We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Modern Rooms. Nice Location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala

Save Saved
You added The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Government Guest House | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695 141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 hotels in Varkala
Bettembourg, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Very Nice Modern Rooms. Nice Location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We were assigned a newly renovated room with excellent view of the gardens, palm trees, the sea and nightly sunsets. We were very pleased with the design, decor and quailty of the hotel room. Our room attendant, Raul, was most pleasant and did a perfect job of maintaining our room each day.

The hotel drive entry is very pretty and gives one a feeling they are arriving at a luxury property. Then you enter the lobby. While the lobby is large, with lots of seating. It is old, drab and lacks the impact of the hotel exterior. Despite the great view from the lobby there is no lounge type facility in the lobby area to enjoy a drink and snack. It screams "renovate me please!".

However, making up for the lackluster lobby, the reception desk staff are bright, cheerful and welcoming! Afsal M tended to our check-in with much warmth and attention and provided us with his five star service consistently throughout our stay.

The pool is perfect in size and design. Nice loungers. We do not lay out in the sun so wish there were cabana facilities. Most hotels lack these so it is not a negative. The fitness center consists of one elliptical machine and one tredmill and is part of the ayurvedic spa. The spa room we saw was stark and plain. We opted not to book any treatments so cannot review the hotel spa services. The fitness machines are not accessible until 7am.

The restaurant is smallish with basic modern decor. There is covered outdoor seating were most guests choose to use. The hotel sets up tables on the lawn outside the restaurant for dinner. There is a buffet setup for breakfast and dinner. The spread is not extensive, but sufficient. We found that the hotels we stayed at had buffets with foods to cater to non Indians. We love Indian food so ordered our evening meals from the ala carte menu which tends to be more authentic and sppicer than the buffet offerings. We found this to also be the case at The Gateway. We enjoyed our meals very much... including our room service order which was delivered in a very timely fashion. The restaurant staff are young friendly guys. We enjoyed the attentive service proved by Atool and Ligin very much!

The town and beach are very near the hotel. Guests can walk down a pathway from the back of the hotel or feom the hotel driveway area. The pathway is only accessable feom 7am to 7pm. There is a gate at the top of the footpath which is locked after 7pm. As a Trip Advisor user it was an interesting experience uaing the foot path as one has to walk right up allng a few of the hotel properties we read about on the site. One was one of our other top choices. It was very different in reality and we were so pleased we booked The Gateway. Also, one can see The Hindustan Hotel from the Gateway. Nice beachfront location, but still, The Gateway is far superior.

The north cliff, the area with all the restaurants and shops, is just a bit far for convenient walking to and from the hotel. We simply hired a cheap auto rickshaw from "the helipad" back to the hotel.

The hotel charges for internet access (arrrgh, don't ya just hate that!). There is a cafe in the town very near the footpath that offers free internet. Made for a nice morning coffee. Not sure if they can provide a computer as we had a tablet that we carried with us.

Overall, we were completely happy with our choice to stay at The Gatway and highly recommend it for visitors to Varkala who want to be near but not in the midst of the north cliff acttion. The cliff is great for day visit and dinner but seems it would be too much of the same old thing day after day. The Gateway fills the niche very, very well. We would love to see the hotel once it is completely refurbished with a lobby that reflects its exterior and hearts of the staff!

TIPS:
Lotus Cafe: located on the south cliff is a must, must, must! Not the easiest place to find, but so well worth the lovely stroll. Easiest way is to take the stairs from across "the tank" to the right of the temple stairs, turn left at the top, turn right once at the back of the temple and keep walking. Real espresso, a view of the sea with eagles flying so close you can take a clear photo of them and warm service! Honestly, sitting at this cafe on the edge of the cliff with those eagles is now one of my top three favorite and amazing spots I have ever experienced.

Temple Elephant: One can see the temple elephant on the walk to the cafe. Not a pretty site as it is chained to a tree and exposed to the harsh sun. Sad to see, but if you have never been up close to an elephant here is your chance. Please stay out on the roadway and do not go anywhere near the elephant!

One can access the back of the temple area for some nice photo opportunites too! Please be respectful and do not go very far inside the temple courtyard area. It is not a site seeing spot, but an opportunity to see some of the temple.

Souvenirs: Wonderful hand made paintings using vegetables for coloring. Just before Maria's beauty salon. Tiny hole in the wall place. It is managed by the sons of the artist. Original and unique. Each piece is priced based on the time it took to make and they come is a variety of sizes.

Varkala vs Kovalam: Hands down Varkala!

Hotel: The Gateway is the top upscale option!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    107
    35
    14
    9
See reviews for
88
125
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Thankyou to everbody at the Gateway Hotel. We had a truly amazing holiday.

Dont waste your time looking at the past reviews as the good ones and the bad ones all have valid points??? Thats the problem with Tripadvisor! The hotel is much like any hotel in the world. Its made of concrete and has a roof! The staff however are not found anywhere else. They are absolutely fantastic. Dennis is the best hotel manager I have ever had dealings with. Sajimon and Lujin, in the restaurant, were so friendly and polite but efficient as well. Indeed all the staff were polite and took time out to talk to you. The food in the A/C restaurant tasted fantastic and was presented beautifully.

Varkala was interesting. We walked down to the beach and then along to the cliffs every day to watch the sunset whilst sitting in one of the many bars enjoying a beer.

If you are trawling through a Mercury Direct brochure wondering where to go on your visit to Kerala then all I can say is CHOOSE THIS HOTEL. The Full Board package is great value for money.

A few tips: Normal European 2 pin plugs fit the sockets. Hairdryers are in all rooms along with Safes. Bottled water is provided in your room free of charge. Towels are provided around the pool.

We stayed for 20 relaxing nights in December 2011 and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLR
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Nice peaceful resort. good food and location, close to the beach. The location is 55 kms from Trivandrum and about 30 kms from Kollam. good location to take day trips to Kanyakumari and Trivandrum.

There are some attractions around Varkala (none in Varkala though) and there is some degree of difficulty in locating places if you are on your own in your vehicle.

rooms are clean and spacious and the sea view rooms are a good choice.

It is ok to spend no more than 3-4 days there if you want to rest and do sight-seeing. if only sight-seeing, then no more than 3 days

Room Tip: Take the sea-view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kottayam, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Horrible room service..you wont get the food even after waiting for hours..need to call every now and then.. forget about food ,.not even drinking water..they claim that it requires about 45 minutes to prepare the dish..you wait for one and a half hour call up again and ask..the response " sorry sir we missed the order..we will prepare it within 15 mins and give !!!"

Asked for some drinking water 1 hr before checking out..and that's a mystery!!
Indian guest FYI..you don't get a health faucet in bathrooms..a bucket and mug is available on request..

However the food in restaurant is good quality.. again the chef forgot a portion of the dish ..errrr

The room had a pungent smell!!

They decorated the room when we came back after an outing..was nice to see ..but if you miss the basics of hospitality whats the point..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

We wanted to end our India trip with a bit of luxury, without bursting our budget and the Getaway was a perfect solution.

Lovely rooms with very comfortable pillows and mattress. Great service. Nice pool area (although the pool could have used a more frequent clean) and fantastic food.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The gateway hotel is a very nice property about 1 hour from the Trivandrum airport.
We opted for the Suite on the first floor,It was a large, beautifully done room. Unfortunately the a/c was dripping water and so were shifted to a regular garden view room on the ground floor. Surprisingly they weren't apologetic about having to shift us.

The best part about the place is the pool & the pool bar, we spent the entire 2 days of our stay in the pool. The food was great, awesome variety of sea food, mildly spiced n delicious.
After our initial hitch , we loved out holiday there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011 via mobile

Was a lovely hotel, with kind staff, lovely rooms, my only jiggle is there were building works going on until about 7 pm.. Slightly irritating while enjoying a gin on the balcony! However good value for money overall and would revisit once building works completed!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala

Address: Near Government Guest House | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695 141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Varkala
#6 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is set amidst tall, swaying palms and is 60 ft high on a cliff, Varkala is located 55 kms (1 hr 15 m drive) from Thiruvananthapuram International Airport. The railway station is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel offers a choice of 30 elegant rooms including 2 suites. A multi-cuisine restaurant and 2 bars, meeting room, Ayurvedic center, WiFi and indoor/outdoor sports facilities makes the hotel an ideal getaway for the discerning leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.