We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“Thanks Hari!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vedanta Wake up! on the sunny cliffs, Varkala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vedanta Wake up! on the sunny cliffs, Varkala to your Saves list
Vedanta Wake up! on the sunny cliffs, Varkala
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   North Helipad Cliff, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
A TripAdvisor Member
“Thanks Hari!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I can highly recommend this hostel. One of the best value, most fun and enjoyable places we have stayed in the 7 months we've been traveling. Awesome local food and great tours as well. Hari is amazing and will look after you like a friend. Just don't book on their website (it's way more expensive)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    39
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
22
62
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thekkady, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at vedanta in varkala. It was our first stop in Kerala and a welcome upgrade from the places we had stayed in Rajasthan. Clean spacious rooms with really soft quilt covers on the beds. We stayed in one of the huts on the first night as we arrived a day early and so the room we had booked was occupied. The hut smelled quite musty as it was rainy season so I would recommend staying inside the building of you are there at this time of the year. We moved inside the next day and as our friend arrived unexpectedly the staff put an extra bed in there for us. They also gave us the hut for the same price we'd pre-booked the room for which was nice as it should have been more. The location is great as it is 5 minutes walk away from the hustle and bustle so you can relax in peace. You will need to find dinner along the cliff top though as there is no evening menu. They will provide breakfast though and the fresh juice is delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at Vedanta. We stayed in a double room; one of the wooden huts. The room was nicely presented and had small table and chairs and nice, fluffy towels. Hot water was readily available! We also had a tv and were able to watch several film channels.

The staff here were extremely helpful. One of the guests staying here collapsed from heat exhaustion and the staff did everything they could, despite their limited English. They were also accommodating when we needed to ring the airline to change our flights.

Breakfast was very tasty and the service was great! For 200 rupees each, we got a tray of toast, jam and butter, tea/coffee, fresh juice, cereal and eggs.

Great Internet service too!

This hotel is within walking distance of all the bars and restaurants. We actually liked being a 5 minute walk away as it was a bit quieter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights with a group of friends and all I can say is the feel of the place is just what we were looking for..a great and cheerful staff, always ready to help and serve with a smile. How can i even not make a mention of how yummy the breakfast was..we had a ball of a time visiting various places in kerala suggested by them with out worrying about the transport. It was very smoothly arranged and we didnt have to worry about paying extra..all I can say we couldnt have asked for more..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of June, definitely off season in varkala because of the rain but was still a great place to stay. The hostel is a great place to meet people during off season when there are few people around and has some of the friendliest and most helpful staff I've met in India. Shameer even let me borrow his mobile phone to go into town and try and make an international call and all staff seem very committed to making the stay as enjoyable as possible. I know Vedanta wake up are planning a big expansion and look forward to staying again if I revisit India.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

It was good accomodation for our budget....rooms r clean....near to the beach around 4 mins from vedanta.
can try bamboo rooms also.near to janardhana swamy temple...as we went in offseason we got a great offer...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Vedanta was pretty good, specially the staff. We stayed in the bamboo cottage, though it was a bit noisy because of no real walls and we can hear the crows and squirells moving around the walls and roof but it was my first time in a bamboo hut and we did enjoy it.
As we went there in off season, we got a fabulous deal via cleartrip.com but it also meant that a lot of restaurants were shut and many others didnt have all the menu items available.
Also the sea was quite rough and the beach was shut for 3 days out of 5 days of our stay.
Remember that there are power cuts and the place doesnt have a power backup, unfortunately we had a 8 hour power cut and the beach was shut so nothing to do except sit in heat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vedanta Wake up! on the sunny cliffs, Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedanta Wake up! on the sunny cliffs, Varkala

Address: North Helipad Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vedanta Wake up! on the sunny cliffs, Varkala 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedanta, the highest state of consciousness and self realization can be achieved only while traveling.Vedanta Wake up! India’s finest chain of backpacking hostels, was conceived to address the primary concerns of backpackers and budget travelers.Vedanta Wake up! on the sunny cliffs, Varkala, is an exclusive hostel with beautifully landscaped gardens. The hostel is walking distance to the golden sands of Helipad beach, Black beach and Papanasam beach. Guests also have an option of staying in wonderfully hand crafted organic bamboo huts for an earthy living experience.Our rooms are designed keeping comfort and cleanliness in mind. We offer shared rooms with ensuite bathrooms as well as superior private rooms for families. At Vedanta Wake up!, we offer you an environment to meet fellow travelers in our lounges which are fully equipped with computers, free Wi-Fi, television sets, DVD players, movies, book exchange libraries, guitars, board games, maps and eateries. Our eateries will provide you with hygienic and sumptuous meals cooked by our in-house chefs any time of the day at very minimum charge.We encourage our guests to socialize and get to know each other through local bar crawls, sight-seeing trips, dinner outings, movie nights, karaoke nights and other fun activities almost every night (and there’s no curfew!)We provide assistance in arranging local tours and visits to nearby tourist attractions so that our guests can soak in the sights and sounds and have a memorable holiday experience. We also organize classes such as cooking, yoga, Indian classical music and ayurvedic massages. You can check in any time of the day. Our young and energetic team will provide you with every comfort possible to make your stay fun and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Vedanta Wake up! on the sunny cliffs, Varkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedanta Wake Up! On The Sunny Cliffs, Varkala Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vedanta Wake up! on the sunny cliffs, Varkala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.