We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit Varkala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 38 hotels in Varkala
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“visit Varkala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I wad on Kerala tour from 13th Oct to 20th. Varkala was my first destination. The resort is very tastefully built. Each room has different name, identity and decor. Own Ayurveda center. Swimming pull and above all warm people to serve you with smile. Food was also great in centrally located restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

As rightly mentioned Varkala is a must place to visit.

We have all the facilities in the property so as to make the guest feel comfortable and relaxing.

Looking forward to serving you again.

WARM REGARDS

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    67
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
47
58
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, NI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious. Pool is also very good. The only issue is that the hotel is a ten minute walk from the main cliff, where the beach and all the shops and restaurants are located. At night you will need to bring a flash-light (which the hotel staff provided for us) in order to find your way back to the hotel But in some ways it is nice to be away from the hustle of the main cliff front. Breakfast was good also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your good response.

We expect to have such good feedbacks from all our guests who stays in Deshadan properties.

Warm Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

unfortunately I fell ill, on my second night during a short holiday in varkala. The staff was so very helpful, they went out of their way to make sure I was ok. A person from the hotel made arrangements for a doctor, when that was not possible as it was a sunday. personally took me to the hospital, helped in the translation ironed everything out. Not just that, the next morning the gm had arranged to get my tests delivered to me. which was really very sweet.

They did all this without me even asking. they went the extra mile, they even offered to make food not on the menu, that would make me feel better..

this really made me fall in love with the place and people here. well i recovered the next day itself. but stayed another extra day.

Food is very very good. the pool is always clean and 7 out of five stars for how they treat their guests. OOOhhh and the beds are so soft and springy, loved them !!

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your encouraging comments.

Deshadan would like to make a difference by providing the services which would be out of the way as mentioned and to create an everlasting impression.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent Head, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked into the Deshaden for three nights and extended our stay for another week. If you have the time you can easily slot in to a very relaxed holiday in Varkala staying at the Deshaden. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the pool is magic, the rooms are spacious, very clean and nicely decorated and are serviced daily. The beds are large and extremely comfortable (just like clouds) with good linen and pillows, a little of a rarity we found. The bathroom is good, everything works and it has a shower curtain. Wow. The hotel is in good condition, well kept and the gardens are nice, creating a beautiful setting. The breakfast is served in the open air restaurant in the garden, is a la carte, complimentary and very good. The beach or more accurately during our stay the cliff top, is (we timed it ) 4 minutes 20 seconds down some sandy lane ways . This provides lots and lots of cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool and are probably very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

As rightly mentioned any guest staying in Deshadan Varkala feels the same.

Our motto is to create home away home feel to all the guest.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards

Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The resort is no where close to "luxury"... the location is good but not that great. But still the overall experience was very good because the staff is very good.. they go that extra mile to make your stay comfortable. The breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your sincere thoughts about our property.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 days. The resorts is at a walkable distance from the cliff. The time we went to Varkala was not pleasant, but the stay in the resorts made us happy and enjoyable. The room service was excellent. Pool a great plus point in the resorts. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Deshadan Varkala.

We are happy to note that you have enjoyed our pool and the overall ambiance.

Looking forward tom serving you agaon.

Warm Regards


Anup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

There needs to be a subtext added in here, I proposed to my girlfriend in the pool so it can't be too bad!! Very pleasant place to spend a few days, short walk to the strip of restaurants at the cliff and a nice pool with friendly staff. Breakfast was fine and the room was very nice, nothing at all to complain about. Would thoroughly recommend if visiting varkala for a few days

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for visiting Deshadan Varkala.

We are happy to note that you had a great experience and we also hope that you can spread your
good experiences with all your near and dear ones.

WARM REGARDS


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Address: Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Varkala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 200 metres from the Papanasam cliff at Varkala, Deshadan offers the best of everything. Be it the cuisine, the facilities or the comforts. At Deshadan you can explore a wide variety of holiday pleasures. Once you have had your fill of the beach choose to laze around in the deluxe A/C rooms facing the pool. Rest assured with mouth watering dishes with smiling service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, MakeMyTrip, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Hotel Varkala
Deshadan Cliff And Beach Resort
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.