We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Varkala Marine Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Varkala Marine Palace
Save
You added Varkala Marine Palace to your Saves list
Varkala Marine Palace Pvt Ltd Papanasam Beach Janardhanapuram,, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ideal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was an ideal spot for us. The palace is wonderfully located on the beach and is away from the main 'backpacker' locations on the cliffs so would be peaceful and quiet in the high season ( apart from the sounds of the crashing waves!) We were here in monsoon, which meant few other tourists and gave us a chance to get a bit of the local feel. Restaurant at the Palace was being renovated but there was a great little shack ( Sea Sun) and the guys there were alot of fun and kept us well feed and lubricated with mugs of Kingfisher. I think the Palace restaurant would b well worth a look when reopened as it has a great view over Varkala beach. Rooms were very clean and the staff very helpful and attentive. The gardens are cool and relaxing. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    59
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
136
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel turned out to be a good choice as we arrived with no booking! Stayed in a double fan room which was modern clean and quiet (good nights sleep)! The restaurant was also good and served up a good breakfast (at an extra cost).

I would recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auroville, india
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had originally planned to stay 4 nights at Varkala Marine Palace but ended staying 3 more nights (!) as the place could not possibly be matched on many levels. Great corner room with a terrace. Super food at the nearby restaurant from where you can observe at length a rare combination of devoted Hindus performing their rites, Indian and Western youth playing volley-ball or jogging along, Westerners roasting on long chairs or strolling along the beach in swimsuits of all kinds and Indians going into the water in their sarees or pants. Within walking distance from action and restaurants on THE cliff and wide and safe beach for the children to swim in the waves, at least in this February season. A very good choice

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel is in a great location on a cliff facing the ocean. There are restaurants and shops around it. I mean you can't beat the location. As far as room goes, we liked the room though we did wish few times that we could have booked the suite which has A/C since it was scorching hot. Our room had fans and it was very spacious with a small kitchen(Fridge, coffee pot, complimentary water and snack etc). We loved the balcony which has chairs, swing and a hammock.

Restaurant is right next to it and the food was great. They have Wi-Fi though it was inaccessible from our room but if we step out of the room and go near the stairs, it works :-)

They provide you towels and mats for the beach which is very helpful. They also have a shower outside to rinse off before going to your room. All the places including the restaurants in the North Cliff are in walking distance. They even helped us with taxi rental to Tamilnadu.

Overall a good value hotel.

Room Tip: Get the corner room so you can use the hammock and swing etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Only a 5-7 min walk to the cliff strip, this lovely hotel could be 100 miles from all the commercial "please look in my shop" nonsense that comes with being in the thick of things. Right on the beach with several eating place s to choose from, it is very peaceful. Pay extra and get the "high end suite" if you can. It is well worth the extra. Excellent service and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in the 3rd week of march. It is one of the best beach resorts we have ever stayed. Located right on the beach. Our room was traditional Kerala styled, large and equipped with a small kitchenette which includes a fridge and kettle. No TV, could access Wi-Fi on my smartphone. No AC but additional standing fan. Verandah was nice, large, furnished with table & deckchairs and overlooking the ocean. Room was cleaned everyday and candles were lit each evening. A couple of volleyball courts right in front of the hotel, where you can play along with locals. Host Bhasker is a very nice person. He gave inputs on restaurants and travel options around. The helipad and cliff promenade is only 5-10 mins walk from the resort. The famous Janardhana Swamy temple is only about 500 meters towards the town. Overall it is a wonderful place and value for money. We will definitely visit Varkala and stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose Room 17. Nice room, great view and value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

A little slice of heaven on a backpacker budget. Big rooms, great facilities and a top restaurant with fantastic service, nothing is too much trouble. Would thoroughly recommend if you're travelling/backpacking.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Varkala Marine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varkala Marine Palace

Address: Varkala Marine Palace Pvt Ltd Papanasam Beach Janardhanapuram,, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#3 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#5 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the prime properties as far as Varkala is concerned owing to our location. We are rightly on Papanasam beach, ideally in between the north & South Cliffs. We do have road accessibility inside to our resort. We offers 6 sea face extra spacious (suites) high end rooms, with private kitchen, attached toilets, balconies overlooking sea, running hot water as the specialties. Three rooms are on top floor, made in traditional Kerala style wooden cottage types. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Varkala Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Hotel Varkala
Marine Palace Varkala
Varkala Marine Palace Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varkala Marine Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.