We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to our holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Varkala
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect end to our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We stayed four days at Deshaden in Late Jan. after a hectic 3 weeks in northern and south india, and loved it. We had a poolside room which seemed a better option, and they were very clean, and comfy, with sattelite tv, fans, good shower and air con. The breakfast each day was great, the pool was spotless and great to relax in, and the beach and cliffside shops and restaurants were a 3 min walk away. We were flying back to Melbourne from Trivandrum which was an hour taxi ride away ($25), but they also organise airport transfers. Dileesh on the front desk helped with this, and was always there for the travellers at Deshaden. The staff were great, and very welcoming and helpful, and on our last night we ate at the hotel restaurant and had the best seafood currie/s we had in india by far (and prob the best spring rolls too)... Looking around Varkala, Deshaden is definetely a good option, and great value...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    72
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
52
63
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

The rooms we stayed in were recently built across the street and are laid out differently than the poolside rooms. There were no hangers/wardrobe and the electricity is not on a generator. They did give us a slight discount and there is a hammock and table/chairs outside the room. The service is inconsistent (depending on the dude you talk to).
Like:
Swimming pool for the kids (the hotels along the cliff mostly don't have pools)
Location close to cliff but need to bring torch after dark (must have item in India anyway)
Breakfast is not bad at all - juice, toast, eggs, fruit, local breakfast, etc
Dislike:
Husband got sick eating the curry one night
Power of room not on generator so TV and AC goes on and off
Inconsistent service

Provided the limited choices of hotels in Varkala with swimming pool, this is not a bad choice at all especially if you have a poolside room. For the price of $45 per night, we are ok with staying at the back cottages.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed 4 nights in the family apartment over the Christmas period. The apartment consists of 2 a/c bedrooms - each with its own tv and bathroom, a small sitting area and a balcony. The rooms were very clean and well maintained, each day they asked if we wanted our room cleaned.

The hotel is a short walk from the beach and has security at the front of the complex making it feel very safe for the children to run about the pool and garden.

We stayed over the Xmas period and so we paid extra for a Christmas eve celebration consisting of Indian banquet, traditional Keralan dancing, drumming and music. It was a really wonderful experience, particularly as it was held out in the open and you could move about the gardens.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The Deshadan resort was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The pool was clean and enjoyed by our children. We had asked for a car to meet us at the airport and it was ready and waiting with our name on a sign. We arrived after dark so a couple of the staff walked us to the cliff front where all the restaurants are. After saying goodbye to them and assuring them we could find our way back - (you will need a torch but it is only about 5 mins) - they came running after us and wrote down the manager's phone number just in case we got lost and needed help. The walk is easy and quite pleasant at that time of year. The locals along the way were freindly and always gave us a wave and smile. Breakfast was good - both Western and Indian to choose from. Good fruit juice. All in all the family enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

We stayed here on 22/23/24/25 November in the 2 bed cottage and had a great time. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and a good size. The pool is good although they could probably clean it a little more often.

The breakfasts are OK but there isn't much choice. There are however lots of great restaurants on the cliff top that do breakfast for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

What a lovely find. Nicely decorated rooms, swimming pool and outstanding massage centre next door. The 5 min walk to the cliff tops suited us. Excellent staff - very helpful in sorting out all my phone calls! Good value and reliable laundry ... although we were glad we'd sorted it out on the first day as it did rain a bit! The massage centre is of special note - excellent value, with beautiful equipment and two (yes two!) masseurs - a first for me and I thoroughly enjoyed it. My only criticism (and it is very minor) was that on our last day the breakfast buffet was a bit topsy turvey and the main dishes were not served in time for us - yet we weren't leaving terribly early ............. 9:30am

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

We stayed here for the last five nights of our tour of Kerala. It is only a small hotel but has all the plus points of a much larger establishment - for example, its own massage and complementary medicine centre!
The rooms were all different - quirkily decorated, but superbly furnished with all mod cons and a clean well-designed shower room.
The rooms surround the pool ,which is open from 8 am till 6 pm, so there's no chance of being disturbed unduly.
The sheltered but open air restaurant serves superb breakfasts, and the meals are good if you decide to eat in or have the food delivered to your room or your poolside chair!
The hotel is a short walk from the delights of the clifftop and beach, where you can sit and enjoy the view of the Arabian Sea whilst eating very reasonably priced freshly cooked food,especially fish.
We recommend the Sunshine Cafe two thirds of the way down the cliff path where you are greeted with 'Good morning' by the Tibetan staff - as they say, it is always good morning somewhere! There are many Tibetans on the cliff selling souvenirs of various types or working in the restaurants.
The staff at the Deshadan are wonderfully friendly and helpful, the place is kept incredibly clean and inviting and we warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Address: Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Varkala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 200 metres from the Papanasam cliff at Varkala, Deshadan offers the best of everything. Be it the cuisine, the facilities or the comforts. At Deshadan you can explore a wide variety of holiday pleasures. Once you have had your fill of the beach choose to laze around in the deluxe A/C rooms facing the pool. Rest assured with mouth watering dishes with smiling service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Hotel Varkala
Deshadan Cliff And Beach Resort
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.