We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds, clean room and fabulous staff- thanks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mangalath Beach Resort

Le Mangalath Beach Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Mangalath Beach Resort
Save
You added Le Mangalath Beach Resort to your Saves list
Thiruvambadi Beach Road, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 78 Varkala B&B and Inns
Sheffield, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfy beds, clean room and fabulous staff- thanks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

We arrived in Varkala on 28th December and had booked our 10 day stay at Le Mangalath a few months earlier based on the reviews it had been given on Tripadvisor.

I have travelled around India quite a bit and in comparison to many of the places I have stayed in Le Mangalath was great! The room was very clean, the towels and sheets were white (not mucky grey!), the bathroom looked and smelled clean always. The hotel itself is in pleasant grounds with a pretty lawn at the front. We were very happy to have this as our base.

They provide a decent enough breakfast, prepared in a hygienic kitchen but the restaurant was not open for lunch time or evening meals. It would have been helpful to be able to have other meals here. The restaurant building had been damaged by heavy rain I believe.

The most outstanding aspect of the hotel were the staff. My 5 year old daughter got food poisoning from one of the restaurants on the cliff and required hospital attention. Ravi (assistant manager) went out of his way to help us and escorted us to the hospital. He didn't leave until he had registered us and made sure we had a bed for the night.

All the staff were very welcoming and helpful.

The location was perfect for us as it is 5 minutes walk from the nicest beach (we didn't like the large beach), and it was peaceful. We wouldn't have wanted to be close to the cliff edge with 2 young children as it is not fenced off safely or at all in some places. Be prepared for this if you are taking young ones!

I would say that rather than offering the facilities of a resort hotel, Le Mangalath is an excellent bed and breakfast.

  • Liked — The comfy beds and the lovely staff.
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurant for lunch and evening meals.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
6
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

I agree with the previous review. The pictures and information on the website are very misleading. We chose this place because it was an ayurvedic centre but the centre no longer exists. They should change the name and be more honest about the fact that this is a simple guesthouse - not a beach resort !

  • Liked — staff were pleasant and apologised for the fact that we had been misled
  • Disliked — that we had been misled
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Be very careful if you book this on the basis of the website.
There is no longer an ayevurdic centre on site - it is three kilometers away. Photographs on the website are of this new centre rather than Le Mangalath itself.
There is no longer a restaurant - it is "closed" and the building stands abandoned.
There are no longer beautiful gardens - the grounds are being prepared for a "project next year"
It is not a beachfront property - there are a row of buildings in front of you.
The staff are charming and helpful but we were so disappointed and were not prepared to stay once we discovered how dishonest the management had been in promoting something which is not at all what it claims to be.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

This is really a nice hotel, just a stroll away from the beach, but no sea view. I don't think it as the structure reminds me of home. They have nice clean rooms, cleaned daily. The point is that each every staff there has a smile on his face with an flair to help you. Check out for their Breakfast, it's worth. It's not the place for people looking out for a hip place. It's really quite, I had been there during peak season with the hotel almost full, even then it was quite. I'll surely recommend this place who want to relax during holiday.

  • Liked — matress and their smiles
  • Disliked — views
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

Clean, quiet hotel set in a beautiful garden. Value for money. Friendly staff, rooms cleaned daily, very comfortable bed with two pillows and excellent breakfast. The only downside was that the hot water was only ever occassionally lukewarm. About a 5 minute walk from the main drag and even closer to the beach.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — Lack of hot water
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jüchen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

No restaurant, every day fight for hot water for shower, in January 2009 they would like to start for a new building and the it will be a large construction site in 2009.
lokation o.k. for people who like a little bit silence and 50m to a nice beach, north of Varkala Beach.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

i was to varkala for a weeks holiday. Seen the reviews i made booking directly with the hotel. when i stepped out of varkala railway station i was surrounded by all those tuk tuk and taxi drivers as usually seen in india. i took one of them and arrived at le mangalath. i was given a nice room with a/c. it was the first time i came to varkala and it was really a great place with golden brown cliffs facing the beach with restaurants and souvenir shops atop. its great to sip down a beer from one of the restaurants. my stay was fine. they clean your room daily and serve you a nice breakfast. i also had dinner once which was fine, but rather had dinners outside as they are located just off the cliff. its certainly not a 5 star hotel, but they provide the best for what they charge. i will certainly go back to varkala and to le mangalath.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Mangalath Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mangalath Beach Resort

Address: Thiruvambadi Beach Road, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Le Mangalath Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mangalath Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.