We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian in India! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Lounge

Sky Lounge
North Cliff Varkala | North Cliff Varkala, Varkala, India
9746751354
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 61 Restaurants in Varkala
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: SKY Lounge,A restaurant with an excellent ambience for travellers of all categories. A place where you can think of enjoying your drinks along with delicious and mouth-watering cuisines. Specialised in Sea food delicacies, the restaurant is located in the heart of Varkala's Cliff exactly opposite to the entrance of the beach. Divided into three sections i.e. a restaurant where you can spent your precious time and treasure it all your life as a memory, a lounge where you try different cocktails and rocking music throughout the day and finally there's a open air space where you can get the tropical experience. The restaurant has a transparent kitchen which reflects the hygienic environment where your meal is prepared, friendly and cooperative people are running this place to take it to the heights of sky so we call it "SKY LOUNGE".
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Indian in India! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Excellent food, great atmosphere, stunning location with great view, exceptional service, try the Kerala dishes...and all for a great price! Couldn't recommend more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    7
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

the waiters were quite rude & food was very disappointing, especially as it took so long.. wont be going back

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“great place in the evening...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We ate at this restaurant since it was recommended by our hotel. Good place for continental and Italian food. The table overlooking the sea is amazing. We ordered kalamari fish and some seafood dish. We also tried their chicken. Everything was nice and very reasonably priced. Just make sure you get there by 7.30 to get good seating and good service. The service gets a bit slow later and you have to wait for seating.The fish is displayed at the entrance in most restaurants in the evening and one can choose ones fish or sea food. The evening is very beautiful at the cliff. Lots of candles lit along the path makes the cliff a very romantic place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Food and staff excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We ate here a couple of times in the evening. They have a fresh fish display which you can choose from and decide how you would like it cooked. You can even watch it being cooked in he glass fronted kitchen. There is also an extensive menu of Indian, Chinese and continental food. Drinks include a good cocktail menu. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
We were there at a busy time and it felt a bit too busy for the number of staff working, which meant the service was quite slow. But worth the wait.
Top tip: try to book a table at the front of the balcony for the best views,

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varkala, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Generally good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Ate a few times, generally friendly staff, good food, good service and decent prices. Once had to wait for some unexplained reason even though it wasn't that busy but this can happen anywhere. Most often I eat either fruit or indian style breakfast but of the more western style ones I did try I think the one here was the best.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sky Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Sky Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.