We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great and friendly place to stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Paradise Beach Resort to your Saves list
Paradise Beach Resort
North Cliff End | Thiruvambadi, Varkala 695141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A great and friendly place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed in the hotel in early November 2013 and found the hotel a lovely haven.I had stayed before and was not dissapointed with my second stay.The manager Saleem was professional, friendly, extremely friendly and spoke fluent English.The location is perfect, a very short walk to the beach, shops, restaurants.Varkala is a beautiful town and this is a great hotel.
The rooms are clean, fan cooled and mosquito netting on each window.
The hotel is also undertaking a refurbishment which will be ready in time for the new season.Great value for money too.Highly reccomended.I will visit again this year.

Room Tip: there are seaview rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    6
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

While this hotel is on the outskirts of the beach area it is a really good option for a budget traveller. The rooms and beds are clean and well kept, personnel friendly and helpful. The name can be a little misleading for people expecting a european type of "resort" so use a little common sense when setting your expectations for a 10 EUR/ night room...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had originally planned to stay for three nights but left after one because this place was so bad and the worst place we stayed during our 3 weeks in India.

Here's what's wrong - the surrounds of the hotel, too much litter, burning rubbish fires with smoke drifting into the room etc.

The rooms - battered furniture, rock hard bed, cracked mirror, no soap or toilet paper, cracked mirror, holes in sheets and pillowcase, stained towels etc. No hot water (even though we had paid extra for an upstairs room that was supposed to have it).

Roof terrace - a joke! Concrete wasteland with broken furniture, have a look at the photos to see for yourself.

Very poor location - no sea view and away from the beaches.

So we looked for something else and easily found much better value, quality and location without any pre-booking in high season.

When we told them we were leaving they were distraught at the loss of money and tried to insist we pay for the 3 nights even though we were under no obligation to do so and were very unhappy.

When we did check out we reminded them that we had paid extra for non-existent hot water so they should give us a reduction, but apparently this wasn't possible!

In summary a very bad experience so don't stay there!! We read the other reviews for this place and it now makes us wonder who could have written the positive ones about this dump?!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia P, Owner at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
I am sorry that you do not feel you had a good experience at Paradise Beach Resort.All the issues you had have been adressed.Paradise is now under new management and are untaking a complete refurbishment for our season opening on 20th August.Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The positive thing with this place is that the staff is helpful and friendly. The beds are extremely hard. The sheets may have hole. One of the room had cockroaches.The "resort" is situated at the back-doors of other hotels and restaurants, and they throw their garbage here and sometimes put it on fire.
I can understand that someone on low budget want to stay here and may think it is a good value. But during New Year they took 4-5.000 INR. You pay the same price for Rendezvous that is much much better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia P, Owner at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
I am sorry for your bad experience.We are undergoing a complete refurbishment under new management.We are also undergoing a price adjustment also.We have new mattresses also.Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebikon, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The rooms are overpriced. Rooms not clean. Stuff is friendly but not very professionel. Stuff lived mext to our room and mad lot of noises. Beds are unconfortable. Location is good. No toilet paper. No garden

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia P, Owner at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
I am sorry for your bad experience.We are now under new management and would like to apologise for the treatment you received.We are undertaking a complete refurbishment and hope you would give our hotel another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel and room were very clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. The location is excellent if you want to be near all the restaurants, bars, shops, etc. Nice swimming pool too. Only negative was the pressure to buy ayurvedic treatments from the in-house ayurvedic therapist, but apart from that, everyone else was friendly. You'll want to stay a long time once you get here :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Really good value for money in a good location on North Cliffs. There is a choice of rooms at different prices, we took the upstairs end room which was clean, spacious and with a view. We stayed for a week and what stood out to us was the lovely atmosphere around the place and Khan the manager was genuinely kind and helpful to all his guests. If we were back in Varkala, this would undoubtably be where we would stay

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Resort

Address: North Cliff End | Thiruvambadi, Varkala 695141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set back from the cliff face and surrounded by coconut trees, Paradise Beach Resort offers 12 clean and spacious, fan-cooled rooms. Located at the quiet end of the North Cliff, towards Black Beach, the guesthouse is close to restaurants, yoga classes, shops, internet cafes and Ayurevedic Treatment Centres.Each room has natural light and a balcony for you to relax on. You are also welcome to enjoy the sunset or do your yoga practice from our roof top garden. Three rooms have sea views and all upstairs rooms offer hot as well as cold water.Our goal is to make your stay in Varkala as enjoyable as possible and we are happy to help you. We rent bikes and a scooter,we offer tours and help you with tickets for your onward journey. We are also happy to provide recommendations for restaurants, yoga classes, local sights and ayurvedic treatments.We have recently undertaken a complete refurbishment.We welcome you at Paradise Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.