We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Beautiful & Secluded Property ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Government Guest House | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695 141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gwalior
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful & Secluded Property ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Commencing our journey from Zuri Kumarakom to Varkala, we checked-in this property. The Gateway Hotel is actually a Taj Property under Gateway Hotel Branding.

The property is situated 1.5 km away from the Papanasam Beach on a cliff. The property is very beautiful. Again we got the adjoining rooms. The rooms are comfortable and recently re-furnished with modern facilities.

The choice of food was very good and they had all type of cuisines. The staff was very courteous made sure we did face any problem, specially the housekeeping staff, who made sure our rooms were clean , after the beach visit, and smelling fresh with flowers.

Must recommended...

Room Tip: There are two types Garden View & Sea View, Choose your preference Before Booking, I chose Sea V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    140
    42
    15
    12
See reviews for
128
169
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Taj Varkala was my first Taj experience. The property is located very close to the Varkala beach. The stay was very comfortable and enjoyable for us. Dealing with the Taj staff was indeed a very good experience. When the F&B Manager realized that we were keen on trying out Kerala delicacies, he and the chef went out of their way in serving dishes that were not even listed on the menu. The facilities and upkeep of this Taj property is also excellent. Kerala cuisine includes a jackfruit pickle and we could not find it in the market in Varkala. The highlight of our stay was the fact that when we were checking out, the chef handed us a jar of jackfruit pickle that he'd prepared fresh for us. In all, an unforgettable stay.

The Taj experience left a lasting impression on me. While checking out I booked two rooms for my parent and in-laws to gift them a vacation at the same property. The Taj folks took such good care of my parents and in-laws and made their stay so comfortable that I wrote a personal thank you note to the senior management.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to have had you and family stay with us and thank you for your valuable time to write about us.

We are glad that you liked the hotel and our services. The little touches that the team does go a long way to delight our guests, your feedback has just reassured us of this fact. It is our endeavour to provide our guest with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay memorable and your appreciation is indeed rewarding.

I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for only 1 day here and really had a great experience.Very comfortable Bed!! Room, pool, service, breakfast - everything was great!! Sea is in a walking diatance through garden. Overall, I highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest

We are glad to know that you have had an excellent experience with us at the Gateway Varkala .
While we thank you for those kind words of appreciation on the hotel and service we look forward for the opportunity to be of service to you on your future visits.

Best regards from all of us ,
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

After an unfortunate incident during my first stay, I decided to give this hotel another chance as it is the only real nice hotel in the area. The General Manager went out of his way to make sure my father and I had a nice stay, and I can say it was a much better experience the second (and third) time back. The service has been great, and I appreciate a hotel that actually takes customer feedback into consideration.

Rooms are very comfortable, all with a small outdoor patio / or balcony. The pool is great, and perfect for relaxing if you need a break from the beach. Although I would recommend getting out there early, as there is limited pool side seating. The location is a bit further than other places, but the beach is walk-able and the North Cliff is only a 3 min Tuk Tuk ride. Overall, I highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest

It was our pleasure to have had you and your father stay with us and thank you for patronizing the Taj. We are glad to hear the positive feedback on the hotel and service as the team and I are elated and remain motivated.

Thank you once again as we look forward for your next stay.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Although it is a good property and not Great , the service truly is !

Rooms are modern with adequate amenities.

location of rooms - We had booked a garden view - then upgraded to Sea view - this was initially unavailable. It was a nice view overlooking the pool and the sea which is at quite a distance.

The Kerala special vegetarian dinner prepared by the chef - on recommendation by the GM himself was just marvelous , and literally .finger licking good.

The food is Great and the menu for breakfast also has some nice surprieses , like PAV BHAJI....
reluctantly i tasted it , and then just couldnt stop my self gorging on it.

Room Tip: It surely will not pinch the pockets to choose the sea view rooms - serene view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable time to write about our hotel and glad to know that you liked the hotel and our services. The little touches that the team does go a long way to delight our guests, your feedback has just reassured us of this fact.

We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you again at The Gateway Varkala

Kind Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a week here in April after touring around Kerala. The hotel is smart and modern, light and spacious. The staff are, like everywhere else in Kerala, welcoming and friendly. The room was clean and modern with lovely comfy beds, a fridge, large balcony, sea view, only niggle would be no hanging space for dresses and no drawers so had to leave clothes in the suitcases for a week. The pool area is lovely, comfy sunbeds, a very clean pool, great view and a very attentive pool man. There are not many sunbeds but there were always some free during the week we were there. The walk to the beach is not suitable if you struggle with steps or narrow paths (or snakes!). Everywhere is very clean and well maintained. The restaurant staff are very friendly, the food is very good and beautifully presented. However, the only issue we really had was the length of time taken to produce food. At lunch time we might be the only two people in the restaurant and still wait over an hour for a sandwich, the wait for food could be very frustrating. Also we had a full board package through which we could order anything off the a la carte menu, but a few nights when the hotel was busy there was a buffet which they tried to insist we have instead. I tried it once but the food was nowhere near as good as the a la carte menu and the choice very narrow, so we insisted on the menu, as did many other people. But we would go back for a relaxing do nothing holiday.

Room Tip: Go for a superior sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and yout kind words on the hotel. We are glad that you liked the hotel and the service standards. Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team and shall go a long way in ensuring that we keep up the excellent service standards.

We also also noted your feedback on the food and timeliness , you may be rest assured that the same will be addressed immediately.

We look forward to have you stay with us on your future visit to Varkala.

Kind regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was the third stop-over during our seven day Kerala trip. The property is wonderful with great staff.
The minus points : 1. You can't see the sea even from sea-view rooms as the trees hinder the view. 2. The properly is on different levels- each room around 6-8 steps down/up from each other.
The pluses : 1. There is a small gate at the end of the property connecting the property to the beach thru a small walk-way (300mtrs) - open between 7am to 7pm. This makes reaching the beach much easier. 2. The property has the most wonderful staff.
My suggestions : 1. There should be some recreational activities as in Taj Kumarakom. 2. The lobby should get a face-lift. 3. There should be some place in the hotel - a lounge- from where guests can enjoy a clear view of the sea.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for giving us another opportunity to be of service to you during your visit to Varkala.
The team and I sincerely are grateful for your time taken in posting your feedback on our hotel and we are happy to read your compliments.

It is our endeavour to provide our guest with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay memorable and in this regard we are thankful for your feedback on the entertainment and the lounge experience , we would certainly address them as we look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Kind regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala

Address: Near Government Guest House | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695 141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#3 Family Hotel in Varkala
#6 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is set amidst tall, swaying palms and is 60 ft high on a cliff, Varkala is located 55 kms (1 hr 15 m drive) from Thiruvananthapuram International Airport. The railway station is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel offers a choice of 30 elegant rooms including 2 suites. A multi-cuisine restaurant and 2 bars, meeting room, Ayurvedic center, WiFi and indoor/outdoor sports facilities makes the hotel an ideal getaway for the discerning leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.