We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to be #'BLOOMING BAY'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort to your Saves list
Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort
Aliyirakkam, Chilakkoor P o | Kerala, Varkala 695 141, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 78 Varkala B&B and Inns
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Place to be #'BLOOMING BAY'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had decided to have a friends reunion and had planned it in Varkala. Blooming Bay gave us the most wonderful experience and an awesome time with its beautiful view overlooking the beach, the shacks, the food,rooms etc. All of had a blast in the beach where you would have no one else to share it with, the whole beach to yourself. The food was excellent and not to mention the shacks which were simply amazing. Everyone of us just loved the place, where most of us just had to go there ones again with our family. Will definitely stay in Blooming Bay each time i'm in Varkala.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham L, Manager at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Mr. Thommen

Its great to know that you enjoyed your stay at Blooming Bay. It is of great encouragement for our team to know that you indeed had a great time at Blooming Bay.

We now have a full fledged restaurant serving the best of Indian, Chinese, Italian and continental cuisine.

I thank you for taking time out to write this review and look forward to having you and your entire family back in Blooming Bay!

Best Regards
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
13
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This place gave us some awesome memories. Peaceful and chilled out. Nice rooms, good food, a great view and right next to the beach. We went with family and just spent the weekend enjoying each others company at the blooming bay :) will definitely be going again sonetime :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham L, Manager at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Aarushi
Great to know that you had a great time at Blooming Bay.
Looking forward to having you back soon!

Regards
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kottayam, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have been a regular in varkala since the late nineties and I have seen that place transform from a hippie haven to what it is today. It is of course the same secenery with a lot more eateries and so called resorts' which offer decent accommodation. But my discovery of blooming bay is what is taking me there again. A secluded beach, rooms with a spectacular view, friendly staff, good food, and the best of it all are the cabanas on the cliff side where we spent all our days there with some music, sipping spirits and books. The varkala strip as we call it now is just a hop away but this place is serene and quite with a killer view with real friendly staff ..... I am waiting for an opportunity to be back there..........

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham L, Manager at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mr Abraham

Thank you for being a regular visitor to our property and it is encouraging to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Blooming Bay. If I am not mistaken your last visit to varkala was sometime in the end of May 2014. Since then we have been able to quite a bit of work on the property to make the place greener and cleaner. There has been a lot of work done to spruce up the gardens, the lawns and we also now have our own inhouse vegetable garden near the restaurant!

We look forward to your next visit to Blooming Bay and assure you an enjoyable holiday!

Warm regards
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I am a regular visitor to varkala and this place is my favourite spot simply because of the serene and scenic view this place offers .The staff is friendly and food is good too.The rooms are also clean and well maintained.The sunset from this place is just amazing .

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham L, Manager at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for you appreciation and will certainly pass on your good words to our staff. We strive to ensure that you have the best time possible. Look forward to your next visit to Blooming Bay and assuring you t he very best at all times.

Warm regards
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

It was a wonderful stay, view of d ocean and beach was par excellence. Stay made memorable y the warmth and hospitality shown by the manager and staff. Overall a nice place to unwind and rejuvenate oneself and family. .. wishing more blooming days ahead..........

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham L, Owner at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay stay with us. Since your visit we have done a lot of work with the garden, restaurant and have also built a passage connecting the main building with the restaurant. Activities like Table Tennis, indoor games for kids, Ceramic studio etc have been introduced at the resort. We look forward to your support and also waiting for your next visit to Blooming Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kottayam, Kerala, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Weekend getaway with sea view. Amazing property.laid back with lots of area for kids to play around.small stroll and you hit the beach.the management will arrange for transportation on request with very nominal charge only.so though not in the happening area of north cliff in Varkala, after your evening swim you can take an auto and dine at the shack on north cliff. The Kerala food is what we ate for lunch.the fish curry was yum yummy. The only problem was that that air con rooms are a tad expensive compared to non a/c ones.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham L, Manager at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and apologise for the late response. We have streamlined the prices and you may want to check them out at our website. A lot of work has been done since your last visit. More activities for guests have been introduced like, Table Tennis, Board Games, Water Sport Gear, Ceramic Studio, etc. Look forward to your support and also to your next visit to Blooming Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had the good fortune to spend four nights at Cosha Blooming Bay Resort, after having found out about it on Trip Advisor. It is not only the best beach resort in Kerala; it is among the best in Asia (or anywhere else).

The views are spectacular, the rooms charming, clean and comfortable, the food delicious, the hosts helpful and hospitable, the beach beautiful and mostly empty, and the eagles soaring overhead each day truly majestic.

We give this property our highest recommendation.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham L, Owner at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at Blooming Bay.
Sincerely apologize for the delay in responding to your post.There has been a change in management and though it right to first respond to you before anything else.

Thank you for your kind words which I have passed on to all the staff at the resort.

Since your visit we have done a lot of work on the lawns, the gardens, the restaurant and have also put in a lot of work on the upkeep of the rooms and amenities. We have now started an in-house vegetable garden that is now started to yield!

We now have a reading room, a ceramic studio, a table tennis room and also some water sport gear for the guests to use.

We look forward to you visiting Blooming Bay once again and assure you a wonderful and relaxing holiday.

Warm regards
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort

Address: Aliyirakkam, Chilakkoor P o | Kerala, Varkala 695 141, India
Location: India > Kerala > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, Varkala is perched atop the 150 feet cliff, having a 200 feet beach frontage, with a 180 degree panoramic view of the Arabian Sea. Spread across 2.5 Acres, the resort has sprawling lawns, beautiful gardens and a lush coconut grove that gives you the ideal recipe for a perfect, relaxing holiday. The Resort has 12 well appointed double bedrooms and 3 cottages. All the rooms are sea-facing and gives you a good view of the Aliyirakkam Beach. The music orchestrated by the waves hitting the rocks and the beach is pure magic. We offer personalized care at our Certified Ayurvedic Spa with qualified doctors and trained masseurs. Personalised yoga classes are also arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.