We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad to leave” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sad to leave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in January for the second time in 3 years and would thoroughly recommend it. Thank you to all the staff especially the restaurant staff for making us again so welcome. Felt very sad to leave but I am sure we will return.

Room Tip: Not too near reception as the rooms do not get any sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We do not have enough words to express our sincere thanks for remembering us .

Thank you once again.

Looking forward to serving you soon.

Warm Regards,


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    74
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
54
66
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in January 2014. The staff were very helpful for example they kept my wine bought from the Liquor Store chilled and brought it to my room on demand! When I left my jewellery behind after we had moved to our next location the hotel staff arranged for it to be brought to me in Kovalum! The only thing I did not like was how easy the birds were able to access the dining room. It is only a few minutes walk to the beach/restaurants but not an easy walk when it is dark and a torch is recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for choosing Deshadan Varkala.

It was our duty to make sure that every guest feels at home and to maintain the highest standards of Cutomer service.

WARM REGARDS


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed three nights, between Xmas and New Year, having chosen this place via reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel lives up to its good reviews. Staff very helpful, rooms are fine and the pool and added extra to swimming at Varkala beach. We arranged via the hotel for a taxi to pick us up at Trivandrum airport, which made arrival very easy (cost very modest by European standards at 1,500 rupees for a 50km journey).
Varkala cliff top and beach remain relatively unspoilt by tourism and development, with a mix of restaurants, cafes and juice bars. Most serve beer (sometimes discreetly) and several serve very good and cheap cocktails. (Cochin Fort, north of Varkala, is less inclined to produce alcohol in its hotels).
Tourism is Kerala's main driver of the economy, and there are some risks that its continued growth is having adverse effects. We steered clear of Kovalam, which has suffered from too many package hotels. Varkala remains an attractive place to visit albeit that a few efforts at litter-picking on the cliff paths down to the beach would not go amiss. You would have thought it was worth the hotels and restaurants clubbing together to organise. Same could be said, in spades, for the famed area of beach at Cochin Fort, where the picturesque Chinese fishing nets now stand surrounded by plastic bags and bottles.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Deshadan Varkala.

Sorry for the coffee taste; hope we can full fill your taste buds.

Looking forward tom serving you again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISBANE
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Unfortunately our flights were changed and thus we couldn't stay the second night we had booked. The one night we did stay though was excellent. We were able to check in very quickly, the room was immaculate and after a month around India we finally found a bed that wasn't like rock! I felt like I slept on a cloud!!
The only negatives were the WIFI was hopeless -they give you 2 options to log onto for free but both dropped out regularly and weren't available in the room - which is not essential to some but as we were trying to confirm flights it was annoying. The other would be the food. We were starving when we arrived so ordered food from the restaurant and literally out of 4 dishes we ate about 6 mouthfuls...horrible....and they charged for everything. We didn't realize how close it is to a HUGE amount of restaurants....we found out shortly after.
Neither would prevent me from coming back, I would definitely stay here again - its close enough to everything but being a little stroll away gave us the peace and quiet we were craving.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Deshadan Varkala.

We have understood that your overall experience was good and at the same time we have looked into your concerns.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort. I have to be honest, I thought the hotel would be at the beach, judging by the name but it was 5 minutes away from the cliff closest to the beach. It wasn't that bad, it was an OK walking distance though one short part was through a very narrow alley. One night there was no electricity in one part of Varkala Beach and luckily the staff had given us a torch, without it it would have been impossible to find our way back. I'm sure though, that anybody would have assisted us if we'd asked, Indian people are very friendly. Rooms are good and clean. Breakfast was ok however the coffee was terrible. I guess it's not something special for this place as the coffee is terrible in whole India ...
The staff was very friendly and helping out in any question we had. We booked a yoga class through them and there is a yoga school very nearby which is highly recommended. If you take the morning class at 6am you might end up having a privat session at almost no cost at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Deshadan property.

We have taken note on your concerns as we will make sure that necessary actions will be taken on time.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed 2nights at Deshadan resort in November.Very clean and big rooms,bathrooms very modern and clean. A nice clean place with homely feelings, defiantly recommend

The Chef was very friendly and the quality of the food was fantastic

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedbacks.

We accept it whole heartedly as we will look forward to extend our services to all our guest staying in Deshadan properties.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel has a nice location with a walking distance to the beach. We were greeted by friendly staff. We even had a choice of rooms as we wished. So we chose the ones by the pool. The pool is very clean. We immediately dipped in of course.

Room size was nice and bathrooms were clean. Food was served by friendly staff with a good variety of north and south Indian cuisine. They have a spa and ayurvedic treatment. I did not try that so I cannot rate it.

Overall, experience was great. This is my kind of place. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

It is place to relax and feel rejunuvated.

Deshadan Varkala is the best choice to stay if you are planning to visit Varkala.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Address: Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#10 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 200 metres from the Papanasam cliff at Varkala, Deshadan offers the best of everything. Be it the cuisine, the facilities or the comforts. At Deshadan you can explore a wide variety of holiday pleasures. Once you have had your fill of the beach choose to laze around in the deluxe A/C rooms facing the pool. Rest assured with mouth watering dishes with smiling service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Hotel Varkala
Deshadan Cliff And Beach Resort
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.