We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for hotel - not so for Ashoka Tours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Panchavati

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aurangabad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Panchavati
Save
You added Hotel Panchavati to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Padampura, Railway Station Road, | nr Youth Hostel, Aurangabad 431005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Aurangabad
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value for hotel - not so for Ashoka Tours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We arrived on an early flight from Mumbai and they checked us in early which was fantastic even though they were still cleaning the bathroom as we entered the room.

Not all of the staff have a firm grasp of the English language but it worked out. They were in the process of renovating during our stay but it did not affect us as we were out touring during the day.

The biggest issue we had staying here was Ashoka Tours. He charges 250 rupees for a transfer from the airport when we could have had for 150. When asked about this, he brushed it off saying the taxis need business, it was complicated and he would explain it later (which he never did). When booking tours, his tour to Ajunta was a bit overpriced but the driver was excellent.

On the way back from Ajunta, the driver was going to bring us to the silk weaving factory but we were able to tell him no. I paid for a tour, not to be brought to sold silk.

Again, I would be wary of Ashoka Tours. The hotel is a budget option and should be treated as such.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    124
    51
    11
    8
See reviews for
71
75
43
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel was redecoration when we were there. They informed us about this upon arrivel, which was nice of them to do so. The room was ok. Pretty ok matras for India. The bathroom was disgusting with cockroaches everywhere anytime you opened the door. We booked a car through the Ashoka Travel Agency next door to the Ajanta Caves, which we thougt was worth it since Ajanta is 2 hours drive (by car) away. To Ellora you can go easily by bus yourself. This is only 40 minutes drive.
The hallway of the floor that was finished after the redecorating looked really nice. Did not see a 'new' room though.

Room Tip: The first floor has been redecorated.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I arrived shortly after 5am on the train from Mumbai after booking by phone the day before. The room was not available, but staff were helpful and did their best to make me comfortable in the restaurant until breakfast. The room was available right after breakfast so l didn't have to wait around too long.

Room was clean and spacious with comfortable beds. The shower had hot water which was fantastic after two hot and dusty days travelling around Ajanta, Ellora and Daulatabad.

Breakfast and dinner were decent.

The travel agent next door (in the hotel forecourt), Ashok Travels, is the real star of the show here. He provided great travel advice, organised tours with no hassle and didn't try to overcharge. He has cheap wifi and a couple of computers with a printer you can use. Even if you are not staying at the hotel, I suggest you pay a visit to arrange a tour with Ashok. Google 'Ashok Travels Aurangabad' and you'll find his website.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have stayed for 3 days in Mar 13 in this hotel. We have taken a AC room. The rooms were very spacious and good for the budget hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful and very honest. We have forgotten the Wallet near reception and straight way they sent the wallet to the room.
The restaurant of the hotel was good enough and the preparation was very good. I definitely recommend this budget hotel under 20 USD. We have a great trip to this historical city.

Room Tip: Choose room from the back side. That will be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is very close to the bus station (10 minutes walking or 10 rupiees by tuk-tuk) and not too noisy. Rooms are very simple and you should check if yours is clean before accepting, anyway you don't have many facilities inside. All windows have mosquito nets so you don't have to worry about insects. Front desk people is very kind and perfectly English speaking. The best feature is a very reliable travel agency in the hotel (Ashoka tours and travels, also mentioned by Lonely Planet), it's open from 7 am to 9 pm. They have a cyber point inside (20 rupiees/hour). They can help you organise your visit to Ajanta/Ellora caves, Aurangabad, Lonar Crater at very good prices. They seem to be very honest, I would have visited Lonar but they told me not to go there because of the hot temperature, even if they are losing money for this. So, the hotel is an average one, but I strongly recommend the travel agency!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had booked this hotel for our one day trip to aurangabad. We wanted to be close to the railway station as we had a meeting to attend and we want to catch early morning train out the next day morning.

First of all, the location was absolutely terrible because they tell close to railway station and it far from railway station around 2 km The approach was difficult and it looked like a real shady place. Once we went in, the reception and common areas looked decent so we heaved a sigh of relief.

But our nightmares began when we entered the room. It smelled musty and old. And then we saw some thing crawling on the bed. It looked like a centipede but i wasnt sure. We requested to change the room but it was pretty late in the night.. So they werent very responsive. Finally we bought some cotton and stuffed it in our ears and went off to sleep. it was so load in the night all traffic and horns all night .... please avoid this hotel any any cost if u want to sleep at nigth

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The AC room I had booked online wasn't available, so I asked to put the 200 rupee difference per night towards my checking out 7 hours later (it's a 24-hour check-in/out policy, and I arrived at 5am but they let me leave at noon, which is the time most guests are asked to check out by). The room was decent, but there weren't any sheets to speak of, so I was glad to have my silk sleeping bag. The good part of the hotel is having Ashok Travel next door is a blessing, as the man behind the counter (Mr. Ashok?) is a wonderful man who won't try to screw you over with expensive tours or buses (he told me how to get to Ellora and Ajanta using public buses). Wifi is only available inside Ashok Travel (30 rupees an hour).

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Panchavati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panchavati

Address: Padampura, Railway Station Road, | nr Youth Hostel, Aurangabad 431005, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Aurangabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Aurangabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Panchavati 3*
Number of rooms: 27

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Panchavati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.