where you are going, but hard to communicate in English for complicated issues. To get to the hotel from the airport, we got a prepaid taxi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

It was a great place to stay. Our room overlooked the garden which was beautiful and very well maintained. The staff were polite and willing to help. The service was great .
When ever we have stayed in a Taj Hotel we have not been dissapointed. They deliver what they promis.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad

Address: 8-N-12 , CIDCO | Rauza Bagh, Dr. Rafiq Zakari Marg, Aurangabad 431003, India (Formerly Taj Residency)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Aurangabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Aurangabad
#3 Business Hotel in Aurangabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moghul-style hotel with central dome, situated on 5 landscaped acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Hotel Aurangabad
Aurangabad Taj Residency Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj Aurangabad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.