We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Had a great time and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Could do with being a bit more child friendly. i.e menus, play area, etc Anyway, still wouldn't stop me from going back. Had a bit of a hiccup with the travel agent not paying bills and the hotel staff held us back and used us to get the money from the travel agent. Oh well. Business is business I guess.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your great comments " Lovely Place, Lovely Staff ". We are working to our best of the abilities to get such great feedbacks.

Looking forward for serving you better during your next visit.

Warm Regards

Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    75
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
55
67
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a brilliant time. The Deshadan resort is small and personal all the staff were exceptional especially Dillish on reception who was welcoming and provided us with all the help he could. We also have to mention Sunill who looked after our superb room and was really helpful and friendly. The resort is ideally placed for a short walk to the cliff where there are numerous restaurants providing very good food. I can personally recommend Trattoria right at the far end and also Blue moon where we had a wonderful tuna salad.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Hello Sir,


Deshadan' s USP is the staff and their ability to create a homely atmosphere to the guest staying.

Thank you for appreciating our services; there is nothing like picking up some one special from the group and telling everybody that you are the best.

Looking forward to see you soon.

Have a great day !

Bye

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

one of the best resorts in varkala in service and quality ,team of abhilash,dilesh do a great job in making sure guests have a great time in varkala,great ambience,clean and neat rooms with a theme for every single room(rooms with themes of jaipur to jasilmer,travancore to malabar) ,great swimming pool and excellent food,a treat for any holiday maker

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Hi,

Thank you for showcasing Deshadan Varkala as a perfect holiday destination.

Mr. Abhilash and his team make sure that the main priority always remains as the guest satisfaction.

We are concentrating more on the up gradation of the property in order to meet the high expectations of the guest.

Hope to see you again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

In my opinion, there is no better place to stay in Varkala that at the Deshadan Resort. I have been visiting this hotel since it opened in 2006 with groups and on my own and would no stay anywhere else! Why??…many reasons:
It's off the main beach track, so you can enjoy meeting with the local people if you wish, but only a short walk to the cliff, the shops and the beach and a quick rickshaw drive to the town; I recommend experiencing the local market in the morning.
Abhilash and his team are amazing! They are dedicated to make your stay the most welcoming, comfortable and interesting experience. You only have to ask and they will try to accommodate, help you out and advise you. They work as a team with a strong family spirit proud to work for the resort making you feel at home and very special. Nothing is too much trouble for them!
The hotel is small but each room is individually decorated with themes from various states of India. They are clean and spacious with fan and air-condition and a very welcoming bathroom with bathrobes for your comfort. They all face the pool which is a plus (only 2 hotels with pool in Varkala). The pool is thoroughly cleaned every day, with loungers, pool towels and umbrellas to relax and staff to look after you! The restaurant is convivial and the chef is a star who will please your palate from mild to more challenging local specialties. There is a selection of Cliffside restaurants to suit your craving but none will offer better value for money.
The resort is associated with a very reputable ayurveda company and offer “real” ayurvedic treatments (with 4 hands massages), all followed by a doctor and properly trained therapists!
Yes, I thoroughly recommend this hotel and will be lucky to visit again next month!

Room Tip: all rooms are individual, facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Hi,

It was great to read such a comment which we feel can be used as our marketing tool.

Varkala is lovely beach destination to visit. Thinking of taking a break from your busy schedule then visit Varkala and check in to Deshadan.

Warm Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kollam, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We really enjoyed the stay at Deshadan . The pool, the rooms , the restaurant were all excellent.Most of all the staff from management, Front desk, restarant, cleaners, they were all fantastic , friendly and professional. . If I get a chance again I will undoubtedly visit Deshadan

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Hello,

High standard of service,good etiquette,customer care lifts the overall image of the property.

We will take necessary measures to maintain such good standards.

Warm Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

You just cannot find a better small hotel anywhere in Kerala, We have just returned from our nineth holiday to Kerala in the last 10 years. We always make sure we spend at least 10 days at the Deshadan to relax and unwind. A great property with a lovely pool. The staff are brilliant, both friendly and helpful with wonderful smiles for evertone. Great food, quiet location but only 5 mins to the cliff top. As we know most of the other accomodation in Varkala by now, in our opinion this is the best in it's price range.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear Sir,

"Fifth visit in last 5 years".

The statement is self explanatory, we will strive hard to get such comments from our valuable guests.

Warms Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Deshadan is an upcoming small hotels chain with 4 units in South India. The property at Varkala is very close to the beach with barely 15 rooms thereby ensuring privacy. The rooms are however not that great. The bathroms are clean equipped with basic toilletories.

There is an organized sitting area besides the pool where meals are served. There is no restaurant although. Meals can also be served in the room upon request (other than breakfast).

The main reason one should opt for to stay over here is because it is located very close to Varkala Beach (about 5 minutes walk) and it is quite cheap to live in. They also have a small library where you can borrow books to read either at the resort or the beach front. There are plenty of food options at the beach and there also is a Taj Gateway at Varkala which is about 15 mins walk from the resort which serves great food.

A great place for youngsters and college students to backpack and travel with less money in their pockets.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort

Address: Kurakkanni Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#10 Family Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 200 metres from the Papanasam cliff at Varkala, Deshadan offers the best of everything. Be it the cuisine, the facilities or the comforts. At Deshadan you can explore a wide variety of holiday pleasures. Once you have had your fill of the beach choose to laze around in the deluxe A/C rooms facing the pool. Rest assured with mouth watering dishes with smiling service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deshadan Cliff And Beach Resort
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Hotel Varkala
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.