We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable and amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karthika Plaza Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Karthika Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Karthika Plaza Resort
Punnamoodu Papanasam Road, Wacher Mukku | Near Varkala Govt. Guest House, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 74 Varkala B&B and Inns
Dubai
1 review
“Memorable and amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

We stayed one week at Kathika Plaza. Our room was beautifull, well maintained and confortable. The building and loaction are stunning. Great food and friendly staff. we really enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
51
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
middle east
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

Stayed one week. High standard environment,very clean rooms,very very helpful staff.
They provided useful information about nearby locations. * rated breakfast and service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Good standard of accomodation, very clean, very friendly. One and a half klms. from the beach and restaurants but if you don't feel like walking Rajesh is always willing to ferry you back and forth any time. Nice breakfast: juice, cereal, toast, fresh fruit or Indian if you prefer. Always ready to suggest places to visit and to take you there if practicable. Nice and quiet and very safe.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

It was a wonderful experience for me and my family when we stayed at Karthika Plaza during 1st week of may,09.The lovely beaches with beautiful surrounding was really breathtaking.Our kids enjoyed a lot,the room service ,hospitality were excellent.
It has really refreshed ourlives and we are looking forward to visit there again whenever we make a trip to Kerala,India.

Stayed May 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

Karthika Plaza Tourist Resort is a privately owned Resort in Varkala. I stayed there 5 days during Christmas with my girl friend and it was an amazing experience. The staff at the resort are just incredible. They arranged short trips to the locality and it was a good oppotunity to explore the hospitality and culture of Kerala.

Rooms are clean and the hotel staff are pretty strict about maintaing the cleanliness ( which was my primary concern while planning the trip to India). The beach is like 5 minutes from the resort and we really enjoyed the short walk to the beach in the evenings.

The staff were always ready to provide transportation to places we wanted to visit. The food was great and the family of the owner were really nice to us. I would totally recommend this Resort to travellers who like to stay in a quiet, comfortable and clean place with great service.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

I have just returned from 3 wonderful weeks at the karthika Plaza and were do i start to tell just how brilliant it was.This small hotel is by far one of the nicest places to stay in
Varkala . Karthika Plaza is set off the road in a very safe and quite position only a short stroll to the beach through the village. The hotel is set in a beautiful garden decorated with wonderful art work and beautiful flowers and plants. The hotel has 10 very modern bright and spotless rooms with tiled bathrooms and hot water when ever you want. The housekeeping in the rooms is excellent with clean bedding and towels all the time. 4 of the rooms have ajoining interior doors which is great for famlies with small children. The rooms open up on to a lovely open gallery with comfortable chairs to relax after a hard days sunbathing at the beach.The staff here arefirst class with nothing too much trouble willingly dropping and picking up from the beach, the railway station or even the shop . They will happily plan local trips to places that most tourist do not get to. The owner his family and staff offer the warmest welcome and kindness and while at the Karthika Plaza you are made to feel very at home. There are plans in hand for a swimming pool and Kerarla cottages in the grounds for next season Oct 2009 -2010 which will be one more thing that makes this hotel a winner.
The food here is fantastic all cooked fresh by the owners wife. Try the Kerala breakfast or the scambled eggs wonderful start to the morning. Recommend the chilli chicken best ever. But what ever you want the wonderful staff will try to sort for you.
I would recommend the staff picking you up from the airport as there are other places with names almost the same and also it is cheaper then the taxi.If arriving by train the station is only 3 or 4 mins by car and the staff will collect you.
.Karthika Plaza offers a warm welcome to everyone that stays with them. So a big thankyou to the family and Shiju, Suijith and Vijayan for all the kindness and help we had to make it a great holiday and i cannot wait to return soon to this wonderful hotel .

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karthika Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karthika Plaza Resort

Address: Punnamoodu Papanasam Road, Wacher Mukku | Near Varkala Govt. Guest House, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Excellence Award Winning family owned B&B/INN dedicated to ensure excellent value for money. SUITABLE FOR SINGLE, TWIN, FAMILY, GROUPS, SELF CATERING AND LONG STAY.The most hospitable B&B/INN located near famous Varkala Papanasam Beach & Cliff. Its location right near cliff makes possible an easy walk to the white sandy beach. Also there is complimentary drop and pick on request. There are numerous water spouts and spas on the sides of these cliffs and the beach is a haven for sun-bath and swimming. There are several small restaurants and shops near Helipad and around Papasnanam beach. Papanasam is also a perfect place to watch the sunset. Calm and relaxed atmosphere surrounded by coconut palms and beautiful background of rich greenery. Also there are special family interconnected rooms. Long veranda overlooking beautiful garden to relax and enjoy pollution free breeze. The in-house specialty is Delicious Traditional Home Made Kerala Food and also Toast, Eggs, Fruits, pancake etc. For breakfast. We consider your dietary restrictions. There are so many nearby attractions to visit and our travel desk will manage your sightseeing trips according to your interest. We also arrange Yoga class, Ayurveda and Dental treatment at top rated health centers. We enjoy making our guests feel Welcome in our lovely, safe and comfortable INN and also fulfill your hopes for the prefect retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Karthika Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karthika Plaza Tourist Hotel Varkala
Karthika Plaza Resort Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karthika Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.