We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location but not clean enough” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Green House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Green House to your Saves list
Hotel Green House
In front of Khajuraho Bus Stand, Khajuraho 471606, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Khajuraho B&B and Inns
Northleach, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet location but not clean enough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is well situated, not too far from the temples, but away from the busier areas. We stayed 2 nights although we had booked 3. Our first room was quite good and clean on the whole, but had a very noisy fan. That was fixed the next day, but then we discovered that we were getting small electric shocks from the shower taps. We were moved to another room, but this was smaller, hotter and not clean - the bathroom walls and the windows were filthy.
There was no possibility of even a cup of tea and no toilet paper provided, even when we asked.
This was not an expensive guest house, but we still expected it to be clean and safe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
2
21
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Harptree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were arriving late so booked Green House after reading the reviews on TA.

They gave us a free pick up at the station and showed us to our room which was 450R's. We also brought him a French couple who we met on the train and they too were very pleased with their room as their budget was around 400R's. Both rooms were quiet, clean and bright and, as we discovered in the morning, looked out onto the garden. Green House is excellent value for a budget option.

You will need to ask for hot water in the morning as he needs to light the fire. It only takes 10 minutes to warm up and wow, is it hot!

It's just a five minute walk across the cricket ground to the centre where all the temples and restaurants are but bring a torch as the walk back is dark. The dogs are no hassle but if you are a little unsure then shine your torch in their eyes and gesture to pick up a stone.....they'll run away very quickly.

We have a larger budget than 450R's so next morning we checked out to move to The Surya where we had a balcony over looking the garden.

Later that day we had an email to say I had left my glasses behind and that I could pick them up from reception at any time. How honest and helpful was that to take the trouble to track me down!

If you're on a budget stay here as the rooms are much better than Zen and Harmony. Green House is also away from the main street so tends to be much quieter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is good for the price . I choose this hotel because of the price.
It is cheap for a day or two stay. The rooms are big enough.
This hotel is near western group of temples, which is walk-able.

The hotelier was good, helped me in assisted in travelling.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is a little bit far from center. Since is a small city, everything is 10 minutes walking. Just consider going back at night, not unsafe but dark and street dogs around. The pick up is fine, not restaurant as described, Internet is fine in the lobby. The driver who picks you up is pushing for giving you tours and asking for tips. Just be strong and clear when you say no! No need for tours, everything is very close . Rooms are simple but good. They charge for pick up and drop off.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We were approached by a man on the street who kept convincing us to come with him."Commissioner"-I thought and I didn't trust him but finally agreed to follow him and have a look at the place.It turned out he was a member of staff.We liked the room so we stayed for about a week.It was spacious, with huge windows,double bed,bathroom,tv and wi-fi.The downside was that it was getting really hot in the afternoon and the fan wasn't making much difference BUT we were happy enough with the place anyway.There's a computer downstairs, but it's old and slow but you can use it for free.The only really annoying thing was that they kept on switching off the wifi so we had to ask them to switch it back on again twice a day on average.But I would stay there again-good value and nice,helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Good service, they will pick you up from the train station. Nice and big room, clean and bright. No breakfast for us because they were doing some work in the hotel. Good location outside the noisy area but 5min walk distance. I would defenitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

"Green House" hotel was the best place for me in Khajuraho. I stayed there for 17 days last August and I became almost a part of the staff :D... they all became my friends and made my stay really pleasant. Among the advantages of the place are: the great location (a bit aside from the main road, but near enough so that you can enjoy the silence, which is a really rare thing in India! and still at a walking distance from the main tourist sites); beautiful garden with a restaurant; delicious dishes; big, well furnished and clean rooms with attached bathrooms; friendly and exttremely helpful staff, Internet facilities... Everything was just perfect! Plus they provide a pick up and send away service from/ to the railway station or the airport.
An excellent hotel and services indeed.
Thank you guys for being so hospitable and made me really happy to have visited and known you all! :)
Warm greetings from Bulgaria
Tania

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Green House

Address: In front of Khajuraho Bus Stand, Khajuraho 471606, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Khajuraho
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Khajuraho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are located in the center of the town and also very close to postoffice,busstand,hospital etc.we are having huge garden with free parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Green House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.